We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Offers & Announcements
Spring BOGO Sale
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    278
    80
    38
    19
See reviews for
270
326
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (792)
  • Mar-May only
    (131)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (269)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (244)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (148)
All months
Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When I booked this room I really didn't look too hard at past reviews, but at the fact that they would take our 100lb dog. I called directly as I couldnt figure out how to book a dog friendly room. The man on the phone was a great help and got us a beautiful lake side room. If you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kim W, Thank you for your great review of the Golden Arrow. I’m very glad you were able to enjoy your stay with your dog. As a dog owner myself, I know what it’s like to have to leave your fur baby behind when traveling. It’s always better when you are able to bring them along so I’m glad... More 

New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been coming to the Golden Arrow for close to 10 years. We come as a family and usually meet friends there as well. Nothing beats the location and amenities. From the beach to the boats, the amazing view, the Golden Arrow has it all. Winter too - skating, outdoor fires and more! We love the 1st level walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Gennrain, Thank you for returning to the Golden Arrow year after year! We truly appreciate your loyalty. It’s so wonderful to hear that we’ve been able to upgrade and enhance your experience every time you stay with us; that is what we are constantly striving for. You painted a beautiful picture in your review for future guests. It’s great to... More 

River Edge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a few days in Lake Placid, and stayed at Golden Arrow on Mirror Lake. Yes, I do recommend this location for couples, families, friends while in Lake Placid. Our room was on the fourth floor, which is street level, and it was a generous size, with balcony overlooking Mirror Lake. Beautiful vistas! The indoor pool was quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear dramom, Thank you very much for your fantastic review of the Golden Arrow and recommendation. It’s wonderful to read that you appreciated the size and beautiful views your guest room offered. I’s also happy to hear you enjoyed hanging out in Generations. I do hope you will stay with us again, possibly in the summer. The view of the... More 

Paterson, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to Lake Placid in hope of getting some fresh air and enjoying the picturesque views of the Adirondack Mountains. The hotel was clean and well cared. It is overlooking the Mirror Lake. The beds were comfortable and they had firm pillows so, if those soft hotel pillows were killing your necks like they used to do to mine,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear Zenan S, Thank you for your review of the Golden Arrow. It was great to read that you enjoyed the location of our resort as well as our comfortable beds and pillows. I was surprised to hear about your personal experience with the people you encountered around town during your stay. I will admit that the town of Lake... More 

New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here in early April and loved the room with balcony overlooking mirror lake! Very clean etc and great staff at front desk. However the young people in the room next door were very loud and we could hear them talking/yelling thru the night. The walls are paper thin which is the problem. Should have called front desk to complain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

NewJerseyReviewer, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Golden Arrow. It’s great to hear that you loved your guest room’s balcony overlooking the lake and enjoyed our front desk staff. I apologize that you were able to hear the guests in the room next to yours. I do wish you would have let the staff know... More 

Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Golden Arrow is a great place but overpriced, as is all of Lake Placid. Don't get me wrong, Lake Placid is beautiful and we will return there someday but was our room worth $230 a night, no!! We had a problem from the beginning. We were held up at check in because the hotel had allowed so many people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Joanne S, Thank you for your review. I’m glad you find Lake Placid to be beautiful and the Golden Arrow to be great. I apologize that you were unhappy with your quality of stay based on the price you paid. I would suggest maybe coming midweek as the rates are much less expensive and the resort is quieter so you... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Drafted ice air in the "deluxe" room ,cold to dog sleep even on his pillow . And no place to walk except street level or frozen lake surface . For human stay - too much noise and poor quality of bed sets , couldn't sleep

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Lavalette M, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Golden Arrow. I apologize that you and your dog didn’t find our accommodations comfortable. I am surprised you didn’t like our beds as we usually get very good comments on them, we actually often get requests for the name if the company we get them from... More 

Plattsburgh, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Golden Arrow Resort, the Casecade Suite to be exact, this past weekend with a group of 7 of us for the ECAC hockey tournament. What a beautiful place and a beautiful room. Everything was spotless and appointed just right. There are a lot of options in Lake Placid for shopping/nightlife/food/drink etc etc and the Golden Arrow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

newco113, Thank you for your great review of the Golden Arrow. I’m very glad your group enjoyed staying in the Cascade Suite and that you booked it again for next year! Being out largest Suite, Cascade gives you a lot of privacy and conveniences that some of the other rooms can’t offer. Thank you again for the review and recommendation!... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here in February 2015 on a Church trip. I hate the cold and never left the property. Hotel has a nice gym; indoor pool was really nice with hot tubs, sauna, steam room. Massages available on premises too. Food was decent. Service in the dining room was slow, at best. They said it was because it was Valentine's Day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear angespin57, I’m very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Lake Placid despite the freezing temps. Thank you for your compliments on our amenities and winter activates in general. You should definitely come and stay with us this summer. It is a completely different place; we have a private beach on the lake with kayaks, canoes, etc. that... More 

St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a room at th Golden Arrow for 2 nights with a Groupon. The price was right and the location of the hotel was perfect, near shopping and restaurants. The bed was comfortable but the room was a little dated and somewhat noisy (you could hear conversations in the next room and people taking a bath). Breakfast was included but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear AlbertaNat, Thank you for your review of the Golden Arrow. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our location and amenities. I apologize that you didn’t enjoy your breakfast at Generations, I was a bit surprised as we usually get many compliments on our breakfast service, but I will let our restaurant manager know of your complaint. I sincerely... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

679 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (241)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
View from room (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
2:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (73)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (383)
Viewed
Amenities (54)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Full Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (22)
Viewed
Lakeside Suite (78)
Viewed
Panther Suite (87)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question