We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ngalawa Beach Village

Certificate of Excellence
Chwaka Bay (East Coast) | P.O. Box 3557, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zanzibar Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ngalawa Beach Village
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nigel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Dirtyest Beach I've ever seen. Lodge needs a serious upgrade. Fixed menu, No choice of food. The rooms have No sea view, only pool view. Taxi fee is a rip off. Overall, very dirty and disappointing Island.

Helpful?
1 Thank Niki B
JoAnne T, Manager at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greetings Nicolette from Ngalawa : Thank you for choosing our Resort. Pleas be reminded of the following.. A ) Mother nature has her own timing, and when the tide comes in there may be Sea grass ..yes..it is not dirt.it is natural.. The Gardening staff are very diligent in cleaning it as is the hotel next door. The fishing village... More 

Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked at Ngalawa Beach Hotel in December 2016 with my husband for 7 nights. This was part of the Mango packages special. The hotel is not tooo bad seeing that it is a 3* hotel, the basics are there e.g aircon and cleanness. It is a good place to go to if you just want to rest. Food is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gaopalelwe S
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were "saved" by finding two available rooms on New Year's Eve after having spent three horrible uncomfortable nights at a nearby resort. Rooms are large, comfortable and clean! There is free water in the fridge.... Teas, coffees and kettle and a lovely little balcony on every room. Rooms are simple but well thought out with everything you may need... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Durban
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked at Ngalawa as we had very tight dates to work around and there wasn't much else available at short notice. We couldn't make use of the direct Mango Tues/ Thursday route due to date conficts so had a long hard day of travelling Dbn/ Jhb/ Dar/ Zanzibar via the island hopper. With the new airline doing direct runs... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Genevieve P
JoAnne T, Manager at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greetings from Ngalawa Beach Thank you for taking the time from what I know to be a very busy schedule , to post you're review . We are pleased you enjoyed not only the property , but all the animals and excursions you did partake in , and the historical Island . Thank you from all of us at Ngalawa... More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I first visited Zanzibar ten years ago, for our very belated honeymoon and we fell in love with the place. This time we went with my brother and sister-in-law and their toddler (who celebrated her second birthday while we were there). Ngalawa Beach Village was absolutely perfect for us as a family with a small child. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank meganshead
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Resort The resort is very quiet and you can relax here. But when I arrived, I was so excited and ran down the beach while my Mom checked in, but was so disappointed and sad because the beach looked like a swamp because the tide was out. It was like that all day until about 6pm. It looked nothing like... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank TreAD1407
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Facility itself is cosy and clean. staff was helpful and friendly. we enjoyed our stay in Ngalawa Beach Village. Room is fine and clean, though we found some defects (toilet, door) and there are lots space for improvement. towels in the room was too old and looked unclean although they seemed to be changed every day. Food was little disappointment... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank yurimoto
JoAnne T, Manager at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Greetings from Ngalawa Beach Resort Thank you for you're review , We are glad you enjoyed you're stay. As for the music, it was the festive season, New Years Eve to be exact.. and we had Disco on the upper beach one night ,,normally we shut down at midnight. When you were asked the next day you were happy to... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Wow! What an amazing week away. My only complaint, i needed another month. JoAnne, Val and Sadru went out of there way to make sure we were always comfortable and happy. Small hiccup on the booking with vouchers etc, was not even an issue, on their advice, enjoy the activities and we can sort the rest out later. Which we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BMac20152016
JoAnne T, Manager at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

A very warm hello from Ngalawa Beach ! Thank you ever so much for you're kind review . It was a pleasure having you ! We hope to see you again. All the best in 2016 The entire staff of Ngalawa Beach More 

Europe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Ngalawa Beach Village was exactly what I needed - quiet, intimate, fantastic service, a well maintained property and a beautiful room. The owners are wonderful people who make everyone feel at home and go out of their way to help in any way they can. It was no problem that I was vegetarian and I did comment that there was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ERSolo
JoAnne T, Manager at Ngalawa Beach Village, responded to this review

Jambo ERsolo : It was a joy having you as our guest , and it seemed to be what was in order for you. Unplug and recharge ! I'm pretty sure you are missing the sunshine ! Thank you for being so kind to our staff as well, they truly enjoyed serving you . The very best of the very... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

Ngalawa Beach Village iss absolutely magnificent. The owners made us feel welcome from the first day we arrived and they took care of our needs without any hassles, Thank you so much Valerie & Sadru for making us feel right at home

Helpful?
2 Thank moolla2015
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

199 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (199)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (74)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zanzibar Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
3.9 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
30.6 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#15 of 18 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities