We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Plattsburgh accommodations

Shady Oaks RV Park

Save
You added Shady Oaks RV Park to your Saves list
70 Moffit Road, Plattsburgh, NY 12901
Hotel amenities
Shady Oaks RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plattsburgh
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    3
    0
    12
See reviews for
10
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
montreal
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is our 1st season at Shady Oaks and we love the place, it is clean and well taken care off. Each and every weekend the owners are doing something to involve the campers and they have Bar B Qs every so often for the campers . It is a good place to sit back and relax . The Owners... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for one night only. We were greeted by the manager and lets just say she was methodical in her routine at check in. I guess this is how she runs the place. From what I could notice this campground is operated by an older couple that as seen it all with campers and maybe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise B, General Manager at Shady Oaks RV Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad you both enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. More

Gatineau, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We become camper at Shady Oaks last year at the end of the season. The owner were very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. They went above and beyond to make us feel at home. They have pretty nice lots and some are very big. Like other campsite, after the big storm they had few years ago, they end... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Louise B, General Manager at Shady Oaks RV Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We enjoy having you as a seasonal camper and we look forward to having you stay again next year. More

Adirondack, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed over night with my wife on our way to Montreal . I did read the reviews but i figured 1 night wouldnt be too bad. So you can see the owners are actually trying to turn a new leaf from the reviews ive read to what i expierianced in my 1 night there and the grounds seem to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise B, Manager at Shady Oaks RV Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you kind remarks. We have hired 3 campground work campers this season to help us maintain and up-grade our RV Park. We are looking forward to getting more work done this year. We hope you will stop by again on your way to Canada. More

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Booked ahead for two nights from July 21 to 23 at this campground. When we arrived we were horrified. The place is a dump and staffed by two of the most miserable people we have ever had the unfortunate chance of meeting. Grass was at least a foot high, branches in piles all over the place. The "recreation hall" is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise B, Manager at Shady Oaks RV Park, responded to this review

When you entered the office you seemed to be very upset at the time. You come into our park at a very high rate of speed and Jim, the owner, had as you with very kinds words to "please slow down while driving in " our park. The day you came in I had apologized for the condition of the... More

mineville
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you are thinking of staying here, don't!!!! We stayed from May 15th-August 19th 2012 just to help our son get established in Plattsburgh. Some say it's quiet and they are right. The reason for this is NO ONE IS THERE!!!!! The owners are soooooooo rude. When talking to Lousie she won't even look up from the desk or book... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Louise B, Manager at Shady Oaks RV Park, responded to this review

You, your husband & your son stayed here as a seasonal camper. I do not watch people closely when they come into my store because I don't feel that I should pressure anyone to purchase items and I trust that people are honest. I apologize for not responding when people wave but I can not see at a distance. As... More

Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I camped at Shady Oaks on August 11 & 12th and I will never go back. The owners are rude and lack any warmth of any kind. In an almost empty campground (I wonder why?), they placed us in a sight behind the office, next to the pile of broken pic nic tables and an old tractor with weeds growing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Louise B, Owner at Shady Oaks RV Park, responded to this review

I apologize for not having the work camper turn the water on at your location within the park. He had fixed a leak and had forgotten to turn that water zone back on. In the year 2012 we had rain for 6 weeks straight and the ground was too soft to have the work camper remove the pile of damaged... More

Bombay, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We are currently staying at Shady Oaks (for the last time ever). Let me preface this by saying this place has the potential to be an excellent campground. It is located close to the Plattsburgh Beach, Lake Champlain Ferry (to Vermont) and close to the city of Plattsburgh. Unfortunately, it is faf from excellent. As soon as we arrived, it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise B, Manager at Shady Oaks RV Park, responded to this review

I placed you on our most preferred Wifi & Cable TV campsite across the street from the office on a gravel campsite with a shady oak tree. I would have escorted you to your campsite if I hadn't had another couple waiting to be served in my office at that time. When you were registering at the office I did... More

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

The web-site is very misleading, those pictures must have been taken some time ago. The place is run down and the grounds are not well kept. The staff were rude and made sure to give us a long list of rules. Which I thought to be very harsh for what was advertised as a friendly camp ground. We would not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Louise B, Owner at Shady Oaks RV Park, responded to this review

Our work camper couple for the year 2010 has since been replaced due to their rudeness and not maintaining the campground to our liking. Sorry you did not like your stay. Maybe you will try us again in the future. More

Adirondacks
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stay at Shady Oaks several times a year for shopping and Dr. Visits as we live two hours away from these amenities. The surroundings are lovely and rural and it is 15 minutes to the shopping in Plattsburgh. Also the beach at the state park on Lake Champlain. After reading the previous reviews I have to comment that I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7

Been to Shady Oaks RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Oaks RV Park

Address: 70 Moffit Road, Plattsburgh, NY 12901
Location: United States > New York > Plattsburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Plattsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated as 1 of the top 5 RV Parks in the Adirondack Mts. 99 full hook-up shady or sunny sites in a quite family campground. Cable TV & Wi-Fi. 1 cabin rental. Club house with laundry room, library, kitchen, banquet hall, big screen Cable TV, office & store, movie rentals. Large playground, swimming pool, basketball hoop, tether ball, horseshoe pit. Picnic tables & fire rings. Firewood & cell phone access available. Security gate. Management on site 24/7 hours. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shady Oaks RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.