We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mohonk Mountain House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561
Special Offer
Honey is Hot!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mohonk Mountain House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
Add Photo Write a Review

1,447 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    751
    367
    149
    106
    74
See reviews for
402
577
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1447)
  • Mar-May only
    (339)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (393)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (429)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (286)
All months
Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited for the day and so enjoyed the luxury of the hotel and grounds. The dining was superb in quiet the dining room and what a view from our window side table where you could see down the mountain to forever. The chill of the morning made the fireplaces so nice. Yet the warm sun invited us out to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had heard so much about the Mohonk House that perhaps my expectations were simply not realistic but when I arrived for lunch the first day in a downpour only to be told that my elderly mother and I must eat a buffet lunch, I was really surprised. We received a "deal" for coming midweek but it still cost us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This place is beautiful. The grounds are amaizing. If you like hiking, this place has great trails and beautiful views. The food is Good! You get what you pay for. Excellent service. ps. I got married here and our guests were impressed with everything. They did the our flower arrangements and made sure everything was perfect for us and our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel was the perfect interlude in our New York trip. After spending a few days in New York, we drove up to Mohonk and could not have been happier. First, the drive to Mohonk is absolutely beautiful. We drove up the Hudson river and stopped to take in the views of New York and New Jersey. Once we arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Shokan, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've stayed here on several occasions taking advantage of special off season rates and packages. Otherwise, it is too pricey for my wallet. And, you don't have to stay overnight if you live fairly locally. Our recent spa package was a service in the spa and lunch. With taxes and gratuity included, the total was $160.00. We spent the entire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent one night here and really enjoyed our visit. We managed to get a great upgrade to a larger suite. But I can't imagine paying for that room at full cost!! But our stay was perfect, despite the weather. We managed to hike the labyrinth and famous Lemon Squeeze and enjoy a paddle boat on the lake. But we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I thought that my anniversary would be great by picking up this place. I was totally wrong. If you want to spend $1200 a night, like I spent and have a subpar (meaning a very cheap motel) experience, go ahead!!! This place is a total dump! I was completely shocked!! Filthy room, unfriendly stuff, horrible food...I have no idea how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GuestRelationsMohonk, General Manager at Mohonk Mountain House, responded to this review

Dear Doru C, We are sorry your experience at Mohonk Mountain House did not meet your expectations. We regret not having the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here. We would be happy to talk with you directly. Guest Relations can be reached at 845-256-2149, or guestrelations@mohonk.com. Sincerely, Eric Gullickson General Manager More 

Middletown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked our 30th anniversary celebration on the recommendation of friends who had visited multiple times but only in the winter. We weren't sure how it would be. What a pleasant surprise. Not since our trip to Disney World have we experienced customer service like this. From the moment we drove up for valet parking, we were treated extremely well.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I just went here for an anniversary, it cost about $1600 for 2 nights, if your prepared to spend that much it's a great time. In two days we managed to go hiking, stand up paddle boarding, boating, checked out the garden, feed the fish, bon fire, disc freebie (there's a $10 fee to buy a disc)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

6 of us are here. Hotel has a bad musty order it smells like old scrambled eggs. Visited fitness center woman was fairly rude treated us like second class citizens. Schedule was not posted on line for Sunday as of Saturday. Location and views are spectacular. Overall service has been sad. Guest services does not book anything for you. Do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestRelationsMohonk, General Manager at Mohonk Mountain House, responded to this review

Dear Anu B, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Mohonk Mountain House. We’re pleased that you found the location and views to be spectacular. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on a number of fronts while you were here. Providing the highest level of guest service is extremely... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

660 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (639)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (210)
Viewed
View from room (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (67)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (39)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
0:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (216)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay