We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Welgevonden Gate, Welgevonden Game Reserve 2074, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tshwene Lodge to your Saves list
Tshwene Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
100%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Tess v
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you have ever been a fan of the writer, poet and doctor Eugene Marais of the Waterberg, you will fall in love with the Welgevonden area. Book a stay at Tshwene lodge and relax and enjoy every moment. From the pick-up when you arrive, up to the drop-off after your stay, at the main gate. It is an unique,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

From the moment we arrived at Tshwene we were embraced with hospitality, bright smiles and the wonderful sense of meeting up with old friends. Led by Bridgette, Tswene's manager, every member of staff came out to greet our party and introduced themselves. Refreshingly different. Our party of three were given rooms 1 and 2, with a deck joining the two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic feedback. We sincerely appreciate it. As I have mentioned before, the game viewing in Welgevonden seldom disappoints however your particular experience sounds absolutely incredible. I completely agree that the heaters are a most welcome respite from the crisp winters in Welgevonden. They are an absolute treat. We are really fortunate to have such incredible staff... More

Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were looking for a luxury family long weekend away in the bush, but we were not willing to travel too far. We were pleasantly surprised, as Tshwene Lodge was only 230 km from Centurion! We had an awesome 3 x night stay & we were lucky to see a pride of 5 x lions taking down 2 x warthogs.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

I must apologize upfront on behalf of management for the hiccup regarding the pilow incident your wife had. We pride ourselves on handling the small details and requests from guests but this one unfortunately slipped through the cracks. Once again my sincere apologies. I am however glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Tshwene Lodge and that you... More

Midrand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful stay with great accommodation, wonderful staff and stunning game viewing. Although it was very cold we were looked after well and never felt uncomfortable. The staff was friendly and showed a genuine interest in our welfare.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Winter in Welgevonden can indeed be a little chilly however it's great to know that you were well looked after by our awesome staff. Hopefully we'll see you in the coming summer months. Kind regards Richard de la Rey More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had an amazing 2 night stay, the first evenings Boma dinner was great . The game drives were fantastic . We were very lucky to see a male cheetah on a Wildebeest kill. I really wish we didn't have to leave. The staff at the lodge are friendly and we were always greeted with a smile.i would highly recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback. I have yet to see cheetah in Welgevonden. Let alone cheetah on a kill. It must have been an awesome sighting. Once again our staff shone as they always do and it certainly does not go unnoticed. Thank you for visiting Tshwene Lodge and we hope to see you in the not too distant... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a quick weekend getaway for our 8 year wedding anniversary to Tshwene lodge. What an amazing weekend! The staff and managing couple went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable. From private romantic dinner by candlelight and fire place, 5 star food and game drives. We were lucky enough to see a cheetah with its kill.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic feedback and for celebrating your anniversary at Tshwene Lodge. I see the game did not disappoint and to see a cheetah on a kill is a very special sighting. Cheetah are being seen more and more regularly now and this always goes down well with the guests. Nothing really beats a romantic dinner in the... More

Kroonstad South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A special lodge in the heart of Welgevonden, set in a beautiful location. The staff went out of their way to make my 60th birthday a day (or rather a week-end) to remember. I want to offer my sincere thanks to Keith and Brigitte with Ephraim, Lena, Lena and Jacob. The food were delicious, the room comfortable, clean, private and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and thank you for celebrating your special occasion at Tshwene Lodge. Once again the staff made all the difference and we are very fortunate to have them on board. They really do a great job and I know you were well looked after. Hopefully it's not too long before you visit us again. Kind regards... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We arrived on Saturday morning and were greeted with a warm welcome and a warm facecloth to freshen up after the trip to the lodge. We were introduced to all the staff members and they all were so welcoming and friendly. The first evening we enjoyed the most wonderful evening at the boma under the stars and had so much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Such wonderful feedback. Thank you. You are quite right, it's the smaller things that make a difference and our guests do take not as you have. Our staff are amazing and really go out of their way in all aspects. Thank you once again and we hope you visit us soon again. Kind regards Richard de la Rey More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

What an amazing weekend we have just had at Tshwene Lodge. I don't even know where to begin. So to keep my raves to a minimum let me list just a few: The staff - wow they really know how to make you feel so welcome. They made us feel like we were the only guests there that is how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Justine792014 Thank you for the wonderful review. I say it time and time again but we are truly blessed with our staff and they really make the guests' stay unforgettable. It certainly is difficult to stick to any diet when staying at Tshwene Lodge and as you say, the food is really out of this world. Thank you for... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My Girlfriend and I went to celebrate a special occasion, for the weekend at Tshwene Lodge.....our engagement. WOW, what an incredible experience.....The lodge's utter beauty, the tranquillity of the tree engulfed lodge and last but certainly not least the staff. Their professionalism, friendliness's and willingness to do what ever is needed to ensure the guests experience is that of monumental... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Dear ndabbs Thank you for your awesome feedback. Firstly I would like to congratulate you on your engagement. What a wonderful place to celebrate. We are really fortunate to have such wonderful staff led by Heath and Bridget who are absolutely brilliant in their own right. Thank you once again for your review and we hope that you visit us... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tshwene Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tshwene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tshwene Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Gate, Welgevonden Game Reserve 2074, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Tshwene Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (10)