We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jumpstart Weight Loss & Wellness

Certificate of Excellence
Birch Creek Road, PO Box 517, Pine Hill, NY 12465 (Formerly Birchcreek Retreat)
Jumpstart Weight Loss & Wellness
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    23
    5
    4
    11
See reviews for
4
6
69
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

THIS PLACE IS HUGE SCAM!!!! They just want your money! I am super upset! The hotel is extremely expensive for what it is.. The rooms are nice but you have to walk a really long way to get to the lobby to pick up your juice every time! If you ask them to send it to your room its 5$... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

I participated in the jumpstart detox in Costa Rica in January 2015 for 7 days. After strict juicing and exercising intensely for 4 hours a day I lost 10 lbs. Easing back into life, I’ve kept 7 of the 10 off. It was one of the best things I have ever done for myself. The location is a small local... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I was at Jump Start for 4 days last week with my sister. This is her second time. I was not sure this was for me. Even though it rained for 2 days, we still walked and did all the exercise classes. We did not like all the juices but, all you have to do is tell Sophia so she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I went to Jumpstart with a little trepidation, not knowing what to expect. Receiving nice greetings from Lani and Sophia helped greatly. Then what I experienced in just 3 days has surely changed my life for the better. In only 3 days not only did I lose 7 1/2 pounds but I feel very strong and fit since Jumpstart includes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I just came back from a two week stay at Birchcreek Jump start in Costa Rica and I lost 23 lbs. I have to say it was one of the best things I've done in the last ten years. I wasn't sure exactly what I was getting into, as a friend of mine went there when their location was in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I went to Jump Start/Birchcreek in NY for a seven day stay. Unfortunately, due to health reasons unrelated to Jump Start I left early. However, I was there long enough to be able to submit a review -- the place is terrible. Old and moldy, and I felt very, very unwelcomed there by Sophia and the new person, Julie. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
birchcreek, Guest Relations Manager at Jumpstart Weight Loss & Wellness, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, While we always encourage and welcome our guest reviews ( which are overwhelmingly excellent, by the way) sometimes a review is just so outrageous that a response is necessary. Unfortunately this is just such a review. I will first address the issue of your dog. Our pet policy is clear, strict and posted. All clients with pets receive... More 

New Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I've been to Birchcreek in NY and although the manager (Sophia) was nice the place itself is a dump. The bedrooms are really old and not well cleaned (don't even think of checking under the bed!), the mattress must have decades of use and the gym is very old and not well equipped. I also felt a little unsafe as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
birchcreek, Guest Relations Manager at Jumpstart Weight Loss & Wellness, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Jump Start New York. I am glad that you were pleased with our NY Manager, Sophia. She is truly a gem! While it is true that our retreat in NY is held at an historic and beautiful estate built in 1896, the estate has been lovingly maintained and kept up to the standards our clients have... More 

Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This place was nowhere close to what I expected. After hours of research on Weight Loss Retreats I settled on Birchcreek in Costa Rica, which is now named Jump Start Weightloss Resort. I was the ONLY "guest" there, felt totally isolated, no TV, no gym (just an empty room with a "bowflex" type gym standing outside) and the beach is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
birchcreek, Owner at Jumpstart Weight Loss & Wellness, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your Jump Start stay. Our website is very accurate and clear about what we offer and we stand by our outstanding program - along with thousands of very satisfied clients and repeat clients. You will be pleased to know that almost a year ago (your... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I had a wonderful new experience at Birchcreek Retreat NY. I drove 3.5 hrs from New Jersey and wasn't sure what to expect. Upon my arrival, I was greeted by their nice staff Dara, she answered all the questions and showed me around. I was not expecting 5 star facility as I know Birchcreek is suppose to be an experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rockaway, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I had a very warm and happy experience here. I had never juiced before and did not really understand the process, so this was hard for me. I honestly did not enjoy the juices. and my body rejected them. However, the staff was supportive and caring throughout my stay. They understood it was new to me and were very adaptable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question