We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
139 Lapland Lake Road, Northville, NY 12134-3962
Special Price
20% off spring lodging
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    24
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
50
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (185)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
New Paltz
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

This was our first time skiing here. We didn't stay overnight because we wanted to eat dinner somewhere and the restaurant was closed for the season. We brought our 5 year old daughter here. She had a great time, as did we. Lots of great trails at varying levels. Excellent grooming everyday, with tracks. The scenery was pristine; a winter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

This is a unique and wonderful cross-country skiing vacation center. I have stayed here many times over the past two winters and was just there this past weekend. First, the skiing. The ski conditions were just about perfect this past weekend and this is no accident because the grooming is always done perfectly by Olavi, a Finnish Olympian, who is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

My husband, 9 year old son and I stayed in Pulka Tupa for 4 nights. It was incredibly cozy and a real winter wonderland. We lit our fire nightly with the well stocked supplies, and enjoyed the Finnish Sauna at the end of each day of skiing. The trails were beautiful and varied. The kitchen was well stocked for self... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Lapland Lake is an absolute gem! The tupas are very cozy and comfortable. Trails are absolutely beautiful and well groomed. Owners and staff are friendly and go out of their way to make their guests feel like family. It's a perfect place to unplug and enjoy beautiful scenery!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We stayed in a Tupa (cottage) that was clean, warm and comfortable. The wood burning stove is a nice touch. The staff and owners are warm, friendly and helpful. The trails are excellently groomed and accommodate all levels of cross country skiers. The snow shoe trails are good. Night skiing is also available as are tubing and ice skating. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

My husband and I and our toddler escaped to Lapland Lake for a birthday getaway, and went for one of the 2 bedroom Tupas (cabins). It was very cozy (although the bed in the "master" bedroom was only a full and way too tiny for us), and decently equipped, but I sort of couldn't believe our final bill at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
laplandlake, Owner at Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for the positive comments about our Tupas, our cross country ski trail system, our Olympian Olavi, and the beauty of Woods Lake. We are sorry that you were disappointed with our pricing. Making cross country skiing affordable for families is one of our priorities. For overnight guests, our winter weekend... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

My boyfriend and I visited the center last weekend for a snowshoe/animal tracking tour. We wanted to get out of the house and this seemed like the perfect idea. We are both nature lovers and really enjoy learning about nature and animals. The tour was advertised as $23 plus a facilities use fee. The first thing that we were disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
laplandlake, Owner at Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center, responded to this review

We are very sorry you were disappointed with your experience and regret that our offer of two complimentary facility use passes did not work for you. This tour is advertised and geared to novice snowshoers. We feel the advertised cost of $23 for the tour and equipment rental plus $22 facility use fee (totaling $45 per person) is a fair... More 

Buffalo
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

I was a day skier, but I wanted to write a review even though I did not stay at the resort. Lapland Lake is a wonderful, family oriented fun place to be. I have quite a ski resume at this point in my life, and Lapland Lake is a place I hope to return to. The owners, Ann and Olavi,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Nestled within hills in the southern part of the Adirondacks, it lives up to its billing as a little piece of Finland. We were there slightly early for winter season so snow quality was inconsistent, but the setting is beautiful and the collection of woodland trails are meticulously-tended by the owner. This location tends to get more snow than other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bloomingdale, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We loved our Lapland Lake Tupa Pulkka. it was warm and cozy. The beds were comfy and fresh and clean. The kitchen was well equipped and we found everything that we needed to reheat our thanksgiving turkey dinner, and eat it it in style. Our wood burning stove was very warm and firewood was delivered in the morning and evening!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities