We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

1.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
530 Main St., New Paltz, NY 12561
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Econo Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Add Photo

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    3
    9
    10
    32
See reviews for
12
17
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There was garbage piled up visible from parking lot and the outside looked run down. Pool looked awful. But inside the rooms were comfortable & clean and there was free Wifi. Free breakfast was adequate but jelly was not very spreadable. For a place to stay just overnt for $79 it was fine for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parsippany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Went to check in today for a day at the Mohonk House and the hotel is litterally falling apart inside and out. Rooms are all outside. Stained carpet, door bolt was broken, AC turned did not work properly. Did not circulate properly, dense smell in room, beds very uncomfortable. We tried to check out and they could not give us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these New Paltz hotels

Hillsdale, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

This place is shabby. Needs new carpets on the outside walkways. Walls and doors were dirty. The door to the room seemed like an inside type of door, not solid for an outside door. My wife did not feel safe. The curtains looked old and worn. There was a smell of sewer gas in the bathroom. The coverlet of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I can't believe this hotel exists in New Paltz! When I think of how beautiful New Paltz is and how it's a mecca for rock climbers, hikers and nature lovers, etc., I can't at all reconcile this place with my image of New Paltz. As several other reviewers have pointed out, there are so many things wrong with this place,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

That pretty much sums it up. Not only do they not address the rampant mouse problem, they also fraudulently charged me $150 for carpet cleaning b/c they said I had a pet in the room. If the pet in the room was the mouse I never wanted then yes, guilty. The health department needs to shut this place down.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
econo530, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We don't have any mice in are room and if you had seen them on the first night that you stayed we could have moved you another room, but you stayed in the room for three day and then wright a False complaint on tripadvisor. Also for those three nights that you stayed you had your pet in the room... More 

Hicksville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Not sure why others are being so harsh, it's a nice place. Yes the outside needs a bit of touch up, but you're not sleeping outside. The room was nice, clean and beds were good, bathroom was clean, they have a pool which is nice and a little breakfast in the morning. For the price you really can't complain. Everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is by far the worst place I have ever seen. The entire place is in total disrepair. Smelly, worn, frayed, carpet on the outside stairs, complete safety hazard. Front desk rude! We were so disgusted by the outside that we asked to see a room before we signed in. The room was in as much disrepair as the outside.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We wanted a good reasonably place to stay while we were in New Paltz and that's what the Econo Lodge was. It had a nice breakfast with juice, coffee, cereal, bagels and pastries and a nice little pool that was big enough to do laps in. The people at the desk were very nice and friendly too. I even liked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place is in dire need of cleanup and upgrading, but it's honestly just fine for a night. Most importantly, the bathroom was clean! Bed was ok, and there was no shortage of heat for the chilly night we had.The minifridge and microwave were good for convenience. Carpet could use a good shampoo, but that's what flip-flops are for! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Paltz, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Place is overpriced! My night here was so unconfortable, desk,chair,carpet were dirty. The room had a share bathroom with the neighbor,bed very unconfortable and on top i could hear the neighbor snorring, disapointed! I will not and certainly not return

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
econo530, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

when we rented you the room there was some miscommunication the whole room was yours both side. you did not share the room with anyone. Your room was one of our family/group rooms. so if you were part of a group and two couples it would work like this, on one side one couple would stay and on the other... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay