We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Second Beach Road | Wildcoast, Port St Johns 5120, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Amapondo to your Saves list
Amapondo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
76%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
leandrae88 Bern, Switzerland
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    20
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
5
36
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location and the houses are beautiful. There is a practical selfcatering kitchen. The most of the staff is nice. However, I think the prices for activities are to high and you could explore a lot by your own. For my taste it is to alternative with some strange people. The credit card machine was not working and therefore we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in a self-contained cottage for two nights. The cottage was basic but cosy and had a beautiful view over the beach. Unfortunately we didn't sleep well either night as there were parties at the hostel and the music was really loud until the early hours of the morning. The dorms and communal areas looked a bit scummy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful place! Beautiful people! and very good vibes. Once you get there it's difficult to leave. I must say that staying in Amapondo it's one of the best experiences in my life...the location is amazing and the cultural experience as well. One of the best places to stay in the amazing Transkei.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. Yes, it is such a beautiful place! This morning the sun is shining, the weather is still and warm, there are so many birds around, and the monkeys are playing right in front of the restaurant. Good vibes, good people. I am so glad that Amapondo touched you so closely. None of us can... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent one night in one of the self catering cabins. You can't get better than this, it felt like we were at a hotel!! Super comfy beds, stunning views, right on the beach, friendly staff and the most delicious food available all day. Hammocks and other comfy places to lie in the common areas. Port St. John's itself is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo, responded to this review

Fantastic. That's what I like to hear. Glad you had such a SUPER time. Looking forward to having you back.... More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Service was ok, reasonably friendly staff. We stayed in a chalet and it was comfy except for the hideous pillows. Instead of all the dream catchers hanging on the walls a few decent hooks would come in handy. The location overlooks 2nd Beach (sort of) - it is on a hill so getting to our chalet meant climbing a million... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo, responded to this review

Thanks for your email. Glad you enjoyed the staff. We pride ourselves on our very friendly staff. If you stayed in one of our chalets, you would have been lucky to enjoy that beautiful view. Although its a bit of a walk up (precisely 32 steps), its worth the view. Sorry about the pillows. You should have come down to... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Whether you want a quiet relaxing break and your own piece of paradise with stunning views of second beach (check out one of the uniquely designed and perfectly situated cottages), a base from which to explore the natural beauty in the area which is incredible, opportunities for adventure on one of the many tours, interactions with locals and genuine cultural... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo, responded to this review

Thanks for such a great review. It really makes me (and all my staff) so happy to read such positive feedback. We have a staff meeting this Friday, and I will proudly read out your comments to all our staff. We all go to so much effort to ensure that everyone has a good time. Its sometimes difficult to please... More

Pohang, South Korea
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We really enjoyed the campsite and facilities and it's in a stunning area. Easy directions, nice location and great place. Thanks for a great stay. Very easy-going vibe. Nice and chilled, interesting people and friendly staff. Not luxury accommodation but really great for people on a tighter budget

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo, responded to this review

I'm so glad you had such a great time. We do live in a stunning area, and we strive to create a fun and chilled vibe. Our staff are extremely friendly and all enjoy being part of the magic here. If you are looking for luxury accommodation, check out our unique cottages. Situated at the top of the premises, with... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I agree with the comments written 4 December, 2013 - this accommodation is dirty! I feel sorry for the cleaner who has to clean up the mess not only made the guest but also by the staff! There was a poker game taking place - there was no consideration for the guests- the game continued to the early hours of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo, responded to this review

jetsetjan2014 London, United Kingdom 1 review “Horrendous” 1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW I'm really sorry you had a bad experience. Its a shame you felt it was dirty here. Our cleaners do work hard, and the staff are obviously not meant to make a mess, so its strange you say that. We offer poker on Sunday... More

Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Amapondo is well located in Port St Johns. Walking distance to waterfall, blowhole, second and third beach and more. We were camping and loved it. They have a cute donkey making his rounds in the backpackers which makes you feel the true vibe of the place. My parents stayed in a room that was clean, spacious and comfortable. The parties... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo, responded to this review

Glad you had such a good time. We have lots of great activities, great food, some party nights that can get crazy - people love to party here, and of course a very cute donkey called 'Donkilizwe'. Please come again, you are very welcome. More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a great time at Amapondo. It was my personal favourite, great time of my life... Had a great welcoming, awesome party, breathtaking adventures. The camp site had a view to die for! I can't wait to visit again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amapondo, Owner at Amapondo, responded to this review

FANTASTIC !!! We loved you being here too and can't wait for you to come back. More

Been to Amapondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amapondo

Also Known As:
Amapondo Hotel
Amapondo Hotel Port St Johns
Address: Second Beach Road | Wildcoast, Port St Johns 5120, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port St Johns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty lodging in Port St Johns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amapondo rests on a hill just across from the Beach. Boasting breathtaking views, Amapondo is known for its VIBEY ATMOSPHERE, SCRUMPTIOUS FOOD, BUZZING BAR, PRIVATE SELF-CATERING COTTAGES, and wide variety of THINGS TO DO. We are proudly passionate about Pondo Culture and would love you to experience it too. Born and bred in the area, our FRIENDLY PONDO STAFF bubble over with Pondo-licious ideas to keep you entertained. Stay longer and get involved with our Community Volunteer Programs. WARNING: The ground beats with rhythm and soul - the magnetic energy soaks into your skin – and you’re guaranteed to catch ‘Pondo Fever’ and not want to leave.We love FANCY DRESS. FREE DRINK if you contribute to our BOX.Stuff to do: Yoga, Meditation, Massage, Horse Riding, Cultural Tours, Sacred Mud Caves, Waterfall hikes, Canoeing, Mountain Biking, Boat trips, 4X4 Trails, Drumming, Xhosa cooking lessons, Live Music, Fire shows, Party nights FREE Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Amapondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amapondo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.