We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Montauk Beach House

Hotel website
55 South Elmwood Avenue, Montauk, NY 11954
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Montauk Beach House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Montauk Beach House
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
8
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We stayed for a night as a last minute thing whilst in the hamptons. Loved the whole experience. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was gorgeous. Great beds, gorgeous decor and nice bathroom. Only negative was you had to keep curtains closed as was on ground floor and windows so big you could see clearly in to the bedroom. Out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pierre-Alex M, General Manager at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review

Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the comments about the window. We are making some adjustments for 2015 season to opaque the windows which should enable guests to have more privacy with the drapes in open position. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

My husband and I were in search of a hotel in Montauk that was hopefully better than the ever-so fatigued, relic, Gurney's. So, while searching Tripadvisor the Montauk Beach House appeared to be better by the photos and description! Don't be fooled by photos and what you read folks. This place is a flea bag MOTEL that some fool painted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pierre-Alex M, General Manager at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and we're a bit taken back by your referring to our community as a "lower end, fisherman's shanty town." Montauk is indeed a legendary hardworking fishing community which is one of the main attractions and the reason it is iconic in American history . The "Tiki's" which also seem to... More 

Yonkers, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Loved the place, loved the room, loved the location. Service was excellent. Very pricey The heated pool came in handy. 1 1/2 blocks from beach. Perfect for early morning walks as well as walking to town

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review

So very glad you enjoyed your stay including the service we provide. We are always striving to keep the property fresh and looking for better ways to serve our guests. Hope to see you back in 2015 as we have many enhancements for this coming season in both the property and services. More 

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We had a girls weekend here in one of the Bunker Dens. MBH is cute and nicely decorated but a few things fell short...or rather fell apart. Upon arrival our bathroom sink was completely clogged up and the toilet wasn't properly attached (every time you stood up it banged against the wall). We couldn't get the wifi to work. Also,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review

Very glad you enjoyed your stay and we're very sorry about the problems you encountered with the plumbing. We believe we have made some infrastructure improvements that hopefully will address those issues. With regard to the lighting we may have tried too hard to create a more subdued sensual feel to the room and sacrificed some practicality. If you return... More 

West Islip, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

LOVE my weekends... Actualy my Sundays and Mondays and sometimes Tuesdays every week at MBH. Location is great, Rooms are great, mabye a little smaller than I would like but decorated perfectly just wish there was a closet in them but I prob enjoy the bathtub in my bedroom more than I would enjoy the closet so I dont mind!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for great review and we look forward to having you be a guest again. I think you will find upon your return that we have re-adjusted the clothes racks to more easily hang you clothes. Additionally we have added luggage racks to every room to make it easier to unpack, store, and re-pack during your visit. And... More 

Texas City, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Is this a party is this a disco? It's not a hotel you want to stay if your wanting a class experience. The rooms are cold and stark with not a chair. The shower didn't work but a nice guy came to temporarily fix it. Whoever the guy with shorts and fashion T shirt was, I think the owner or... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review

We realize that the experience and atmosphere we offer may not be for everyone and regret that it was not what you were looking for. We try our best to disclose on our website that the hotel has a very active environment especially of the Saturdays which we realize may not have been what you were looking for. As far... More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Brand new hotel rooms. Trendy decor. Modern pool. Perfect location for a weekend in the hamptons. Staff is friendly. It is expensive but you know that's the price for a slice of upper class life in montauk :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review

We're always glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Montauk. We hope to see you again and think you will be pleasantly surprised by the enhancements to both the property and our services that the 2015 season will bring. Again, many thanks for your feedback. More 

Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Montauk Beach House was a very pretty hotel- great lobby, nice pool...BUT. We arrived on a Monday which was 'Industry' Monday where all the people who work in the hospitality industry in MTK are invited to come use the facilities...so music was pumping, pool was packed, and it definitely a high energy atmosphere, not at all appropriate for families.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel's appearance. We do recognize that the experience we offer may not be for everyone and that apparently it wasn't like the Montauk you remember. We have made some changes in our operations and policies for the 2015 season to address some of the concerns you raised. Again, thank you for your... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We liked this hotel particularly for it's location one block from the beach and right next to town and many restaurants. The decor is young, modern and cool which I like. The staff was actually very nice to deal with, though I had read some reviews to the contrary. Negatives: didn't love the poolside music, and the lounges out at... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review

We agree that the hotel is located at an amazing location and we’re glad the positive aspects of your stay seem to have outweighed the negatives. That being said we think you raised some legitimate concerns that we have been busy addressing. For 2015 the pool deck and lounges are being completely refurbished and I think you will find it... More 

New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Everything about this motel was great! Great staff, great rooms, great pool, great location. Only thing not so great was the price per night being almost $700. That said it is peak season but can someone open a motel that allows normal folk a chance to get away from the big smoke without the prices only Wall Street bankers can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We do everything we can to keep the cost reasonable. Might we suggest a visit outside of peak season? May, June and September after Labor Day weekend (especially during weekdays) are excellent times to stay at the hotel. The weather is usually quite nice and the rates tend to be somewhat less... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question