We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 37 Montauk hotels

A Wave Inn

32 South Elmwood Avenue, PO Box 1630, Montauk, NY 11954
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added A Wave Inn to your Saves list
A Wave Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com CheapTickets.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
51%
Ranked #30 of 37 hotels in Montauk
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013
amber m New York City, New York
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    9
    7
    24
See reviews for
32
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We just paid 1400.00 for a 5 night stay at the Wave inn and were given a much smaller room than offered.we could barely get to the bathroom around the bureau and bed ! There were 4 of us and we were very unhappy.we were also told on the phone there would be coffee in the lobby and continental breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Babien, Thank you for your feedback regarding A Wave Inn. The issues you brought forward are very disheartening, because they indicate that you did not enjoy the East End, the way you should have. The room type booked was a Deluxe Studio Efficiency, which offered ample space for your party of four. We do not offer complimentary breakfast... More

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Rooms were clean and staff was very accommodating. The inn is Beautiful and my family and I enjoyed our stay there very much. The location was great and they were more than helpful with any questions we had about the area.Thanks for the memories, I am definitely coming back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yonkers, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel confirmed a room and gave me a much smaller room. Couldn't fit my party of 4 and had none of the amenities that the confirmation promised. They offered to find us another hotel which was ridiculous because there wasn't another room within 20 miles of Montauk that wasn't already booked. It was 4th of July weekend. The reservation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dana M, First let me apologize about the mis-hap with your reservations over the 4th of July holiday. It is not a habit of ours to provide paying guests with services far from what was requested. With that being said, we did our utmost best to accommodate you and your party for this weekend. As your Expedia reservation stated,... More

mberga25
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We didn't know what to expect, but it definitely wasn't this - especially for the price. Although our room appeared clean, we hard a hard time believing it. The place smelled very old, with very old bedspreads, carpeting, and amenities. The cauking was cracking in the bathroom and again, even though it looked clean, you felt like you wanted to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mberga25, Thank you for your feedback regarding our property. It is unfortunate that your stay with us was not as expected. If only we were made aware, we would have done our best to accommodate any request/concern. We do general maintenance of the property such as carpet cleaning, painting etc. on an annual basis. We are aware that it... More

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights last Labor Day with my husband and two kids, and what a waste of money!! There were kids staying 8 to a room, partying all night. Montauk used to be a great family destination, but it's been ruined by party kids who take the train out, stay 10 in a room, and ruin any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tracy F, Thank you for your review. Montauk has changed a lot over the years. It is unfortunate that you have decided not to return to such a beautiful and quaint town. Apart from the trails and beaches, there are plenty new businesses that offer a variety of services, that were never an option before. With new business, comes... More

New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

For $250 a night, you'd think they would at least mop the hair off the bathroom floor. Or maybe clear the giant hairball out of the bathtub so it would drain. Or if not that, at least consider not leaving the envelope requesting tip for the maid. Really? I'd move to another hotel, but unfortunately I'm not made of money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sasha W, General Manager at A Wave Inn, responded to this review

Dear DakotaNYC, It is very unfortunate and disheartening that your stay with us was not as you expected. Being competitively priced, we try our best o ensure that our guests have the best experience in Montauk, and we did our best to correct all the issues you brought to our attention. Our housekeepers have more that 10 years experience, and... More

Holbrook, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

You get what you pay for in Montauk....reasonable rates for the location and season...no frills but clean rooms, great staff....nice pool...our room had full kitchen (which we didn't use but it was there).The beds in our room where a bit hard..but the beds in the other room we booked where good. Would stay there again.. CR Holbrook

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Glad we stayed here nice rooms great location sweet staff larger room then we expected nice pool when the beach was windy we really enjoyed the stay look forward to coming back in August you guys were great

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here over the summer and have been meaning to leave a review for a while but haven't had a chance till now. I will make this one simple. Clean, near beach, big pool, reasonable rates. Need I say more?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

AC wasn't working and couldn't really sleep with the windows open...as there were no screens in them. The shower was a dribble at best. I can't believe I paid money to stay here. I'm not that picky but this was ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to A Wave Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Wave Inn

Also Known As:
a Wave Hotel Montauk
a Wave Hotel
Hotel a Wave
Address: 32 South Elmwood Avenue, PO Box 1630, Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 hotels in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your A Wave Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Wave Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.