We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Lake Placid hotels

The Whiteface Lodge

4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Whiteface Lodge to your Saves list
The Whiteface Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
91%
Ranked #2 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
John S Manchester, Vermont
  • Overview
  • Reviews (505)
  • Photos (360)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (109)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    74
    23
    15
    8
See reviews for
212
196
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We were there in late winter. Beautiful place! Nice, comfortable room with a great view of the lake. No outside noise from other rooms or street. Friendly staff! Helpful with recommendations for places to eat. Enjoyed the in house bar and lounge area. Nice grounds too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your winter getaway. We hope to see you again this winter and the summer and fall are every bit as beautiful so we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes More

Belvidere, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This resort is lovely but the staff is so warm and helpful. We had a very sick child during our visit and they couldn't have been more helpful. At one point I was out getting medical attention for our son and we came back to our room with a sweet note and a get well gift for him. It made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centerport, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent several nights at the Whiteface Lodge the weekend of the Ironman. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate and my daughter fell ill. Despite these pitfalls, my family had a wonderful time at the Lodge. The ample accommodations and the abundance of indoor activities --including the pool, the game room, and the media room -- compensated for what would... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, We are sorry to hear you had bad weather and your daughter fell ill but we are thrilled we could be the "Silver Lining"! The Lodge is a unique resort experience unlike any other in the Adirondacks with enough Family and Adult activities on site that even a rainy vacation is still special. We look forward to your visit... More

Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stood 2 nights because it was our first time at the Whiteface Lodge. I am not sure if I would actually stay again since I truly think it is overpriced. Our accommodations were outstanding. The major down side to the Lodge is the restaurant; dinner was too pricey for low quality food. We went shopping on our last... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, I am glad to hear you found your accommodations outstanding! We all hope you can visit us again in a non-peak month when our rates, along with all the hotels in Lake Placid, reflect a higher value with equally great experiences and terrific values. Our upscale dining experience is designed to present small regional farm ingredients with a creative... More

Flemington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family stayed at the Whiteface Lodge this past week. We have teenagers - 13 and 16. The Inn is beautiful. The grounds are immaculate. The flowers are lovely - everywhere you look. The pool is rather small and in peak hours is full of little kids - we went once in the late afternoon and had some more room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the review and feedback. August is the busiest and priciest month of the year in Lake Placid but we truly offer huge array of amenities and complimentary activities that we hope offers great value for most. I am glad you thought the resort is beautiful and we appreciate both the positive and constructive feedback. We hope... More

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Whiteface Lodge for a week in August of 2014 and loved it! The hotel has so many amenities -- indoor/outdoor pool, tennis, spa, game room, private beach with free water sports, bowling alley (!), movie theater, free kids camp, playground, etc -- that you will always have something to do, rain or shine, 90F degrees or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wayne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would normally never pay the steep rates and stay at a hotel like this, but my husband surprised me for my birthday. When you walk up the front walkway into the hotel, the feel is just spectacular. The rustic décor in the lobby, rooms, restaurant is amazing. The front desk staff is very helpful and nice--although I would expect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, We are thrilled that you found almost everything great throughout the resort. The feedback you provided is appreciated and the few areas we did not meet expectations I assure you is not the norm. The August rates are the highest and the resort is the busiest but I am proud that overall we were able to deliver a great... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lodge. After a long drive, we were pleasantly surprised our room was ready for an early check-in, which allowed us to freshen up and use the pool for the remainder of the afternoon. Frontline, housekeeping and valet staff were first-rate. We had a one bedroom with a king bed, and our kids... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, We are glad to hear you were able to do may of the great area attractions and activities at the Lodge during your recent stay! The Lodge, as you discovered, is unique to the Adirondacks as the only all suite Resort and with that your vacations residences are fully stocked with everything you would get at a private home... More

NewYork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort is nestled in the Mountains, a little more than a mile from the main 'strip' in Lake Placid, and spares no attention to detail visually in creating a wonderful Adirondack retreat. The employees are pleasant, and the maid service is unparalleled. All that aside I believe there is a difference between being a 5 star resort (think Ritz... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, We appreciate your feedback and are very glad it sounds like overall you really enjoyed your stay. We work very hard to create a unique luxury mountain getaway experience and so in the areas where we didn't meet your expectations, based on the price we charge, we apologize. I assure you that despite August being the busiest and therefore... More

Schoharie, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have vacationed here three times and each time the stay has been wonderful. I never want to leave the resort. I am so sad I want to cry! They have plenty of amenties to make the stay luxurious, peaceful and pampered. But at the same time it is completely kid friendly. We have stayed in the summer and winter... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chris P, General Manager at The Whiteface Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for the gracious words! It is truly and honor to run a resort that can make its guests feel this much of an emotional attachment and loyalty to the resort and its team. We very much look forward to your 4th visit and more. Enjoy the last days of summer! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Whiteface Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Game room(13)
  • Breakfast buffet(5)
  • Canoe club(5)
  • Chocolate chip cookies(3)

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

360 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (311)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (73)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (94)
Viewed
Family/play areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Lake Placid with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid #1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid #2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid #2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid #5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous suites and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
94

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Whiteface Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer