We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Welgevonden Gate, Welgevonden Game Reserve 2074, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Tshwene Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tshwene Lodge to your Saves list
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Tanya P Johannesburg, South Africa
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

a friend and I stayed at Tshwene fora weekend. The staff are very well intentioned but seem to lack some training - warm drinks, plain food that was often left out in the heat (wilted salads and hardened bread). Bowls forgotten at breakfast, no top ups offered on drinks, eggs forgotten at one breakfast. Hot plates give for a dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to go to Welgevonden due to how close it is to Joburg and the size of the park so after 2 hours and 30 minutes drive from the airport we arrived at the main gate were the guide Sam meet us with a nice cold drinks and a big smile. We parked the car and jumped in to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RareEarthZA, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Tshwene Lodge. You summed up a normal day perfectly. As I've stated before, Welgevonden seldom disappoints on the game viewing front and it certainly delivered during your stay. Thank you for your incredible feedback and we hope to see you soon. Kind regards Richard More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Our stay at Tshwene was magical. The room was comfortable, spacious and had all the relevant modcons such as a Braun hairdryer. The staff was amazing, professional, friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived until we left. We stayed for three nights. The lodge was full when we arrived but all the other guests left on the following morning,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RareEarthZA, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Once again our staff came to the fore and we are incredibly fortunate to have such a fantastic team. I will certainly forward your mail onto lodge management and they will pass your comments onto the staff. I'm sure they will be delighted. Thank you for choosing to stay at Tshwene Lodge and we... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

It was our second visit to Welgevonden but our first stay at Tshwene Lodge. We had a great time and the entire team made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. A special thanks to Heath and Bridget who took good care of us. The rooms (only 5 in total) are spacious with a beautiful deck. The food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RareEarthZA, CEO at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. It's always a pleasure welcoming guests back to Welgevonden Game Reserve and thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tshwene Lodge. We have a very special team at Tshwene Lodge and we are always grateful for all the hard work and effort they put into making sure our guests have an awesome experience.... More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

From the minute we arrived to our goodbyes the staff at Tshwene lodge were extremely welcoming and friendly. Accomodation was clean and comfortable and the food was definitely always a five star meal. We had amazing game drives seeing lions, cheetah, giraffes, elephant and many more. Our tour guide Sam was knowledgeable and was always seen with a smile. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RareEarthZA, CEO at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are so happy that your fiance chose Tshwene Lodge to propose. It's such a special occasion and the African bush is the ideal place to propose. Sam and the rest of the staff are very special and we are really thrilled to have them all on board. As I have mentioned before, the... More 

Johannesburg
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome by staff at Tshwene Lodge on a Saturday afternoon in November. Unfortunately, on return from the evening game drive, we were informed that there was no water as elephants had damaged the pipes; water for drinking and flushing of toilets was provided. After the morning game drive, still no water, and repairs were hampered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are so happy that your fiance chose Tshwene Lodge to propose. It's such a special occasion and the African bush is the ideal place to propose. Sam and the rest of the staff are very special and we are really thrilled to have them all on board. As I have mentioned before, the... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

From the moment we drove into Welgenvonden park, Tshwene Lodge staff aimed to make our experience unforgettable. The lodge is beautifully located in the hidden hills of the Welgevonden area. Each room provides you with ample privacy and evenings can be spent on the balcony star gazing on a clear night amongst the natural ambience of the bush. We visited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RareEarthZA, Chief Executive Officer at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Thank you for your wonderful feedback. What a wonderful way to spend your anniversary. A leopard kill is certainly a special sighting and you are very fortunate. Sam is a great asset to the company and guests thoroughly enjoy his game drives. We would really appreciate it if you would post some pics on our Facebook page at... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

This was our first trip to Welgevonden and Tshwene Lodge, and our experience was wonderful. From the moment we were picked up at the main gate it was clear that the staff at Tshwene Lodge have a customer centric approach and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and congratulations on your anniversary. We are truly blessed with fantastic staff at Tshwene under Heath and Bridget. They are all simply fantastic. The game viewing seldom disappoints in Welgevonden and this time of year is no exception. I will surely pass on your feedback to Sam and the rest of the staff. Thank... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

From the moment we arrived at Tshwene Lodge, the staff themselves tried their utmost to be as welcoming and accommodating. We were however left in the lobby for quite some time and not shown to our rooms immediately. There was also no water for quite a long period of time due to an elephant having broken the water pipes -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We take feedback such as this extremely seriously. My apologies for the delay in responding however I had to obtain feedback from the lodge in order to give you a comprehensive and accurate response. I must apologise profusely for the lack of water. We had a major setback as far as the water is concerned... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you have ever been a fan of the writer, poet and doctor Eugene Marais of the Waterberg, you will fall in love with the Welgevonden area. Book a stay at Tshwene lodge and relax and enjoy every moment. From the pick-up when you arrive, up to the drop-off after your stay, at the main gate. It is an unique,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at Tshwene Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We always love to hear how much our guests enjoyed their stay. You are quite right, Tshwene is unique. We sincerely hope you will be back and look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards Richard de la Rey More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tshwene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tshwene Lodge

Address: Welgevonden Gate, Welgevonden Game Reserve 2074, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Welgevonden Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Tshwene Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay