We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
40 Civic Center Plaza, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poughkeepsie
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Lucy M Orlando, Florida
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    41
    42
    26
    22
See reviews for
48
38
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (170)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Poughkeepsie grand last week for a wedding. We had an amazing time. The staff could not have been nicer. They were so helpful and friendly. They recommended things to do in the area, they really made the effort to make us feel welcomed. The venue was beautiful, food was great. Rooms were clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your review. We are so happy and pleased you enjoyed the wedding and your stay here. Making you feel welcomed is what we strive for. If ever in our area again, we would love for you to stay with us! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We just got married yesterday, and everything was amazing. We do not have one thing to complain about..the serving staff was excellent & our wedding coordinater Michele was super helpful since we booked our wedding last year. The food was excellent, the bridal suite was sooo cute! The only thing that I can complain about was how fast the day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so excited to hear you enjoyed your special wedding day with us! Thank you for all your kind words, we wish you a GRAND future together! More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Where as the room was decent, upon checking out I was charged a pending amount of $50 for accidentals. I understand the policy and coverage especially when the room is free to bridal party but to have to wait up to FIFTEEN days to get that money back is insane. I personally don't have $50 to just give away for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed but we would like to clarify the incidental authorization. Upon check-in, we scan & authorize your credit card for the incidental charge, this policy is also explained on your registration sheet which is initialed by the guest. I can completely understand your frustration of a possible 15... More 

Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First let me say that this review has nothing to do with the room. We have stayed here in the past and have always had a great experience. Clean spacious rooms with front desk staff courteous and professional. Our problem was with the bartender that had no personality. She apparently hates her job and has no business behind the bar.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry to hear your experience at the bar was not the norm. We take hospitality very serious and I will forward your comments to the appropriate department. We hope you will stay with us again and we appreciate your business! More 

Travelers are raving about these Poughkeepsie hotels

Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I live not too far from Poughkeepsie so have never had a reason to stay in a hotel in this city, but this past weekend, my niece was married there and many family members spent the night at the Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. I say I was surprised because Poughkeepsie is not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed your stay & the wedding. I will pass on your comments, we hope you can stay with us again. More 

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the first time I've stayed in this hotel for a wedding, and I will never do it again. The whole reception and ceremony was really nice, but the room was a disaster. The sink didn't drain (which made us brush our teeth in the tub) and the fire alarms were covered. Can you say fire hazard! And, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your room. Yes, we charge your credit card upon your departure when your bill is final. We appreciate your comments and they will be passed on to the appropriate department. More 

Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for three nights this past weekend for a wedding. The first night was horrible as the air conditioning was broken and it was a very warm day. The rooms appeared to be clean, but very outdated and old, especially the towels which were thin and dingy. As another reviewer indicated, there are not outlets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and we hope when you had no a/c, you called the front desk so we could have fixed it or moved you immediately. Sorry to hear you felt our rooms were old and outdated, as they were renovated 5-6 years ago and we are currently soon to be finished with renovating... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

WOW!This was the first wedding I attended at the Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel. This venue is beautifully decorated! The courtyard with the gardens was a great place for pictures. The food was scrumptious and so plentiful! I had steak that was cooked to the perfect temperature and tender enough to melt in my mouth. Kudos to the attentive and courteous staff.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We would like to Thank you for all the kind words, and we are very excited to hear you had a wonderful time at the wedding & hotel. I will pass along your comments to the appropriate departments and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

The staff were nice, although we interacted with them little. We were in for a wedding and the trolley service they offered was overcrowded likely because three weddings were planned that night. Upon arrival we were pretty underwhelmed the luggage carts were in disrepair, the elevators were slow since there were only two elevators for the building which was either... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The trolley shuttle is a complimentary service which the Grandview provides to transport wedding guests to and from the venue so guests may enjoy their time at the wedding. This service runs multiple trips all night/day throughout the wedding, so we are sorry to hear your trip was crowded. The rooms do have additional pillows... More 

Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Very friendly staff always willing to help. They gave us great suggestions on what to do and where to eat. The hotel seems a bit old, but most important it is kept clean and the rooms are decent size. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tanya R, Front Office Manager at Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your kind words. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the staff were accommodating. We truly hope you visit us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay