We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Old Forge hotels

Water's Edge Inn

3188 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (107)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (32)
  • Location
  • More
Water's Edge Inn
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Old Forge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    28
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
50
28
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall, the experience of staying at the Water's Edge was alright. We paid over $300 for a double-queen. That's a bit on the pricey side for the accommodations, given our first room smelled so strongly of mold that it aggravated my throat to the point of discomfort. When I asked if we could switch, at first I was told it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, While it is a free continental breakfast we give to our guests, we try to go above and beyond the typical continental breakfast. In addition to the hot and cold cereals, bagels, English muffins and fresh baked muffins or bread, we also provide yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, juice, tea, coffee with flavored creamers, home fries and a choice... More

Arlington, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We've been coming to Old Forge for the past three years as part of our summer mini vacation and all three times, we've stayed at Water's Edge Inn and enjoyed the Stay 'N Play Package. It's always been about the convenience of walking out of the park and straight to our room and after this stay, we've decided that it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I’m sorry to hear that you will no longer be staying with us and I would sincerely like to apologize for the unpleasant experience in dealing with our front desk clerk. Our goal is to make each guest feel welcomed and comfortable and that is most definitely not the way to do it! Steps have been taken and... More

Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A wonderful place, a pioneer. Before the Water's Edge was built, there weren't any lodging choices in or around Old Forge...other than a handful of not-so-great motels. It was the only choice right on Old Forge Pond. Right across the street from the Enchanted Forest (now under same ownership), it's convenience alone makes it a great choice. The conference facility... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, we appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again! More

Buffalo NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent one night. The room had a nice view of the lake (though the balcony was dirty and disappointing), and it is in a nice location. However.... Bottom line: Room rate was was way too high for the quality of the accommodations. The hotel is tired and in need of renovations. Carpeting, bathrooms, hallways all run down. The walls pretty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. The entire hotel has been renovated and each year we continue to make improvements. Just this past month, we put new carpeting in 10 of the rooms, including the breakfast room. We gave our sauna a facelift and installed new tiles in the indoor pool area, as well as applied a... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My room seemed to be renovated pretty recently. Hallway had a kind of musty type of smell. I woke up at 3 am with heartburn and went out to see about some Tums. Front desk closed and vending downstairs didn't have any toiletries/sundries. Continental breakfast was ok, what you might expect. Staff were pretty nice. I didn't have any major... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. Guest feedback is extremely important to us, as it helps us improve. We apologize for the state of the bathroom in your room and have relayed this information to our housekeeping staff in hopes of preventing this from happening in the future. We value your opinion and hope... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed on a Friday night (6/13/14) in the "Loft Suite" room 321. The suite itself was very nice. Although we had originally booked the "Ambassador Suite", when we called to confirm the reservation the day before they told us we were not set for the Ambassador Suite but for the Loft Suite which is more money. Not off to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Guest Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

We apologize for any confusion there might have been when your fiancé made your reservation. When he called the day before your arrival to reserve, he could not book an Ambassador Jacuzzi Suite as they were all already previously reserved so the Loft was the alternative chosen. We were not aware that you were experiencing any difficulties in the suite... More

Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Last year in May we stayed at this hotel and enjoyed our stay very much. We couldn't wait to go back. The only minor complaint I had was about the internet service being slow or sometimes not working. I certainly don't plan a trip to the mountains to stay on the computer but it's helpful to check email while away.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
General M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your stay! We’re happy to hear that everything was to your liking. For just the reasons you mentioned, we have improved our internet service so that it is faster, stronger and a consistent connection. We look forward to seeing you again next year! More

Niagara Falls, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Hotel puts out coffee at 7am and services breakfast 8am to 10am. Several guests wandering around earlier waiting for coffee and/or breakfast. These times are not consistent with other hotels we have stayed at. Floors creak, room doors slam, internet intermittent, cell phone didn't connect. We thought the breakfast a bit skimply given that we paid $10 less the night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time out to provide us with your feedback as it helps us to see where we can improve! We're sorry that you had trouble with the internet/your cell phone - next time be sure to bring this to the attention of the front desk and they will be happy to help you get... More

Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Water's Edge for three nights while visiting the Adirondack's. The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. The hotel was very clean. The free breakfast was very nice each day. Coffee is in the lobby each morning at 7 am and throughout the day but there are no coffeemakers in the rooms. We were in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you as a guest and appreciate your review. We are always looking for ways to improve. We will be addressing the issue of the difficult shower knob, and the wi-fi access was already resolved by the carrier. In addition to the complimentary coffee available from 7am until 9pm, we just added hot water and tea for our... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked a standard room with 2 queen beds with a lake view at Water's Edge Inn since we were attending a wedding in the area. Consider the price of $503 total (including taxes) for 3 nights to be high for what we got. I would compare this to a Comfort Inn in terms of room amenities and free breakfast.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your stay with us was over Peak Leaf Season in the Adirondacks Mountains which is a very busy time. The room you had overlooking the lake and McCauley Mountain was so popular it was booked repeatedly and unfortunately there was not adequate time to get in and shampoo the carpet and have it dry between bookings. We have... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Water's Edge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Water's Edge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water's Edge Inn

Address: 3188 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Location: United States > New York > Old Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Water`s Edge Hotel Old Forge

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have something for everyone! We offer an ideal atmosphere for all types of visitors to the Old Forge area: families, singles, couples and business travelers. We offer 11 different types of rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
77

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Water's Edge Inn to your Saves list