We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 New Paltz hotels

Econo Lodge

1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Main St., New Paltz, NY 12561
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
12%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    8
    9
    30
See reviews for
11
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

That pretty much sums it up. Not only do they not address the rampant mouse problem, they also fraudulently charged me $150 for carpet cleaning b/c they said I had a pet in the room. If the pet in the room was the mouse I never wanted then yes, guilty. The health department needs to shut this place down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
econo530, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We don't have any mice in are room and if you had seen them on the first night that you stayed we could have moved you another room, but you stayed in the room for three day and then wright a False complaint on tripadvisor. Also for those three nights that you stayed you had your pet in the room... More

Hicksville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Not sure why others are being so harsh, it's a nice place. Yes the outside needs a bit of touch up, but you're not sleeping outside. The room was nice, clean and beds were good, bathroom was clean, they have a pool which is nice and a little breakfast in the morning. For the price you really can't complain. Everyone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is by far the worst place I have ever seen. The entire place is in total disrepair. Smelly, worn, frayed, carpet on the outside stairs, complete safety hazard. Front desk rude! We were so disgusted by the outside that we asked to see a room before we signed in. The room was in as much disrepair as the outside.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We wanted a good reasonably place to stay while we were in New Paltz and that's what the Econo Lodge was. It had a nice breakfast with juice, coffee, cereal, bagels and pastries and a nice little pool that was big enough to do laps in. The people at the desk were very nice and friendly too. I even liked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place is in dire need of cleanup and upgrading, but it's honestly just fine for a night. Most importantly, the bathroom was clean! Bed was ok, and there was no shortage of heat for the chilly night we had.The minifridge and microwave were good for convenience. Carpet could use a good shampoo, but that's what flip-flops are for! I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Paltz, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Place is overpriced! My night here was so unconfortable, desk,chair,carpet were dirty. The room had a share bathroom with the neighbor,bed very unconfortable and on top i could hear the neighbor snorring, disapointed! I will not and certainly not return

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
econo530, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

when we rented you the room there was some miscommunication the whole room was yours both side. you did not share the room with anyone. Your room was one of our family/group rooms. so if you were part of a group and two couples it would work like this, on one side one couple would stay and on the other... More

Syosset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Do Not Stay At This Place!!. People who work here and run this place Lie!! Do Not Attempt To Book A Reservation Because They Don't Cancel And Will Charge Your Credit Card!! My husband called way in advance ( a week in advance) and the nasty woman said we don't have a reservation. It turned out our name was spelled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South Orange
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here 1 night in August 2013. Room was fine. And the pool was nice. Breakfast was decent. I don't know what the other people are complaining about. It is a basic hotel -- what do you want? Everything was just what you could hope for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Almost gave this place a 2 star based on the Value vs Price. For what you get, this is priced about 3 times higher than the value merits. Way overpriced. For what I paid, including the pet fee, the exotic dancers from next door should have been coming over to do a private show. Yes, breakfast was included, but no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
baltimore
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was an overnight stay and that was plenty. We arrived late and had no trouble with check in, but we were on our own to find the room. As we drove up to it and got out of the car, there was an obvious "smell". The units were ok, ours had a 6" burn hole in the rug. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 530 Main St., New Paltz, NY 12561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge New Paltz
Econo Lodge New Paltz

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in New Paltz with
any amenities