We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
454 Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
lataraj2015 Winder, Georgia
Add Photo

572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    66
    153
    175
    91
    87
See reviews for
292
165
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (572)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (187)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (201)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Winder, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My overall stay was good especially for it being a dog friendly hotel. But for breakfast the only options were juice, coffee, bread, muffins and fruit (that not being a real issue since I know where to go for a real breakfast) but the fact that a loaf of bread is put out and everyone has their hands in it... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pittsford, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I know HoJo's is an old chain, but I truly didn't expect the room to be that outdated. We likened the beds to sleeping on blow up mattresses, but harder, much paint and spackle needed in rooms, hallways, cobwebs in corners of rooms, windows were dirty. Unfortunately, we really had no options of switching hotels as we were traveling with... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is overpriced as well as most everything in the Niagra falls NY area. This hotel was built in the 60's and badly needs updating! Out of two nights we never got any breakfast. We went down early each morning and the food was all gone! The last day here we couldn't even get a cup of coffee! The... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ethan, South Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Older building, scary elevator, terrible breakfast! Not the closest to the falls as stated but still within walking distance. The beds we're Excellent! Really the best beds!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really liked the location of the hotel. It was within the walking distance of all the attractions in the area. Although it was not the fanciest hotel I have ever stayed in, I think it was a good deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only positives i can say about this hotel is the location and that the reception staff we had interactions with were all friendly however they also think just saying sorry justifies a dead wasp on bedroom floor and dirty used towels in the room. The hotel is more of a motel the rooms are dirty and im pretty sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
steve f, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel online. I am sorry you had a negative experience while staying with us. The front desk staff would have gladly moved you to a clean room had you notified them about the condition of your room upon arrival. I have spoken to the housekeeping staff and we ordered the necessary upgrades... More 

Summit, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room wasn't cleaned and ready when we checked in at 8 PM. We let the front desk person know about it but she was saying "This is the third incident today for guests complaining room isn't cleaned and cleaner is gone for the day...". Fortunately, she was able to give us another room and leave notes to manager to adjust... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
steve f, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking thee time to review our hotel online. I apologize your room was not ready upon arrival. We were experiencing some problems with our laundry machines which created an unforeseeable slow down in the room cleaning and preparation process. We have remedied the situation for future guest satisfaction. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and thank... More 

Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff was excellent!! room was clean, however needed up dated and the sink didnt drain correctly, other than that our stay was great!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
steve f, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor. I am very happy you found the Howard Johnson at 454 Main Street in Niagara Falls, NY to have an excellent staff, clean rooms and a great location. I will notify ownership of your concerns. The staff works hard to ensure all guest needs are met. Thanks again.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay