We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Water's Edge Inn

3188 State Route 28, Old Forge, NY 13420
Water's Edge Inn
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    34
    36
    14
    13
See reviews for
61
33
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Plymouth NH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Unlike most hotels, these people charge your entire visit upon check-in. Aside from guaranteeing a reservation, at most hotels (as a retired airline pilot I travel frequently & often) you pay upon check-out. NOT HERE! You pay the full among on check-in. Then, if you have reserved a week but have to leave early....SORRY, you will be charged for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights in April 2015. The room is clean, smoke-free, and quiet; and the bed is comfy. It has an indoor heated swimming pool, but it is really small. The continental breakfast is ok, nothing special about it. I came here to do whitewater rafting with ARO, and it is right down the street (less than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you took advantage of the discount we offer to our rafting guests. Because of our value season and time of year, our front desk did happen to close at 8pm that one weekend. However, anyone with a reservation can check in to the hotel at any time of night... More 

Utica, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Conference room meet our needs of about 14 people. No service was provide by hotel. Garbage pickup would have been nice. The room was nice, not fancy but this is the Adironkak's. Nice view of the lake from our balcony. Continental breakfast was decent. Walking distance to restaurants, shops and activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our apologies for trash pick-up in the conference room. Our staff did not want to disturb all the tables and scraps spread out over the room. The room was yours, free of charge for the weekend. Please feel free to ask for... More 

Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

The location was great. There was a gas station for snow mobiles right across the street and restaurants and stores all within blocks of the hotel. Staff was friendly. Beautiful view. And they had the most comfortable beds. We will stay here again when we go to Old Forge to snow mobile.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, Public Relations Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Old Forge! More 

New York Mills, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

A warm and welcoming lobby and public area. Breakfast is continental style a small steamline offering (cinnamon sticks, scrambled eggs - likely powdered, and slices of ham) in a pleasant dining area, nothing to write home about (Walt's Diner is an excellent alternative for a hearty breakfast). Wooden floors are uneven and creak occasionally, adding to the old-style charm of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to give us your review. Yes, we were busy as it was an event weekend, “Breakfast with Santa,” when you stayed with us. Rates are even lower now, as low as $63, depending on room type and that includes the continental breakfast (not powdered eggs – real eggs)  Hope you can... More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We stayed at Old Forge for a family wedding in August. For the price - $250 a nite - it was a real disappointment! (We stayed for cheaper in a great hotel in Manhattan.) I guess they can get away with that price because they are across the street from the water park - the only "action" in this town.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

We do not feel your comments are accurate or fair. You had a choice to stay with us. In fact, members of your family scouted our hotel and took pictures many months before your family wedding and were shown the different types of rooms and suites we offer. You chose to book the King Leisure Suite which is $220/night in... More 

New York State
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Great view but overpriced for the slightly shabby condition of the room. Also an extremely harsh arrival and check-out policy which caused us to have to store our things in a broom closet for several hours both before and after our stay. A huge pain for us and the somewhat crabby staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, As a policy we always let our guests in their room as soon as soon as it is ready, regardless of the time or how early it is. That not only satisfies our guests, but makes for quicker check in time than everyone arriving at 3:00pm. However, if it is has not been checked out of by the... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Recently stayed at the waters edge inn to be disappointed. Upon arrival the staff even looked unhappy to be there, I upgraded our room to a king suite with a lake view. The balcony and view were very nice, the bedding was warm and appeared new, the Room was located a few doors from the first floor restroom and judging... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your review is a complete surprise to us! Upon your arrival on Friday night our senior reservationist checked you in and accommodated your request of relocating to a lake view suite for the one evening as the following evening she explained that all lake view rooms were already reserved. She recalls readily answering many questions you had and... More 

Marcellus, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

This hotel is located right on Old Forge Pond across the street from Water Safari. Great place to stay for families or couples. Indoor pool. Breakfast included. Dockage available for boats. Within walking distance to the beach and close to the village. We received a pleasant reception at the desk. Our room, by request, was handicapped accessible. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel and to touch upon our favorable amenities. We love to hear when a guest had a pleasant stay as our goal is just that! More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The room was very nice.. I def suggest a Water's view.. I believe all rooms come with a balcony. The other side of hotel is a view if the water park .. I imagine it would be noisy during summer. It was a great location .. You could walk to everywhere. Room was nice. Bathroom was nice though some would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Water's Edge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Water's Edge Inn. We appreciate your feedback and kind review! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities