We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Jinja B&Bs / inns

Gately on Nile

Save Saved
You added Gately on Nile to your Saves list
47 Nile Crescent, Jinja, Uganda
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (67)
  • Photos (56)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Gately on Nile
Ranked #9 of 18 Jinja B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jinja
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    3
    1
    7
See reviews for
10
20
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The rooms and meals were excellent,the staff were friendly and efficient.The location is good.right next to the water,but close to town and yet still private.Could not have stayed at a better place for competitive a price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howick, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My last visit to Gately on Nile was to their restaurant and I said I would be back. I left there feeling relaxed, well rested and overwhelmed by the friendliest, most attentative staff and owner herself ever experienced here in Jinja. The most beautiful rooms, decor, delicious food and wonderful bird filled, lush surrounding was tranquillity in its simplest form... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
beersel
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We followed a recommandation from a book. Big mistake. Ok, the place has nice rooms, well furnished, but the 2 cottages we ve been given are outside the main facilities. If you want a drink, an extra towel or wathever, you need to cross the road and go back almost 100 meters and then call someone to open the door... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GatelyUganda, Owner at Gately on Nile, responded to this review

Dear Loiseaum, Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Gately on Nile of which we would like to note a couple of facts regarding your claims. I was on duty when advised a reservation was arriving who were disgruntled with the current Hotel they were booked into (always a red flag alert-possible difficult guest) so we took specific... More

Hilton, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Good experience, cottages across road from main establishment were very comfortable, including unique shower option! Great views over part of Lake Victoria that drains into the Nile. Service in restaurant was slow at times, but food was good. Took long time to check out, but overall experience was comfortable and relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Wow, I also stayed at Gately on Nile last month and I am amazed to see the previous reviews where guests relate such extreme experiences at somewhere I found completely unique and more than lived up to any expectation I had for the money paid. Thankyou Brenda and Edwin who took such good care of me, even rescuing Smokey (... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

When you pay 100 $ for a room in a bed&breakfast you expect an excellent service, but not in this place. It's noisy, i found several hairs in my bed, restaurant takes ages to serve, the views are poor, the staff is ineficient. Considering the so many hostles in the area i strongly don't recommend Gately on Nile.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GatelyUganda, Manager at Gately on Nile, responded to this review

Dear Teseum, We would like to apologise for what seems a string of events that did not act in your favour on this occassion ie. fewer staff due to annual leave and illness with those that covered being less experienced/trained on a busy night with a full house and restaurant. Should you wish to reconsider we will ensure you receive... More

Frederiksberg, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I had looked forward to visit Gately on the Nile again. We had been there some 12 years ago and remembered the beautiful old villa and the park, which stretched down to the Nile But what a disappointment! The charming villa had been abandoned and the hotel had been moved to a less than average standard lodge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GatelyUganda, Manager at Gately on Nile, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Gately on Nile and we appreciate the fact you were looking forward to your stay. we are however disappointed that you feel we did not measure up to your expected 'standards'. Yes it has been 12 years (very successfully ongoing) and I feel that your statement 'the charming villa had been abandoned and the hotel had... More

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is quite a luxurious guesthouse, in comparison to what I saw in the area, on the edge of the Nile (but no access to the river). While there are no water views from the actual guestrooms, a walk along the road gives you a chance to see the beauty of the river. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch. There are no water views from the main restaurant, which was a disappointment, but the main house and surrounding gardens are beautifully done, with comfy sofa areas and seating tastefully laid out. Free wifi worked as well as you can expect over here. Comprehensive Western-style menu. Good burger, and their juices are fresh and delicious, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a neat place, the rooms sit up high and you look out at sunrise on the Nile, the food is yummy (but service is very slow), there is free wifi, staff is very friendly. Only negative are the barking dogs at night, they are loud and woke us up more than once. Also bring your own shampoo, only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gately on Nile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gately on Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gately on Nile

Address: 47 Nile Crescent, Jinja, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Eastern Region > Jinja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gately on Nile offers Luxurious Accommodation on two separate properties by the lake side in Jinja town. The British built bungalow home houses the Reception, Restaurant and five well appointed en-suite bedrooms finished to the usual warm yet rustic, elegant Gately standard. Across the road is a new property offering a main house (of 2 en-suite bedrooms) uniquely built from local rock, large glass windows with high raked ceilings giving a huge sense of space and shingle tile roof keeping all so cool sitting opposite the lake. Accompanied on this site are two double storied cottages offering a quaint living area downstairs and a log cabin bedroom, balcony accommodation upstairs including Gately's renowned classic pebble shower room. This property offers the most expansive water views and constant lake breeze in Jinja town. Relax in the thatched bandas of tranquil grounds surrounded by exotic fauna and flora all absorbed adjacent the waters of Lake Victoria. Gately houses a stunning Continental Restaurant with an additional authentic Thai menu not found elsewhere in Uganda. This plus great internet, office and laundry services, warm and friendly staff all make you feel completely at home in such creative, casual and rustic elegance with Gately celebrating 13 successful years of business in Uganda 2013. 'Relax, you're at Home!'.... ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gately on Nile staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer