We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Lake Placid B&Bs / inns

Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge

2169 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (73)
  • Photos (36)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge
Ranked #3 of 17 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    6
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
41
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Paradox for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were wonderful - delicious scrambled or fried eggs (with one additional choice each day of pancakes or French toast), toast, potatoes, unlimited coffee and tea. Each breakfast started with a delicious fresh fruit cup and was different each day. We enjoyed our breakfast each day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The free canoe/kayak usage after a wonderful breakfast just made our stay even better. Would highly recommend staying here. Our bed was super comfortable and all amenities were taken care of. There is no TV in the room which was fine by us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cortland, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at Cedar Lodge with my valentine for our anniversary. We chose the Paradox because we were looking for something different... and got exactly that. Great service, excellent food, relaxing atmosphere, and a warm quiet room. Life has been busy and staying at the Paradox was a perfect place to unwind. Also, we have decided... since you can't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at Paradox Lodge between Christmas and New Year based on trip advisor reviews. I do not normally like B&B's but my partner convinced me to give it a go. We arrived late after driving through the snow from NYC and the welcome was very warm, especially given that we had arrived in the middle of dinner service. Nan... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SNOWBLIZ, Owner at Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge, responded to this review

The Trip Advisor review response guidelines say that you must respond in the same language the review has been written. I will do my best to adhere to this but there are some phrases and words that are simply foreign to me. Your opening and closing sentences say it all: that you do not normally like B & B’s, you... More

New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Paradox lodge was a warm welcome to lake placid. The main lodge was very cozy and the rooms spotless, although the beds were small. Comfortable but small. A little off the main drag but still convenient to everything. We were a little disappointed in breakfast after hearing rave reviews about their restaurant, but it was sufficient. Overall a nice place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SNOWBLIZ, Owner at Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our lodge as we appreciate your comments. We do, however wish to address the fact that you sound as though you were surprised about the size of the bed in your room. On our web site we have descriptions of each room and the opening line states the size of the bed featured in... More

jessejean
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at the Paradox. We stayed in the Daisy room. It has a lot of character, but I wasn't a fan of the shower. It was cute but I think I'd prefer a traditional shower and sink. The owners, especially Nan, are super friendly and professional. The breakfast was delicious and we stayed for dinner one night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SNOWBLIZ, Owner at Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge, responded to this review

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge as well as the meals that you had with us. We appreciate your comments. As for your dislike for our shower set up: when we renovated the building back in 1998 we tried to keep as much of the house as original as possible. This included keeping the claw... More

Chester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at the Paradox over the New Year break. The room was beautiful and extremely cozy. We particularly enjoyed the stove in the room, it was great to warm up with after a long day out in the cold. The bed was made every day and the towels were new each morning. Nan and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SNOWBLIZ, Owner at Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Paradox Lodge for your special occasion. It was a pleasure meet and getting to know you both. We are looking forward to having you return in the future. More

Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Paradox located in the main house upstairs from the restaurant. It was a visual feast. The main living room, adjacent to the restaurant was loaded with interesting adirondack memorabilia and books to peruse. Our guest room was lovely, cozy, clean, unique and quirky (in a good way). It was appointed with style. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed for a long weekend at The Paradox. We loved every second of our stay there. Nan and Red made us feel so welcomed. From the moment we arrived until we left to go home. Breakfast each morning was delicious! It was the perfect weekend away and we WILL be coming back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is our second stay here this year. That itself should say how much we like this place. We feel like they are family. The bed was made for us every day and we had new clean towels also. For breakfast I had waffles, pancakes, and french toast. All on different days. They were all top notch. Dinner is also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge

Address: 2169 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Paradox Lodge And Cedar Lodge
Paradox Lodge & Cedar Hotel Lake Placid

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Paradox Lodge & Cedar Lodge to your Saves list