We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 37 Montauk hotels

Sands Motel

South Emery St. and South Emerson Ave., Montauk, NY 11954
Hotel amenities
Sands Motel
Ranked #19 of 37 hotels in Montauk
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    23
    18
    9
    22
See reviews for
30
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We went to Montauk with friends this past August, they chose this place and have stayed their numerous times before, I however was a little hesitant. However when we got there, I was impressed with how clean it was, and the location was perfect, as you could walk to the downtown area so easily. This came in handy since we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at the Sands for 1 night. I like this hotel because they did not have a two night minimum. The room was very clean and the receptionist was very pleasant. It was a short walk to the beach. The price was reasonable but I did stay off season. I would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huntington, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here earlier in September and enjoyed my stay.i realize that it is at the end of the season and kind of expected that not everything would be perfect..part of coming out to Montauk and staying at these little hotels makes Montauk what it is.My first three nights I stayed in one of the upstairs rooms with a balcony.I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I came to town early and decided to stay here for one night because our real hotel was not ready on time. We were desperate so we just went ahead and paid the insanely high rate for a suite (we were told it was the only room available...which it clearly was not), thinking it's on the beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
diane11954, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Dear Robert L, It seems, seeing that you are from the same town and have the same last initial, that your wife also wrote a previous review. As was previously explained, you desperately wanted a room at 8 o'clock in the morning on a Sunday. It was explained to you that the only room available was a suite but you... More

Brightwaters, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very Small room...ours was by the stairs to the second level, and our window backed to the pool area...musty odor to the room...exorbitantly overpriced...If you like sleeping in a moldy closet, this motel is for you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The motel itself is disgusting (stains all over the floors and sheets!)and incredibly over priced!! While across from the beach, it is definitely not worth it's insanely overpriced rooms! My husband and I accidentally thought they allowed dogs and instead of graciously asking us to leave (which we offered) they took our money and then were rude and hostile for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diane11954, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Lynch, We feel the need to address your review. Number one, you NEVER asked if we accepted dogs upon check-in. You arrived at EIGHT A.M. on Sunday morning and said you needed to get into a room IMMEDIATELY. You were told that the only thing open at that point was one of our suites (our most expensive accommodation)... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

After growing up in Montauk and now coming as a visitor I always find it very bittersweet to stay in a hotel. However, The Sands definitely softens the blow. My fiancé and I have stayed every summer for the last several years and have no desire to go elsewhere. The lady at the front desk is always very kind and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
diane11954, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Clancy, Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and are thrilled that we could help you extend your stay for one more day of sunshine!! We look forward to your continued patronage and are so happy that we can "ease your pain" somewhat as a former Montauk resident... More

New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Sands Motel is a good place to stay in Montauk-- it's super close to the beach as well as to town. It's quite modest-- especially if you get one of the regular rooms without a kitcheonette. I have stayed in other motels in Montauk and the rooms were bigger but at least this one was very clean. Just a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
diane11954, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Dear sunshine_d, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are taking your comment re the lights on the balcony under advisement. Regarding the coffee maker - those are provided in the efficiency units. Also, I am assuming you were in the East Wing from your description, so just... More

New Rochelle, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our family had already booked a room for a couple nights at another hotel, and unfortunately they didn't have availability to stay another night. So, we called around to find something similar to what we already had. We came across Sands Motel, and decided to give it a shot. Now, we wish we didn't waste the money on the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
WANTAGH
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My daughter and I arrived a little early for our check in time hoping to get in our room to change for the beach- the front desk lady had a stone face- no greeting whatsoever and asked me to fill out the reservation card- when I said I didn't know my license plate # she insisted we go out to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Motel

Also Known As:
Sands Hotel
Sands Motel Montauk
Sands Hotel Montauk
Address: South Emery St. and South Emerson Ave., Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 hotels in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sands Motel to your Saves list