We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MolenVliet Lodge

Hotel website
Site 57, Welgevonden Game Reserve 537, South Africa
MolenVliet Lodge
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Jhb
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Let me start by saying that we had very high expectations for this lodge based on the 5/5 feedback that it has received until now. We can definitely confirm that 5/5 is not deserved. We had a good time, but we have been to better lodges and paid a similar amount for accommodation. We saw lots of game, lion a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quintin W, Manager at MolenVliet Lodge, responded to this review

Please accept our apology regarding the sub standard dining experience you had. As mentioned in my email correspondence to you, a new Chef was appointed since your complaint. We do take guest feedback very seriously and strive to perform better wherever we fall short. Your review motivate us to improve and strive for the 5 star service our guests have... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Beautiful lodge, accommodation and location. The food however was extremely disappointing and well below 5 star quality. The only breakfast option was eggs and toast. Lunch was a dry chicken salad with no further options. For dinner, once again, there were no options - you had to eat what was served to you, which was average at best. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Quintin W, Manager at MolenVliet Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Molenvliet Lodge, it is however disappointing to hear that your experience was negative. Despite the fact that you found our food below standard, I still appreciate the positive feedback regarding our accommodation and location. I must apologise for the sub standard dining experience you had. I agree that food forms an important... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

We really didn't know what to expect from this lodge, but after a relaxing weekend being pampered and fed like kings, we knew we had arrived in paradise. The staff are friendly and must be responsible for 90% of our amazing experience, they really went out of their way to make our stay pleasurable. Don't pass up an opportunity to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quintin W, General Manager at MolenVliet Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. The team will be motivated by your wonderful feedback! We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I visited Molenvliet with a group of friends earlier this month. It proved to be one of the most relaxing and peaceful places I could have hoped for, and well located within comfortable striking distance of the main commercial centres of South Africa. The suites were huge and beautifully appointed, the meals superb and the ambience warm and welcoming. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quintin W, General Manager at MolenVliet Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Molenvliet Lodge. We work very hard to maintain a premier standard and it's always great for the team when we reach that goal. Is it always a pleasure hosting wonderful guests. We hope to welcome you back very soon! More 

Pretoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We spent a magical weekend at this wonderful lodge in Welgevonden. The setting of the lodge cannot be better- the food was excellent and the whole experience wonderful. Africa at its best. The game drives were well organized- and we saw amazing animal sightings- including a lion kill. The game rangers were knowledgeable and helped to make it an unforgettable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quintin W, General Manager at MolenVliet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Andre, Thank very much for your valuable feedback and positive review, it is a great motivation to the team! We work hard to ensure that our guests return time and time again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Molenvliet Lodge in the near future. Kind regards, More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Breath taking place and left with wonderful memories of a luxurious African experience with friends that I will always remember. Set in the beautiful Welgevonden Game Reserve the lodge is the really a place that the owners can be proud of. The well trained professional staff, excellent food and world class wines, the beautiful interior and attention to detail and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Quintin W, General Manager at MolenVliet Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Heleen, Thank you for the great review, sorry it took us so long to reply! Your comments flatter us and also makes us proud of our establishment and the team. We hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have been treated like kings, the hospitality and friendly staff at the lodge was great. We saw a young lion after a kill the first day, what an experience. The food was excellent and the chef have done a great job for all the different visitors. We saw Rhinos with calf's at a waterhole the next day at arms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quintin W, General Manager at MolenVliet Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We value all feedback from our customers, it is what motivates us to constantly perform and better ourselves to maintain the highest standards! He hope to welcome you back soon. More 

Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

After a warm welcome we went on a 'first safari' between the entrance and our Lodges. We were very lucky to see a lot of animals en some close encounters from the start on. Our stay was very nice as we were with a group of 7 persons. The whole lodge was ours and that was a unique opportunity. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quintin W, General Manager at MolenVliet Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback on Molenvliet Lodge. We are grateful that we were a part of your trip to South Africa. Hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

What a Lodge. I took people from Belgium there, and on our way to the lodge we came across our first surprise....about 20 elephants. We also saw a new born baby elephant and Rhino and other animals and birds that you don't normally see at Game Farms. We were lucky enough to see a Cheetah Kill The lodge itself is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quintin W, General Manager at MolenVliet Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and sorry for the late reply! We value your feedback and support to our establishment. Hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Kirchberg, Austria
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you are not into bush-buffets with sad salads or group hysteria at a leopard sighting or sharing your lounge with ill-behaved tourists, this is the place to go. The Lodge has 5 cottages, thus allowing no more than 10 guests- perfect for an intimate gathering. It seems to cater for sportsmen's tastes and physiques- the lodge appears to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quintin W, General Manager at MolenVliet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Andrea, Firstly I must apologise for the very late response to your review, but thank you very much for such a well written and positive review on Molenvliet Lodge. The team are very proud of their work and your review put a proud smile on Simon's face. We hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities