We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Plattsburgh hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   446 Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
80%
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Plattsburgh
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Mike D Minden ON
  • Overview
  • Reviews (306)
  • Photos (50)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (46)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    101
    38
    11
    13
See reviews for
103
101
13
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minden ON
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a very well-run establishment located in an area that is easy to access the neighboring highways. An added bonus is the decent Restaurant that is attached. Breakfast was much better than average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments about my hotel. I will be sure to pass on to the staff of both restaurant and hotel. Safe travels! More

Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I would stay at this location again. The staff were very nice and helpful. The room was clean and the food was good at breakfast time and so was the coffee ! Good quality room and/service for the overall price.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and acknowledging our staff. I also appreciate you sharing your opinions of our property on TripAdvisor. Safe travels! More

Mckeesport
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is a beautiful facility. The rooms are elegant looking and the beds are very comfortable. Whether you are there for business or pleasure, you can start your day out with a great and healthful breakfast. Just about everything you need is close at hand.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments and I am happy we were able to assist you in your special day. Safe travels to you and your family More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we first arrived at the hotel, they explained that our room was not ready and asked if we had other errands to do. We said that we were tired & just wanted to rest. They understood and set us up in their business lounge and quickly had our room ready. They suggested the Ground Round for dinner & the... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield, responded to this review

I am sorry your room was not immediately available. I am glad our Great room and business center provided some comfort while you waited. I am glad you enjoyed dinner at the Ground Round Grill and Bar. Safe travels to you and your family More

W. Babylon, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at Smithfield many times, it remains my hotel of choice. It seems to be everyone elses best choice too as it is almost always full. That tells you something. Staff is always kind and warm, the price is always the best too.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued business over the years. I appreciate your kind comments and will share them with the staff Safe travels More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at the best western inn at Smithfield in plattsburg ny and was quite disappointed. We arrived late, 11 PM after getting my room key I drove around the back of the building to an entrance door near my room. I was disappointed to see a cigarette ash tray right next to the entrance. I specifically booked this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bob S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield, responded to this review

I want to assure you the staff did investigate to see if we could determine the inconsiderate smoker and were unsuccessful. There definitely was stale smoky smell in the entrance way and hallways near your room and I do apologize for that. If we were able to find the offending guest we would have asked them to leave and charge... More

rhinebeck, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

poor checkout process, and poor service. quoted price was different at check in and then price changed again at check out. I left a package in the room, which they mailed to me. the amount of shipping then went up after they already got my cc

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not feel we gave you value for your stay. I will investigate why the checkout price was different then the price you were quoted. Possible explanations are the 11% sales tax and occupancy tax that we are mandated to charge by the state and local government. All hotels quote rates without sales tax as the... More

Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Close too shopping. Ground Round restaurant right behind, great food. Easy access from hwy. Excellent FREE breakfast with tons of choices. Great pool. You can use your AirMiles or Best Western points to pay. Going back this winter coming for relaxing, shopping, pool, get away from winter experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the shopping and pools area. I will be sur etop pass on your comments to my Ground Round staff I am sure they will appreciate being acknowledged. Safe travels to you and your family. More

Ottawa, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our son plays on a baseball team and we went to Plattsburgh for a tournament over a weekend in July and stayed at the Best Western Plus, The Inn at Smithfield. From the moment we arrived the stay was great. Checkin was quick and friendly with complimentary cookies available. The room was clean and comfortable and even with the team... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments especially about the staff. I will be sure to share it with them. Safe travels to you and your family More

ny
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night in Plattsburgh at this hotel. While all the common areas were nice, the room that we had called a suite, was quite dreary. Lighting was poor. The suite was a bedroom with another room connected by a door to a room with dreary lighting and a big jaccuzzi. Didn't really see the point. The gym was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bob S, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about my property. I believe the suite you stayed in was one of two smaller two rooms suites we have rather than the much larger and spacious two room King Suites. Your comment about lighting is understood and I will look into what can be done to improve the situation. Safe travels to you and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield

Address: 446 Route 3, Plattsburgh, NY 12901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Inn At Smithfield Hotel Plattsburgh
Best Western At Smithfield
Best Western Plattsburgh
Plattsburgh Best Western

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Plattsburgh with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style
#3 Business Hotel in Plattsburgh #4 Family Hotel in Plattsburgh #4 Romantic Hotel in Plattsburgh
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
120

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn at Smithfield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer