We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Water's Edge Inn

3188 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Water's Edge Inn
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    40
    41
    15
    17
See reviews for
73
36
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (150)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Apalachin, New York
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Last visit I'll ever make here. Expensive room with the worst mattress I have ever tried to sleep on. I mentioned it to the front desk and they said it needed to be broken in. That's amusing, there is hardly any cushion before you hit rock bottom. If it breaks in anymore you'll be sleeping on the box springs. I'm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your complaint was brought to my attention when I came on duty. Perhaps it could have been phrased differently to let you know that the suite you stayed in was recently renovated and put into rental on June 12, 2015 with all new furniture, lighting, bathroom with a deep soaking tub, and the pillow-top mattress. We wish you... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 days - the location was convenient to our event and to the tourist attractions nearby. The room was old and worn out - the pictures don't tell the real story at all. The bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom was old and dated. The continental breakfast consisted of stale muffins, standard cereal options and the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am not sure what room you stayed in and we would like to know. Since the hotel was purchased by the Noonan family in 2006, all of the rooms/bathrooms have been remodeled, with most recently four of our Lake View King Suites, so we are not sure how old and dated you are referencing. The pictures you... More 

New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an overnight stay at Water's Edge Inn. Employees either working the desk or anyplace else in the Inn were very courteous. We had a standard room facing the parking lot & Water Safari. As for location you can't beat it if your going to go to the Water Safari which is right across the street. As for the Inn,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry you did not like our pillow-top mattresses. We understand that some people prefer a harder mattress, but we do try to appeal to the majority. I apologize for the wall paper. It was recently redone in some of the rooms and we are finding that in some cases it is peeling in a few areas.... More 

Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There aren't a lot of choices in Old Forge for hotels. That's the best thing you can say about this hotel. Rooms are old, linens aren't the best and the complimentary breakfast underscores the old adage, "You get what you pay for!". For breakfast, I would advise going down the street to Walt's Diner. Air conditioner in the room just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We’re sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We try to make things easy for our guests, and if you give us a chance to help when you are dissatisfied we appreciate it. We agree Walt’s Diner is a fantastic place to get breakfast and we would highly recommend it to anyone who wants more than a continental... More 

Dansville, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This property is beat up but tolerable because of its friendly staff, waterfront location, dockage and direct access to the lake. We stayed for three nights in early July hoping to relax and kayak on the lake. This is an older property in need of updating. Carpets, common areas, bed covers have all seen a lot of use. Every seam... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are glad you enjoyed our location, in spite of your other encounters. While we are an older hotel like all the motels in the area, we take every effort to keep current and updated. Our common areas of the Great Room, Breakfast Room and Arcade all have been renovated and have new carpeting and décor. When we... More 

Camillus, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is the best location if traveling to Old Forge to go to Enchanted Forest Water Safari since it is right across the street. You can get reasonably priced stay and play packages. The place is very clean and the staff is very friendly. The price includes a continental breakfast served from 7-10am daily. It was fine for me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. We appreciate hearing the good along with the bad. I will check with our housekeeping supervisor on the pillow situation. While some people like firm, others like softer and we typically try to put some of each in the room. This does not seem to be the case in your situation. We will... More 

La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Being on the water when the leaves are turning and the air is brisk is a great get away. At night you can smell the fireplaces burning or perhaps some campfires as well. This is a cozy little place centrally located. The best way to see it all is on a Harley. Limekiln lake is near by as was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. While I have been waiting for summer a long time and am happy it is here, your comments make me look forward to the Fall already! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am currently staying at the waters edge inn in old forge and I purchased the stay and play package. While I am aware that it is the first weekend in July and rates increase due to the holiday and summer season, I was not expecting to stay in a room that looks like it's beat up and broken. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are sorry about your dissatisfaction. Unfortunately, we were not aware of the water stain on the ceiling. We certainly will repair that immediately now that it has been drawn to our attention. We checked the light fixture and it is fine, it is just that the switch was around the corner. Our Front Desk is open until... More 

Syracuse,NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here last summer for a quick overnight. We always spend a few days in Lake Placid and decide to add a night here to take the kids to the water park and hike Bald Mountain. The hotel has amazingly easy access to both the water park and village shops and restaurants, that fact alone makes it worthy. Add... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments and thorough review. Our goal is to provide the best experience possible for our guests! We also appreciate your understanding complex issues and feasibility in renovations when dealing with private, family-owned businesses with our hotel that has a history. The entire hotel has been remodeled since it was purchased by the Noonan family. Thanks again and... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With most rooms facing the lake, the small private balconies offer a quiet place to relax. The room was a nice size, the staff very pleasant, and the breakfast was varied and good. The pool is too small to even bother going in and the work out room is very dreary. (The slide park across the street was not annoying.)

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are glad you had an enjoyable stay. We will look into what we can do to brighten up the Adirondack décor in the fitness room to make it cheerier. Thank you for your comments. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Forge
6.3 mi away
The North Woods Inn
The North Woods Inn
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
3.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Edge Hotel
The Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyons Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#5 of 12 in Old Forge
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
8.5 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 2 in Eagle Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities