We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Welgevonden Gate, Welgevonden Game Reserve 2074, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Tshwene Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tshwene Lodge to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
khanyim2015 Johannesburg, South Africa
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at Tshwene was magical. The room was comfortable, spacious and had all the relevant modcons such as a Braun hairdryer. The staff was amazing, professional, friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived until we left. We stayed for three nights. The lodge was full when we arrived but all the other guests left on the following morning,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was our second visit to Welgevonden but our first stay at Tshwene Lodge. We had a great time and the entire team made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. A special thanks to Heath and Bridget who took good care of us. The rooms (only 5 in total) are spacious with a beautiful deck. The food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the minute we arrived to our goodbyes the staff at Tshwene lodge were extremely welcoming and friendly. Accomodation was clean and comfortable and the food was definitely always a five star meal. We had amazing game drives seeing lions, cheetah, giraffes, elephant and many more. Our tour guide Sam was knowledgeable and was always seen with a smile. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome by staff at Tshwene Lodge on a Saturday afternoon in November. Unfortunately, on return from the evening game drive, we were informed that there was no water as elephants had damaged the pipes; water for drinking and flushing of toilets was provided. After the morning game drive, still no water, and repairs were hampered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we drove into Welgenvonden park, Tshwene Lodge staff aimed to make our experience unforgettable. The lodge is beautifully located in the hidden hills of the Welgevonden area. Each room provides you with ample privacy and evenings can be spent on the balcony star gazing on a clear night amongst the natural ambience of the bush. We visited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RareEarthZA, Chief Executive Officer at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your wonderful feedback. What a wonderful way to spend your anniversary. A leopard kill is certainly a special sighting and you are very fortunate. Sam is a great asset to the company and guests thoroughly enjoy his game drives. We would really appreciate it if you would post some pics on our Facebook page at... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

This was our first trip to Welgevonden and Tshwene Lodge, and our experience was wonderful. From the moment we were picked up at the main gate it was clear that the staff at Tshwene Lodge have a customer centric approach and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and congratulations on your anniversary. We are truly blessed with fantastic staff at Tshwene under Heath and Bridget. They are all simply fantastic. The game viewing seldom disappoints in Welgevonden and this time of year is no exception. I will surely pass on your feedback to Sam and the rest of the staff. Thank... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

From the moment we arrived at Tshwene Lodge, the staff themselves tried their utmost to be as welcoming and accommodating. We were however left in the lobby for quite some time and not shown to our rooms immediately. There was also no water for quite a long period of time due to an elephant having broken the water pipes -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We take feedback such as this extremely seriously. My apologies for the delay in responding however I had to obtain feedback from the lodge in order to give you a comprehensive and accurate response. I must apologise profusely for the lack of water. We had a major setback as far as the water is concerned... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you have ever been a fan of the writer, poet and doctor Eugene Marais of the Waterberg, you will fall in love with the Welgevonden area. Book a stay at Tshwene lodge and relax and enjoy every moment. From the pick-up when you arrive, up to the drop-off after your stay, at the main gate. It is an unique,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We always love to hear how much our guests enjoyed their stay. You are quite right, Tshwene is unique. We sincerely hope you will be back and look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards Richard de la Rey More 

Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

From the moment we arrived at Tshwene we were embraced with hospitality, bright smiles and the wonderful sense of meeting up with old friends. Led by Bridgette, Tswene's manager, every member of staff came out to greet our party and introduced themselves. Refreshingly different. Our party of three were given rooms 1 and 2, with a deck joining the two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic feedback. We sincerely appreciate it. As I have mentioned before, the game viewing in Welgevonden seldom disappoints however your particular experience sounds absolutely incredible. I completely agree that the heaters are a most welcome respite from the crisp winters in Welgevonden. They are an absolute treat. We are really fortunate to have such incredible staff... More 

Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were looking for a luxury family long weekend away in the bush, but we were not willing to travel too far. We were pleasantly surprised, as Tshwene Lodge was only 230 km from Centurion! We had an awesome 3 x night stay & we were lucky to see a pride of 5 x lions taking down 2 x warthogs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

I must apologize upfront on behalf of management for the hiccup regarding the pilow incident your wife had. We pride ourselves on handling the small details and requests from guests but this one unfortunately slipped through the cracks. Once again my sincere apologies. I am however glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Tshwene Lodge and that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tshwene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tshwene Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Gate, Welgevonden Game Reserve 2074, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Tshwene Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Tshwene Lodge

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby