We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Lake Placid hotels

Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Golf Package
Save Saved
You added Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
84%
Ranked #6 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
ANorp New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (643)
  • Photos (248)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (2)
  • Room tips (224)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    232
    68
    35
    16
See reviews for
237
245
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband, three year old daughter and I just returned from our first vacation to Lake Placid, where we stayed three nights at the Golden Arrow. We had an amazing family vacation! Yes, per other reviews, the Golden Arrow is a bit dated. But it is clean, and well kept, with comfortable beds, spacious bathrooms, and great, friendly staff. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear ANorp, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Golden Arrow with your family this summer. It’s great to hear from someone who stayed on the Village side of the resort; I think being as far set back from the street as we are really helps cut down on noise. Thank you for your nice compliments on our clean... More

Stafford, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great Hotel, location and service! Had a lakefront room and hated leaving it. Even though the surrounding cafes and eateries offered a variety of food, we preferred take out and eating on our balcony. The view was incredible, the evenings were peaceful interrupted only by the enchanting sounds of loons.Our stay was over Memorial Day week-end so the connected restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear marrasan, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Golden Arrow. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your lake side guest room, I’m glad you enjoyed the sound of the loons. I love that from the lakeside of the hotel you feel like you’re far from civilization but, it’s actually just right out the front door, a... More

Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Golden Arrow in early July. Unfortunately the room we booked in early February had some issues so we were unable to stay in the room we wanted. The staff was very apologetic and moved us to a suite which was gorgeous. I would highly recommend staying here they have a great pool, beach and restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Jagger2006, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Golden Arrow. I also apologize that there were issues with your originally booked room, but am glad we were able to accommodate you to your satisfaction after that. We strive to make our guests as happy as possible while staying here so I’m thankful it worked out... More

Drums
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I recently stayed at the GA for our anniversary. We were pleasantly greeted by the desk clerks with a complimentary bottle of wine from the fingerlake region and a gift bag. Our room was upgraded from our previous reservation to a room that overlooked the lake. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony each morning enjoying our coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear Karla D, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Golden Arrow. I’m thrilled that you are your husband enjoyed you anniversary get-a-way. It sounds like you really enjoyed your lake side guest room, our friendly staff, and private beach on Mirror Lake. I also love walking the 2.7 mile loop around the lake; there are so... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I celebrated my birthday this past weekend and had an excellent time. When I made our reservation, I specifically requested a room on an upper level floor. The Golden Arrow staff not only accommodated the request, but when we walked into the room there was a bottle of wine and a goody bag with a notecard, signed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear K8egirl, Happy belated birthday; I’m glad we were able to happy your day extra special. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your spacious lake front guest room and that you will stay with us again! Thank you for writing your review and sharing your experience. I hope to meet you next time you are in the area. I... More

Thornwood, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Last minute booking in Lake Placid, we were pleasantly surprised at the great location and layout of the Golden Arrow. The hotel is nicely tucked into the heart of the main tourist area yet we never felt like we were anything but relaxed and at ease in the space. The beach access on Mirror Lake is absolutely gorgeous and our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear Debbie R, I’m very glad you and your family enjoyed your last minute getaway to Lake Placid. It wonderful that your kids were able to take advantage of our beach and boats; they are the prefect age for that! I also love the Wolfjaw Suite; it’s spacious and private, without putting you too far at all from all of... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall our stay here was very good and we would come back. This is not a luxury hotel/resort by any means, so don't expect it to be. However, the fact that they are right on the lake, have various lake equipment (canoes, kayaks, paddle boats, etc.), and indoor pool (comes in handy in the rain) and are well located are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Hello Mark G, I believe you also reviewed us on Yelp so I will leave you a similar comment here, thank you so much for reviewing us both places, you’re great! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, especially our beach, complimentary boats on Mirror Lake, and indoor pool. I apologize that you received unsatisfactory service at the front desk during... More

Putnam Valley, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

good location, within walking distance to the town of Lake Placid, plus restaurant on property. the decor is lovely and suits the area's character. the reception staff, as well as the service staff friendly and helpful. the lake/beach view of the Echo Suite room 200, where we stayed for 4 nites, was lovely but could have been better if it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear doubletrip, Thank you very much for your review of the Golden Arrow. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our location, décor, friendly staff, free parking, and the Echo Specialty Room. I apologize about the disturbances in your sleep due to noise from the beach. Being on the 2nd floor can sometime cause this, especially during the summer months.... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had never been to Lake Placid when we played a long weekend over the MLK holiday. We picked the PERFECT location. The Golden Arrow is right in the center of the super-cute and quaint "town" and you can walk everywhere. Best of all it is set right on Mirror Lake, which is cleared for ice skating. They had several... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear PointsWellTaken, Your review made me excited for winter, which believe me, as summer is coming to an end, is not an easy task! During the summer months, with so many beach activities happening, it’s easy to forget the winter wonderland that Lake Placid and the Golden Arrow turns in to. Thank you for sharing your family’s experience, I appreciate... More

Plainview, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Golden Arrow for 3 nights in early August. View from our room was beautiful.....overlooking the lake. Room was clean and people at front desk were nice. We would definitely go back. Loved the fact that they had a special parking spot for hybrid cars (since we have one). Unfortunately, there was always a van there (Not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review

Dear LGK0626, Thank you for reviewing the Golden Arrow. It’s wonderful hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view of Mirror Lake from you guest room. I apologize that you were not able to park in the hybrid spot while you were here. The van you mentioned belongs to a guest that has stayed here every year for over 20 years.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

248 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (194)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (22)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
2:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Lake Placid with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Green Hotel in Lake Placid #2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid #3 Family Hotel in Lake Placid #5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid #5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
166

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 days ago
11 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer