We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sands Motel

Hotel website
South Emery St. and South Emerson Ave., Montauk, NY 11954
Offers & Announcements
Book family vacation direct for best rate
Sands Motel
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    19
    11
    24
See reviews for
34
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We have stayed at the Sands Motel every summer for 27 years now and for us it really wouldn't be a summer without a weekend or a week at the Sands. The location, literally steps from the beach, the accommodations, which are modern and kept spotlessly clean, and the staff, who are friendly and helpful, make it a perfect spot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
diane11954, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Dear Douglas T, Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you every year and are so pleased that you appreciate how hard we work to keep our accommodations clean. We know how much you appreciate the convenience of being able to park your car once you get here and being able to walk to most... More 

Massapequa, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Stayed here several times, love the location and hotel is what you expect from price in montauk. That said. We don't understand why the staff is rude at times. We understand that they work long hours and have to deal with crap but it is a your livelihood, so just deal. We love your hotel and you guys to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coram, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in June, since we were only staying 1 night we only need a basic room, it was very clean and even had a small fridge. we stayed on the second floor and even had a view of the ocean it was perfect! This past weekend my sister and I decided to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
diane11954, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Dear Doreen M, Thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure having you as our guest again and wonderful to meet your sister. We strive very hard to insure that all of our units are extremely clean. We have a great staff that works very hard towards that goal. We look forward to seeing you in 2015!... More 

Mastic Beach, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

my family and i have been staying here for years, my grandparents stayed here back in the day also. i always call the sands every summer vacation and i always have a good stay and good rates in the summer. the staff has always been nice to me and my family. clean rooms and such a nice view of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
diane11954, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Dear Thomas P, Thank you for your review. We absolutely love having family reunions at our establishment. We have quite a few and it is always a pleasure to see everyone year after year, watching families grow and expand. So sorry about the a/c unit -- had you let us know, we would have replaced it with a brand new... More 

Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

If you can't get another hotel, Sands is "ok"...unfortunately, the women at the front desk are not nice and not accommodating..we could not get our favorite hotel because everything was booked this weekend. Would NOT intentionally stay here. Location great. "Shared" decks... no privacy. Everything closes down..even the main office. No phones in room. Rooms look like "upstate New York"...nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Canaan, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

First of all, Montauk itself is just so awesome! The weather couldn't have been nicer. This is our second stay at the Sands. We stayed on the top floor of a condo that was across the street from the main hotel. We had a nice view of the ocean in the morning. As far as the stay, it was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
diane11954, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, EJZSKIER for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of the suites. The weather was absolutely perfect - September being the best month in Montauk. More 

New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to Montauk for several years and this is the worst experience I have ever had. I booked 3 rooms 2 months in advance having recommended this room to 5 other people based on the fact that I had a friend who stayed here the year before and that it cost $740 for 3 nights during Labor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
diane11954, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Dear NF, To respond to your comments - in your first paragraph you state that your bill was $842 - the bill was actually $846.02 which included the rate you were quoted of $740 total for the three nights plus $86.02 which is the tax rate of 11 5/8% of which we have NO control. There was also a $20... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montauk hotels

New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at this motel two years ago for two nights and decided to come back for my vacation for 6 nights. So conveniently located. Rooms was clean and comfortable. Refrigerator was great. Staff is very friendly. Walk across to the street to the beach, no hassle with parking passes, or use the pool. Maid service excellent and friendly. Can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
diane11954, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Thank you mad4madge for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your second visit with us and looking forward to seeing you again in the future. We appreciate your acknowledging room cleanliness as it is something we strive very hard to attain. More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Staff (Susan) was mean and obnoxious. If you want to be spied on then go. Like being in a prison, you can't even get out of your car to check in and she's standing at your car door making sure you are a guest. Filthy disgusting sheets wallpaper hanging off the wall.The only good thing about this hotel is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Myself, my husband and our 1 year old recently stayed here for 3 nights. Our entire stay was excellent! You can't beat the location - right on the beach and a short walk to the village. We stayed in 2 different rooms due to adding an extra night last minute. The first room was very clean, bed was comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
diane11954, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda S, Thank you so much for taking the time out of, what I am sure is a very busy schedule. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - sorry, though, that you had to experience some inclement weather. We work very hard to insure that our rooms are clean and are always working on improvements. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities