We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Lake Placid

2.0 of 5 5828 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    44
    32
    10
    10
See reviews for
45
26
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Saugerties, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great place to stay in the Lake Placid area. The rooms are clean and neat with plenty of room for stashing your extra winter gear, securely. Yes the décor is a bit retro - but even better are the retro room rates! Very reasonable. Amenities include an indoor poor and hot tub. We didn't use it, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kstudwell, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We use all of the comments to improve any way we can. I will share your review with all of the employees who work to make your great stay... More 

Waterville, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel price is the best thing about the place. The building can best be described as 'tired' but it is generally clean. Heating system sounds like a jet plane taking off. Televisions are circa 1985. Keyed entry took about 15 swipes to finally work. We had a problem with one room which was handled very poorly by both the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kstudwell, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the problem you had during your recent stay. We strive to make all of out guests happy and are sorry we let you down. We hope you will give us another chance when your travels bring you back to our area More 

Forestville, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

The management was amazing at this hotel! We weren't able to make it on our first night booked and the management was so great and helped us out! The hotel was perfect for what we needed and fair prices for a Lake Placid hotel (all expensive). The rooms and pool area were clean and tidy. Yes, the rooms ARE outdated,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kstudwell, General Manager at Econo Lodge Lake Placid, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us, it is always nice to hear that our guests have has a great stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in the area. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I had to cancel a night after the deadline had passed because members of our group were delayed coming in. The staff and management were very cooperative and understanding of the predicament and allowed us to reduce down to one night. Thank you so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Arden, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We got off to a bad start when we checked the sheets which seemed less than fresh, the presence of human hairs was not encouraging. We were offered a new room but it became clear that overall standards were less than impressive. The next day the coffee maker wasn't checked or dirty cups removed. The location isn't too bad and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tionesta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

extremely small room where you check in and eat the ocntinental breakfast. The Continental was cereal, mufins, OJ, Coffee and milk as the titel implies.Do not expect much and you will not be disappointed. Motel staff at desk were pretty good. The room was clean and needed some work for refurbishing. Air conditioner was on full blast but did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in August 2014. For $60 something bucks a night you cannot go wrong. If you do not need all of the usual amenities you will be happy here. I travel a lot for work and usually stay in 4-5 star hotels. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was clean. The carpets and furniture could definitely use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

It was my first time visiting Lake Placid NY I rented a room at the Econolodge for my son and I when we got in our rooms at the end of our evening out ,we opened up our bed and found that the sheets were covered in yellow stains , so I called front desk and the VERY YOUNG desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The staff are very pleasant.The bed sheets and bathroom were clean (even tho the sheets were too small for the bed)The halls and bedroom carpets should have been cleaned years ago.The chairs were also stained.The outside could stand a good pressure cleaning and paint.The pool area looked OK.The breakfast room in the basement reminded me of a dungeon and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Courtice, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

For the price this place is good. It is just outside of downtown Lake Placid. Has an indoor pool (that I did not see, so I cannot speak of its quality), and a continental breakfast included. Rooms ain't bad, I would recommend however not going to Lake Placid on the Canadian Civic Long Weekend due to the Lacrosse tournament that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lake Placid

Address: 5828 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lake Placid 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Econolodge Lake Placid
Lake Placid Econo Lodge

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay