We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Hotel website
Hotel deals
5828 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Review This Hotel

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    47
    33
    10
    11
See reviews for
47
26
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Considering that we were staying two nights and our main purpose was to hit the slopes and town, we had no complaints. The room was large and spacious. We didn't anticipate a free breakfast, which was provided. Some people have complained about the selection but I had no issues. Pretty standard stuff: cereal, fruits, pancakes, english muffins, juice, coffee. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just checked in. I realize you get what you pay for, but seeing that we had more snow in Boston than they did here, I'd expect they would at least attempt to shovel the lot. The bathroom is dusty and hairy. Really? It makes me nervous about surfaces not so visible. If not for our family all here, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this hotel had comfortable rooms and was much more affordable than the hotels in town. The hot tub was very nice as was the pool. many hotels overheat the hot tub and under heat the pool. but both of these amenities were great. the staff was kind and allowed us to check in an hour early. the breakfast was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

I stayed at the Econolodge for the second year in a row during February break with my son and his snowboarding buddies. The great value of this hotel allowed us to book 2 rooms for the price of 1 at most of the other area hotels for the vacation week. Econolodge offers most of the same amenities as the pricier... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Milford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We were traveling with children. Our room had a broken window, large diagonal crack, that was repaired with clear packing tape. Our coffee maker did not work and the mattresses were not back friendly. However the room was clean and the staff were very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saugerties, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

This is a great place to stay in the Lake Placid area. The rooms are clean and neat with plenty of room for stashing your extra winter gear, securely. Yes the décor is a bit retro - but even better are the retro room rates! Very reasonable. Amenities include an indoor poor and hot tub. We didn't use it, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kstudwell, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We use all of the comments to improve any way we can. I will share your review with all of the employees who work to make your great stay... More 

Waterville, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

This hotel price is the best thing about the place. The building can best be described as 'tired' but it is generally clean. Heating system sounds like a jet plane taking off. Televisions are circa 1985. Keyed entry took about 15 swipes to finally work. We had a problem with one room which was handled very poorly by both the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kstudwell, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the problem you had during your recent stay. We strive to make all of out guests happy and are sorry we let you down. We hope you will give us another chance when your travels bring you back to our area More 

Forestville, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014 via mobile

The management was amazing at this hotel! We weren't able to make it on our first night booked and the management was so great and helped us out! The hotel was perfect for what we needed and fair prices for a Lake Placid hotel (all expensive). The rooms and pool area were clean and tidy. Yes, the rooms ARE outdated,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kstudwell, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us, it is always nice to hear that our guests have has a great stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in the area. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I had to cancel a night after the deadline had passed because members of our group were delayed coming in. The staff and management were very cooperative and understanding of the predicament and allowed us to reduce down to one night. Thank you so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Arden, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We got off to a bad start when we checked the sheets which seemed less than fresh, the presence of human hairs was not encouraging. We were offered a new room but it became clear that overall standards were less than impressive. The next day the coffee maker wasn't checked or dirty cups removed. The location isn't too bad and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question