We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Bungalows

P.O. Box 3546, 3546, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sunset Bungalows
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    122
    54
    29
    36
See reviews for
12
133
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The best sunsets, very pleasent service of the personal especially the restaurant staff was always very nice. Hotel rooms safe and really beutiful. Also no problems during my stay. Food was very delicious and the seafood to die for. Would like to come again for sure. Best is june. You basicly have a lot of space on the beach for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour. It was great value for money and we had a huge room with a 4 poster bed. The staff were incredibly friendly and we thought it was really good value. The breakfast wasn't amazing but I would still definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abdul S, Front Office Manager at Sunset Bungalows, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Sunset beach Hotel We appreciate your good comments and complain, however the management work on it to make sure good service will be provided to the customers. We hope you will recommend our Hotel to your friends and you will stay with us next time. We apologize for the inconvenience this we may... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

we had 10 nights in zanzibar and we had one of the rooms near the beach, the rooms where very clean, nice bed and good size bath rooms. the water how ever in zanzibar is quite salty (not the hotels fault) the staff at the hotel are poorly treated and very much underpaid, the hotel owner doesn't keep the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abdul S, Front Office Manager at Sunset Bungalows, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Sunset beach Hotel. We accept the complain as challenge and good comments. We are working on it to make sure that next time when you will come back to stay with us the service will be good as per your expectation. There is no robbers in the Hotel however if it happen it... More 

Travelers are raving about these Zanzibar Island hotels

San Francisco
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

This is a review only for the restaurant. We stopped here one day for lunch; 7 of us ordered the pizza. It was just barely eatable. Most likely one of those ready packaged ones to warm up. The girl waitress was nice and courteous. The place is nice but the experience had better be avoided. Also very expensive: the bill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

After spending a week camping on Kilimanjaro, this hotel felt like paradise with restaurants and a bar right on the beach, so for the whole week we never left the beach! Although breakfasts were basic, and there were a few communication issues with staff who at times were less than friendly, overall a really enjoyable stay at Sunset Bungalows! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

I was transformed into a relaxed, restful mood as I lunched here at this fine restaurant , on the north,west coast beach in Kendwa.. Wifi connection quick and easy.. Staff friendly and well conversed. The reasonably priced menu held mouth watering dishes and the prompt beautiful presentation made this an occasion to remember and return to..the selection of music was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

This hotel was paradise after two weeks of camping (we were part of an overlander tour), a beautiful spacious, light and airy, clean room with a view out towards the sea (though largely obscured by palm trees). The room was a minute's walk to the restaurant/bar and beach and towels and loungers were included which was a great bonus. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Ontario, カナダ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Amazing location. We ended up choosing this place last minute and were extremely happy we did. Beautiful beach! The best in the region really. The hotel is right on the beach. They just finished building a new bar on the beach (absolutely stunning and very ''boutique hotel'') and are working on a new restaurant. This place is already great and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abdul S, Front Office Manager at Sunset Bungalows, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Sunset beach Hotel. We accept you comments and we hope you will come back again. It was our pleasure to stay with you, We hope that you will recommend our Hotel to your friends We thank you once again for choosing Sunset beach Hotel as your best Hotel to Stay in Zanzibar. More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Really nice hotel after camping for 2 weeks! Lovely staff, super cute cat that hangs around. Beach is lovely, local ladies offer braiding, massage, manis and pedis and also hena. But the hena is black which I've heard is bad so didn't get. I was in a twin share single beds room. Really nice with amazing showers. Restaurant is OK... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

This was my second visit to Kendwa which is one of the most spectacular beaches imaginable. Sunset is long established and looking a little tired and dated but remains affordable and perfectly comfortable. Wifi, air conditioning and the bungalows are moments from the beach although are side on so dont have a direct sea view. The bar/restaurant area is comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

301 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (301)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (66)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (116)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 9 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 18 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mchanga Beach Resort
Mchanga Beach Resort
#38 of 148 in Zanzibar Island
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coral Rock Hotel
Coral Rock Hotel
#6 of 9 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel
Kendwa Rocks Beach Hotel
#56 of 138 in Zanzibar Island
3.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
#3 of 5 in Pwani Mchangani
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay