We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Old Forge hotels

Water's Edge Inn

Save
You added Water's Edge Inn to your Saves list
3188 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Hotel amenities
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Old Forge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    33
    35
    14
    13
See reviews for
61
33
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location was great. There was a gas station for snow mobiles right across the street and restaurants and stores all within blocks of the hotel. Staff was friendly. Beautiful view. And they had the most comfortable beds. We will stay here again when we go to Old Forge to snow mobile.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York Mills, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

A warm and welcoming lobby and public area. Breakfast is continental style a small steamline offering (cinnamon sticks, scrambled eggs - likely powdered, and slices of ham) in a pleasant dining area, nothing to write home about (Walt's Diner is an excellent alternative for a hearty breakfast). Wooden floors are uneven and creak occasionally, adding to the old-style charm of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to give us your review. Yes, we were busy as it was an event weekend, “Breakfast with Santa,” when you stayed with us. Rates are even lower now, as low as $63, depending on room type and that includes the continental breakfast (not powdered eggs – real eggs)  Hope you can... More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We stayed at Old Forge for a family wedding in August. For the price - $250 a nite - it was a real disappointment! (We stayed for cheaper in a great hotel in Manhattan.) I guess they can get away with that price because they are across the street from the water park - the only "action" in this town.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

We do not feel your comments are accurate or fair. You had a choice to stay with us. In fact, members of your family scouted our hotel and took pictures many months before your family wedding and were shown the different types of rooms and suites we offer. You chose to book the King Leisure Suite which is $220/night in... More 

New York State
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Great view but overpriced for the slightly shabby condition of the room. Also an extremely harsh arrival and check-out policy which caused us to have to store our things in a broom closet for several hours both before and after our stay. A huge pain for us and the somewhat crabby staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, As a policy we always let our guests in their room as soon as soon as it is ready, regardless of the time or how early it is. That not only satisfies our guests, but makes for quicker check in time than everyone arriving at 3:00pm. However, if it is has not been checked out of by the... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Recently stayed at the waters edge inn to be disappointed. Upon arrival the staff even looked unhappy to be there, I upgraded our room to a king suite with a lake view. The balcony and view were very nice, the bedding was warm and appeared new, the Room was located a few doors from the first floor restroom and judging... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your review is a complete surprise to us! Upon your arrival on Friday night our senior reservationist checked you in and accommodated your request of relocating to a lake view suite for the one evening as the following evening she explained that all lake view rooms were already reserved. She recalls readily answering many questions you had and... More 

Marcellus, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

This hotel is located right on Old Forge Pond across the street from Water Safari. Great place to stay for families or couples. Indoor pool. Breakfast included. Dockage available for boats. Within walking distance to the beach and close to the village. We received a pleasant reception at the desk. Our room, by request, was handicapped accessible. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel and to touch upon our favorable amenities. We love to hear when a guest had a pleasant stay as our goal is just that! More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The room was very nice.. I def suggest a Water's view.. I believe all rooms come with a balcony. The other side of hotel is a view if the water park .. I imagine it would be noisy during summer. It was a great location .. You could walk to everywhere. Room was nice. Bathroom was nice though some would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Water's Edge Inn. We appreciate your feedback and kind review! More 

N New England
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This is an older property with good sized rooms with balconies at least on the water side, and a decent. complementary breakfast, Missing are in-room coffee makers. .Parking was ample, at least in the off season.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We have added flavored creamers for the coffee which is served from 6:30am until 10pm in our Great Room. Hopefully, you got a chance to enjoy some. Every room, regardless of which side of the building, has its own private balcony. And with the Fall colors we are experiencing right now, they... More 

ny
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This is a very clean, but old inn right on the lake. Opt for the lake view, it is on the sunny side of the building all day long with a small deck and two Adirondack chairs.There is a nice breakfast in the morning and coffee is available all day long. We were given a room on the main floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. We always appreciate it when guests take their time to let others know about their stay with us! Hopefully, we will see you again. More 

Naples
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Very nice hotel. Beds very comfortable. Room rugs need a good cleaning. Continental breakfast very nice. Coffee and tea available throughout the day and evening. Bathroom set- up in room does not allow for a lot of privacy. However water pressure is great and lots of hot water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. We do have 11 different room types with different layouts so if we are lucky enough to have you stay with us again, we will be happy to show you some other options as well. Fall cleaning has begun and we are in the process of replacing carpeting and cleaning carpeting as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 3188 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Location: United States > New York > Old Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Old Forge

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay