We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Water's Edge Inn

3188 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Water's Edge Inn
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    39
    37
    14
    15
See reviews for
67
35
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I am currently staying at the waters edge inn in old forge and I purchased the stay and play package. While I am aware that it is the first weekend in July and rates increase due to the holiday and summer season, I was not expecting to stay in a room that looks like it's beat up and broken. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are sorry about your dissatisfaction. Unfortunately, we were not aware of the water stain on the ceiling. We certainly will repair that immediately now that it has been drawn to our attention. We checked the light fixture and it is fine, it is just that the switch was around the corner. Our Front Desk is open until... More 

Syracuse,NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here last summer for a quick overnight. We always spend a few days in Lake Placid and decide to add a night here to take the kids to the water park and hike Bald Mountain. The hotel has amazingly easy access to both the water park and village shops and restaurants, that fact alone makes it worthy. Add... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and thorough review. Our goal is to provide the best experience possible for our guests! We also appreciate your understanding complex issues and feasibility in renovations when dealing with private, family-owned businesses with our hotel that has a history. The entire hotel has been remodeled since it was purchased by the Noonan family. Thanks again and... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

With most rooms facing the lake, the small private balconies offer a quiet place to relax. The room was a nice size, the staff very pleasant, and the breakfast was varied and good. The pool is too small to even bother going in and the work out room is very dreary. (The slide park across the street was not annoying.)

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are glad you had an enjoyable stay. We will look into what we can do to brighten up the Adirondack décor in the fitness room to make it cheerier. Thank you for your comments. More 

Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our stay was great! Very friendly and accommodating staff at the hotel! Yummy breakfast and gorgeous views from every room in the hotel; lounge, room, pool! Tons to do all about town and all within walking distance! After a long drive, who wants to get back in the car! Enchanted Forest is right across the street! Brought picnic lunch and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you had a great time in Old Forge, at Enchanted Forest Water Safari and staying with us at Water’s Edge Inn. We look forward to having you as a guest again next summer! More 

Ithaca, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean room, great location, nice balcony for early morning or evening view of the lake. Easy walk to restaurants and shops. Good WiFi and decent breakfast and attentive staff. Great price in shoulder season.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you had a pleasing visit to our area and enjoyed Water's Edge Inn. We hope you will return and stay with us again! More 

Conesus, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Over the years, I've stayed here several times, none recently. Although I have no complaints with the service or cleanliness, the hotel is starting to look a little shopworn. Mattress were not the best, wallpaper starting to peel in the room, dated bathroom. My biggest problem was the lighting. The light at the bed had a low voltage CFL, too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry you did not enjoy our pillow-top mattresses and that you found our hotel dated. Since we bought the hotel we have remodeled and updated the rooms. I will be sure to locate which room you were in so that we may repair/replace the wall paper. We are currently in the process of replacing our... More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

We've recently not too long ago once come to Old Forge New York and ended up staying at Water's Edge Inn when we had come. I think in my book that Water's Edge Inn is a pretty awesome place to stay if you plan to do stuff such as Enchanted forest Water safari and Old Forge Boat Tour's because it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We love it when guests are so enthusiastic about their stay at Water's Edge Inn and their time in the Old Forge area. We can't wait for you to come back and enjoy more of what we have to offer! More 

Camillus, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

My husband and I and our two sons just stayed here this past holiday weekend. It was a very enjoyable stay! We had a room on the bottom floor facing the water, so we could walk right out onto the lawn from our room, which was nice. Room was nice, other than the de-humidifier sitting on the floor running constantly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We are always glad to hear when our guests had an enjoyable stay. We will be sure to let other guests know, too, that they may feel free to turn off the de-humidifier. We apologize for the inconvenience. We hope to have you join us again in the future! More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here Memorial Day weekend so I was lucky enough to secure the value rate (the hotel does not charge in-season rates until mid-June). While some of the reviews complained of the accommodations my room was spacious, clean, with gorgeous view of the lake. The lake view rooms are extra but worth it. The hotel is located right on Old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. Nothing makes us happier than guests who have enjoyed their visit to Old Forge and their stay at Water's Edge Inn! More 

Irondequoit, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

The Waters Edge Inn makes me think of a pendulum when it comes to reviewing it. First the good, It is wonderfully located with being in walking distance of the Town Center of Old Forge, the beach and Old Forge Water Safari and it is right on the lakes edge. We stayed in a 2 queen bed room with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We’re happy that overall you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comments. We’re also always appreciative when the wildlife cooperates and gives our guests a show! We will certainly look into the mattress situation you mentioned as we readily have new ones available that we exchange into the rooms when necessary. We apologize that the scrambled eggs were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities