We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Pemba Island accommodations

Kervan Saray Beach Lodge

Save
You added Kervan Saray Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Physical: Plot 29, Makangale Village, Tanzania
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Kervan Saray Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    32
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
58
31
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great experience, great people, relaxed and loving nature. A place where as well you could go Solo and enjoy it 100%. At the north of Pemba, quite apart of anywhere and perfect diving with not other boats and divers around in an amazing place with stoning Coral and Fish life.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nungwi, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Visited Pemba for a 5 day diving holiday. Kervan Saray Lodge is located in beautiful settings, which creates a real magical feel to it. It is very remote, but that is the charm of the resort. The only sounds you will hear are the natural ones, the sea, birds, bushbabies which brings a nice calm to the place The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
turkishraf, Director at Kervan Saray Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Malou A, Thank you so much for your review of Swahili Divers and the Kervan Saray Beach Lodge. It is so heartening to hear that the team looked after you in my absence. You are absolutely correct we are a simple and basic establishment with large cool rooms and Kevin is a gem in the dive centre. The fact... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Recently visited Kervan Saray Beach Lodge for dive/stay package, owners are very kind and knowledgeable with good staff on hand. Island is beautiful and great diving to be had. Recommend walking up lighthouse with local guide. Good food at fair value. For any traveller looking to get back to nature.

Was this review helpful? Yes
turkishraf, Director at Kervan Saray Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lucas, Thank you for your short but succinct review of the Kervan Saray Beach lodge and Swahili divers. I remember diving with you and the chats that we had on the deck after the diving - and I can assure you it was a pleasure to dive with you. I can only hope we will see you again in... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Travelled as a couple, overall a mixed experience. Rooms are basic, with bedroom and bathroom open to the environment (keep your luggage closed to avoid stowaways :) ). We were in a double room which was amply spacious. Linens were generally clean and mosquito net in the room appeared intact. Power was on for an hour or so in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
turkishraf, Director at Kervan Saray Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear CC, Thank you for your review of the Kervan Saray and Swahili Divers. Your review is an honest précis of the services we offer. We are a clean simple lodge with an excellent NAUI dive centre. You are correct our dive equipment is all properly maintained and serviceable. However I always recommend that people bring their own dive gear... More 

Chico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

This resort has so much potential but unfortunately the owner has been penny wise and pound foolish and really allowed the place to go downhill. The paint is peeling, the ceiling fans do not work in any of the rooms, the mosquito nets have huge holes in them, the pool is dirty and not useable, the scuba equipment is old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
turkishraf, Managing Director at Kervan Saray Beach Lodge, responded to this review

This is a false and malicious review written by a new member of staff who was on probation. For reasons that I will not mention in the public domain, his probation was not confirmed. Just in case a formal refutation is needed: 1. It is a matter of fact that all our mosquito nets have been replaced one month ago.... More 

Xcalak, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Recently returned from Kervan Saray Beach Lodge and Swahili Divers for the IV'th time and want to update my previous review from last year. Absolutely amazing,is the consistency of the diving, food and accommodations from year to year. Once again I am at home planing the next visit back in February or March of next year. This year we saw... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
turkishraf, Director at Kervan Saray Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Miguel81, It is always such a pleasure to have you come back and visit us. The greatest compliment anyone can pay us is to return and dive it all again. What we all find so special are your stories of diving in the Gulf of Mexico and in the Caribbean. We do look forward to hosting you again in... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

After being on the road for three long weeks I gladly welcomed the laid back peace and quiet of Kervan Saray. We were collected from the airport and arrived after about and hour and a half. Our room was simply furnished with a large platform bed and huge mosquito net and serviced daily. The bathrooms were open to the outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
turkishraf, Director d at Kervan Saray Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Wanderingdawn, Thank you for taking the time to review the Kervan Saray beach lodge. We so appreciate it, when people do find time to write such long and detailed reviews. We were exceptionally busy during your vijay, but I remember sitting and chatting to you late I to the evenings. I promise you that we'll make a diver of... More 

Snohomish, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We just returned from an all-too-brief stay at Kervan Saray Lodge. This has to be one of the most remote locations we have ever visited, about a 1.5 hour drive from the Pemba airstrip to the north end of the island. The lodge is composed of several thatched-roof bungalows, an open-air dining/bar/lounge and an office/dive shop. Located right on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
turkishraf, Director at Kervan Saray Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Al, Thank you for your overwhelmingly positive review of the Kervan Saray and Swahili Divers. I am only sorry that I could not meet you and dive with you personally as I had to attend the DEMA dive show in the US. I also take on board all of your comments- and amongst other things- have had Rueben check... More 

Munich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We just returned from Pemba after 11nights at Kervan Saray and 8 days double tank diving with the Swahili Divers, which belong to the resort. We choosed Pemba for a scuba diving location cause its said, that diving there is amongst the top of the world. We both are advanced divers with over 130 dives allover the world. The owners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
turkishraf, Director at Kervan Saray Beach Lodge, responded to this review

This review relates to a period in the past at Swahili Divers. It mimics a previous review posted here. As I have said before- The Dive Manager's performance was not up to par. The General Manger fired him on the spot. As the reader can see from our even more recent reviews the Kervan Saray and Swahili Divers are back... More 

Dahab
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Me and my boyfriend spent at Swahili divers two amazing weeks just at the beginning of small raining season. Diving was absolutely amazing, same as place itself. We would definitely like to come back soon. Kervan Saray Beach Lodge, more known as Swahili divers, is a place to visit. Located in the end of the beach, between traditional African villages,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
turkishraf, Director at Kervan Saray Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Dear KristinaEgypt, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am very very happy that our team ed after your wry need. Yes our national staff do sometimes have difficulty understanding rapid English,but when you were as patient as you were- they always come through shining, The rooms are cleaned daily, and yes after you drag... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kervan Saray Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kervan Saray Beach Lodge

Address: Physical: Plot 29, Makangale Village, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

202 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Kervan Saray Beach Lodge

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby