We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 103 Zanzibar accommodations

Kendwa Rocks Hotel

Nungwi Kendwa Beach, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kendwa Rocks Hotel to your Saves list
Kendwa Rocks Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
56%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jess B Leicester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    82
    74
    28
    37
See reviews for
17
88
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were terribly disappointed by our stay here. 1) Rooms - we stayed in one of the forest lodges which was supposed to be one the most recently built lodges. Our airconditioning didn't have a remote control, the hairdryer did not work and when we asked them to fix it, the staff tried to fit a european plug into a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irene L, Front Office Manager at Kendwa Rocks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I’m really sorry to hear you had a bad experience staying with us. I’m sorry to hear that your room was missing the A/C remote. Next time please let us know at the reception, so we can fix the issue immediately. We will make sure now that all our rooms have A/C remotes and... More

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros - Amazing atmosphere and vibe- especially during sunset - Gorgeous beach, spectacular sunset views - Kiwayuu chalet was awesome - Staff was super friendly - Food was really tasty (besides for their breakfast) - lovely ambience for dinner on the beach around a large bonfire - Warm welcome and beautifully decorated room for our first wedding anniversary with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing hotel on the beach in the most beautiful part of Kendwa. Great for those travelling in large groups. Restaurant is good as well, pizzas are excellent. And you can't beat the cocktails, especially at happy hour!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the first hotel built here, 1996, and the rooms seems to need more renovation. The location is great, the staff is great and the restaurant is great BUT the rooms are too expensive in comparison to what you get next door, at Kendwa Sunset. We stayed three nights at Kendwa Sunset but as we liked the restaurant better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hi everyone!Stayed in the hotel for 9 nights in coconut bungalow! there are 2 tipes of coconut bungalows : separate and 2 or 3 rooms. Better take the separate one, because there is no soundproofing in the rooms, and better to live without neighbours. The rooms are clean, there was no troubles with a/c, electricity and hot water. Staff is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Among the different places I have been to in Zanzibar, this has definitely the best white-sand beach and amazing sunsets. Food is good but pricy and the whole bracelet (no cash) system is perfect to make you spend more money you would like to. We stayed in the banana banda (or something like that), the cheap rooms without toilet inside,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent 8 amazing days in this place and were so sad to leave it. Even though there are so many destinations left to see on our Earth I hope I will return to Kendwa one day. First of all, this hotel is very cheap it looks like a little village with different type of bungalows and cottages. Each represents... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We walked up and down the beach trying to find a suitable place to suite out budget. Eventually found this place for $20 per person a night. This is probably the cheapest your going to find and at the end of the day all you need is a place on the beach. However the only draw back is that you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you go to Zanzibar you have to visit Kendwa, and the Kendwa rocks full moon parties once a month are epic. Kendwa has THEEE bluest water you will ever see in your life, and the whitest sand. Even bluer water than the rest of Zanzibar, it's crazy. The no cash system (they give you a card) is a bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hasselt, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We made the mistake of not doing research in advance and were a bit misinformed on spot. We ended up in one of the more expensive rooms (it wasn't outrages, but still, we're backpackers). It wasn't until later we found out there were dorms available, although we asked if there was anything else cheaper. We should have done our online... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Kendwa Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendwa Rocks Hotel

Also Known As:
Kendwarocks Bungalows Hotel Zanzibar
Kendwarocks Bungalows Hotel
Address: Nungwi Kendwa Beach, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 103 Specialty lodging in Zanzibar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kendwa Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kendwa Rocks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.