We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nile River Camp

Certificate of Excellence
Bujagali Falls, Jinja 9999, Uganda
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jinja
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Nile River Camp
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

NRE was well worth the visit. It was very nice to have the Nile right beside us so on a hot lazy day we could just jump in and cool off. They also have a zip line and kayak ramp which is lots of fun. Staff were friendly. The downsides were that the restaurant is extremely expensive without many options,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kmolz
ManagerNileRiverCamp, Manager at Nile River Camp, responded to this review

Hi Kmolz, As you mention in your comment, you stayed at NRE (Nile River Explorers) and not with us at NRC (Nile River Camp)! Glad you enjoyed the Nile though! Mary - Manager, Nile River Camp More 

Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Nile River Camp is a great camping site : the place is beautiful, the view very soothing, and it offers a swimming pool, clean showers, hot water, for a very affordable price. The food is excellent, and the managers are great people. I totally recommend this place, would go back there any time :)

Helpful?
Thank EleonoreM38
ManagerNileRiverCamp, Manager at Nile River Camp, responded to this review

Hi Eleonore! Thank you very much for your kind words about Nile River Camp. So glad you had a good time and enjoyed your stay! All the best, Mary. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is beautiful and the staff are wonderful. However the manager is rude and borderline racist to Ugandans. When she speaks to the white patrons her personality is completely different. She needs a real lesson in etiquette. I went with a group of friends and at one point she made us feel like we were less that because we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harriet S
ManagerNileRiverCamp, Manager at Nile River Camp, responded to this review

Hi Harriet, I am the manager that was on duty when you visited. I am sorry that this is your opinion of my management skills. We were delighted to host your group, or any group of people, who wish to camp, stay in dorms or in our safari tents. I am also young and very much like to party, especially... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed here every weekend for a month while working with a local charity. The accommodation may be basic but it has everything you need. All the staff were really lovely and the location was brilliant; the bar looks out over a beautiful view of the Nile, with best sunset I've ever seen!

Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
ManagerNileRiverCamp, Manager at Nile River Camp, responded to this review

Hi Lucy, thanks for taking the time to write about our backpackers! Delighted you could chill out here and enjoy the pretty epic sunset! Mary. More 

Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Well, I'm pretty much just going to expand on the title to get my 200 minimum characters in... I stayed in a safari tent and the view was b-e-a-utiful. It's so nice to wake up and see the morning unfolding on the Nile right in front of you. There's a great area to swim/zipline/paddleboard where the current won't make you... More 

Helpful?
Thank outwest15
ManagerNileRiverCamp, Manager at Nile River Camp, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write, although it sounds very similiar the place you are describing is our neighbouring camp :) Kind regards, Nile River Camp Management. More 

Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

We came here on a school trip and had a fantastic time. Staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful, looking after our bags while we went out into the bush. Food is good quality and drinks are cheap. DSTV is also great for watching sports fixtures. We stayed in the fixed tents which were lovely, and dorms also did a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ali M
ManagerNileRiverCamp, Manager at Nile River Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about us! We delighted our camp suited the trip. Your group was really easy to deal with. Hope you enjoyed the onward trip to Murchison. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

stayed here on the way back from Bwindi and it does what the title suggests! A vast array of adrenaline activities centred around rafting at differing levels plus a booze cruise followed by DJ with staff who are friendly and courteous. As a stop off location it's fantastic for the young (or young at heart thrill seekers!). If you want... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben_Houghton78
ManagerNileRiverCamp, Manager at Nile River Camp, responded to this review

Hi Ben, Thanks for going to the effort of providing a review, however I am pretty sure you did not stay with us here at Nile River Camp. It sounds like you stayed next door! More 

Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

This place is cool. And when i say cool i mean that literally. Green allover the place, big trees, garden, monkeys, river view, lounge...epic nights, bonfires, chill music. Name it they got it. I love spending mornings,afternoons and evenings here...did i mention they have a pool? yaaaaaassss!

Helpful?
Thank KingArtha
ManagerNileRiverCamp, Manager at Nile River Camp, responded to this review

Hi King Artha! Great name! Thank you for taking the time to review our camp. We're very happy that you loved it. Come and hang out again soon :) More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

I was staying in Mbale on a 12 week placement and staying at Nile River Camp was our mid placement getaway as a treat to relax and reflect. We were in a dorm of six and the bunk beds were very comfy (after six weeks of no pillow, anything is!) and we had incense sticks to keep away mosquitos. There's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellis C
ManagerNileRiverCamp, Manager at Nile River Camp, responded to this review

Ellis, great to hear that you loved our camp! Thank you for taking the time to write about us. The rope swing is serious fun isnt' it?! Management, Nile River Camp. More 

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

The camp provided hot showers, and delicious food for a reasonable price. However, apart from the main restaurant/bar area offers very few places to sit and enjoy the view of the lake. I booked a tent with a view. Unfortunately the first two tents I looked at did not have a view. One tent didn't have working lights--and when I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah M
ManagerNileRiverCamp, General Manager at Nile River Camp, responded to this review

Hi Deborah, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, however I am sure you did not stay with us. We don't have any steps or a massage area at Nile River Camp. Maybe have a look at our photos to confirm. Otherwise we are happy that you enjoyed the serenity of Bujagali Lake! Kind regards, Management, Nile... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jinja
0.0 mi away
Jinja Nile Resort
Jinja Nile Resort
#3 of 5 in Jinja
3.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#3 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
5.3 mi away
Brisk Hotel Triangle
Brisk Hotel Triangle
#4 of 5 in Jinja
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Wildwaters Lodge
Wildwaters Lodge
#2 of 18 in Jinja
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
4.1 mi away
Source Of The Smile Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holland Park
Holland Park
#1 of 18 in Jinja
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities