We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Welgevonden Gate, Welgevonden Game Reserve 2074, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Tshwene Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tshwene Lodge to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
MandyB77
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

From the moment we drove into Welgenvonden park, Tshwene Lodge staff aimed to make our experience unforgettable. The lodge is beautifully located in the hidden hills of the Welgevonden area. Each room provides you with ample privacy and evenings can be spent on the balcony star gazing on a clear night amongst the natural ambience of the bush. We visited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

This was our first trip to Welgevonden and Tshwene Lodge, and our experience was wonderful. From the moment we were picked up at the main gate it was clear that the staff at Tshwene Lodge have a customer centric approach and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and congratulations on your anniversary. We are truly blessed with fantastic staff at Tshwene under Heath and Bridget. They are all simply fantastic. The game viewing seldom disappoints in Welgevonden and this time of year is no exception. I will surely pass on your feedback to Sam and the rest of the staff. Thank... More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

From the moment we arrived at Tshwene Lodge, the staff themselves tried their utmost to be as welcoming and accommodating. We were however left in the lobby for quite some time and not shown to our rooms immediately. There was also no water for quite a long period of time due to an elephant having broken the water pipes -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We take feedback such as this extremely seriously. My apologies for the delay in responding however I had to obtain feedback from the lodge in order to give you a comprehensive and accurate response. I must apologise profusely for the lack of water. We had a major setback as far as the water is concerned... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you have ever been a fan of the writer, poet and doctor Eugene Marais of the Waterberg, you will fall in love with the Welgevonden area. Book a stay at Tshwene lodge and relax and enjoy every moment. From the pick-up when you arrive, up to the drop-off after your stay, at the main gate. It is an unique,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We always love to hear how much our guests enjoyed their stay. You are quite right, Tshwene is unique. We sincerely hope you will be back and look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards Richard de la Rey More

Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

From the moment we arrived at Tshwene we were embraced with hospitality, bright smiles and the wonderful sense of meeting up with old friends. Led by Bridgette, Tswene's manager, every member of staff came out to greet our party and introduced themselves. Refreshingly different. Our party of three were given rooms 1 and 2, with a deck joining the two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic feedback. We sincerely appreciate it. As I have mentioned before, the game viewing in Welgevonden seldom disappoints however your particular experience sounds absolutely incredible. I completely agree that the heaters are a most welcome respite from the crisp winters in Welgevonden. They are an absolute treat. We are really fortunate to have such incredible staff... More

Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were looking for a luxury family long weekend away in the bush, but we were not willing to travel too far. We were pleasantly surprised, as Tshwene Lodge was only 230 km from Centurion! We had an awesome 3 x night stay & we were lucky to see a pride of 5 x lions taking down 2 x warthogs.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

I must apologize upfront on behalf of management for the hiccup regarding the pilow incident your wife had. We pride ourselves on handling the small details and requests from guests but this one unfortunately slipped through the cracks. Once again my sincere apologies. I am however glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Tshwene Lodge and that you... More

Midrand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful stay with great accommodation, wonderful staff and stunning game viewing. Although it was very cold we were looked after well and never felt uncomfortable. The staff was friendly and showed a genuine interest in our welfare.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Winter in Welgevonden can indeed be a little chilly however it's great to know that you were well looked after by our awesome staff. Hopefully we'll see you in the coming summer months. Kind regards Richard de la Rey More

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had an amazing 2 night stay, the first evenings Boma dinner was great . The game drives were fantastic . We were very lucky to see a male cheetah on a Wildebeest kill. I really wish we didn't have to leave. The staff at the lodge are friendly and we were always greeted with a smile.i would highly recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback. I have yet to see cheetah in Welgevonden. Let alone cheetah on a kill. It must have been an awesome sighting. Once again our staff shone as they always do and it certainly does not go unnoticed. Thank you for visiting Tshwene Lodge and we hope to see you in the not too distant... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a quick weekend getaway for our 8 year wedding anniversary to Tshwene lodge. What an amazing weekend! The staff and managing couple went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable. From private romantic dinner by candlelight and fire place, 5 star food and game drives. We were lucky enough to see a cheetah with its kill.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic feedback and for celebrating your anniversary at Tshwene Lodge. I see the game did not disappoint and to see a cheetah on a kill is a very special sighting. Cheetah are being seen more and more regularly now and this always goes down well with the guests. Nothing really beats a romantic dinner in the... More

Kroonstad South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

A special lodge in the heart of Welgevonden, set in a beautiful location. The staff went out of their way to make my 60th birthday a day (or rather a week-end) to remember. I want to offer my sincere thanks to Keith and Brigitte with Ephraim, Lena, Lena and Jacob. The food were delicious, the room comfortable, clean, private and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and thank you for celebrating your special occasion at Tshwene Lodge. Once again the staff made all the difference and we are very fortunate to have them on board. They really do a great job and I know you were well looked after. Hopefully it's not too long before you visit us again. Kind regards... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tshwene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tshwene Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Gate, Welgevonden Game Reserve 2074, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Tshwene Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Tshwene Lodge

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby