We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Water's Edge Inn

3188 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Water\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place is old and outdated .... The front desk staff is rude and could care less. The bathroom was filthy, shower drain did not work and the heat as well. There are other options in town. DO NOT STAY!! Told the staff about the shower drain, heat, and filthy room - could care less...

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you had a poor experience during your second stay with us. I think that your review stems from your unhappiness with the fact that you did not get the exact suite that you had stayed in the two weeks prior, which apparently was in excellent condition or you would not have returned. Since it... More 

North Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

We stay every December (the week of my birthday). The views are breath-taking! Very charming, comfortable, and the continental breakfast is more than I expected (the breakfast is great.....many choices). They went out of their way to help us out this year when we arrived late (after the front desk closed). The staff is wonderful, and we look forward to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We sincerely appreciate hearing the positives! It motivates us to continually think about what we can do to make our guests stay as best it can be! We look forward to your return! More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

I wanted some snow and I checked the weather and Old Forge was getting plenty of it. So my wife and my two teenage kids went to Old Forge for some snow and Christmas spirit. Check in was very smooth. The great room is terrific! Nice fireplace with comfortable seating with a great view overlooking Old Forge Pond. We spent... More 

Helpful?
Thank M T
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

We're so glad you got to slip away and enjoy time in Old Forge and to stay with us at Water's Edge Inn. The Great Room is especially wonderful over the holidays with the holiday spirit and cozy fire. We hope that you can come back and visit us again soon! More 

New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

Water's Edge in Old Forge, NY is a nice place to stay. I traveled there in the off-season and so had a $130 lake view double with balcony for $80 per night....a pretty good savings. The Inn is on the edge of First Lake and has some good amenities for visitors. The staff was great....very friendly and professional, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SDB61
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the “Value Season” savings that we offer during off-season, starting at $70/night. And, you are right. Because it is off-season with deeply discounted rooms and suites, our operational hours are shortened, depending on whether it is a weekday or weekend. We are currently working on repairing and removing... More 

Auburn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel with my family for a weekend away. The hotel was very clean and staff was very welcoming. Upon check in we checked out the facilities they had to offer. The pool was very nice and warm. We went to our room and we could tell how clean it was. I could not find a single... More 

Helpful?
Thank J N
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate when our guests notice our efforts to make their stays as pleasant as possible. I will be sure to let Kelsie know how much you all liked the flowers made out of towels and also our head housekeeper know how meticulous her staff is! Thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Marion, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

We stayed one weekend night while visiting friends. Off-season rate was very affordable. Very friendly staff. Room was clean and warm on a chilly, rainy night. Breakfast was a nice surprise. Only concern was that north facing entrance door was not locked. Access to this door with key card would be appreciated. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and your accommodations. While we have never had any problems with hotel security in our small town, and with the fact that each room has deadbolts and security latches on its metal doors, I will be sure to bring your concern to the owners. Thank you and we hope to see you... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

It's a very clean , we'll run hotel. The rooms have balcony that over the lake, it would be nice to sit out in the morning & watch the day begin.breakfast was good, eggs,no meat , cereal & toast . The pool was clean& the sauna was hot. The price was worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Stacie D
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Your review is exactly what we love to hear! Thank you. Nothing makes us happier than to make our guests have a memorable, positive experience. Hope you can join us again. More 

Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

Stayed with a couple friends for a fund raising event in Old Forge. It was comfortable and located within walking distance to shoppes and activities. Front desk was very courteous and pleasant. Would stay again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fran L
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We couldn’t be happier you enjoyed your time in Old Forge and with us at Water’s Edge Inn. We hope that you will stay with us again and take advantage of other area activities! More 

Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

First and foremost, Heather needs a vacation! Not only was she working the front desk at check in but was right back on Saturday to clean our room! I then went back down to get bottled waters and there she was again at the desk in the late part of evening. She was very pleasant! We just came back from... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pattyw322
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We love Heather! She is a very hard worker and wants all the hours she can get at the hotel, hence why she works front desk and housekeeping. We are also happy that you enjoyed your stay while you were participating in a very worthy cause! We are glad you found your accommodations clean and comfortable and we... More 

Lake Wales, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

We decided to detour to the area for a change. Hotel had some good reviews and we took a chance. Bad move. Positives- comfy bed, large bathroom. Negatives- pillows were like sleeping on a board, across from the"closed for the season" water park. Unfortunately the game arcade, go kart place was not. If you are here for the summer months... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn F
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We will make a note for next year to let our guests know that the fundraising charity event that took place across the street from us is going to be happening so that they will be aware. Because of people’s personal preferences, we put four pillows on each bed.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
21.1 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
8.5 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 7 in Inlet
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#6 of 12 in Old Forge
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities