We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Placid Summit Hotel

2.0 of 5 2375 Saranac Avenue, (same as 8-12 Saranac Avenue), Lake Placid, NY 12946
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Free XCountry Passes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    50
    53
    49
    38
See reviews for
54
79
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (216)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The first observation before I even arrived at location I went online and found that the price per night during the week was $85 and weekend like $129 which was not unreasonable. When the sports team group that we were traveling with later book thy charged us 239 a night ! I sat in the lobby several times ( couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Timonium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Do not waste your money staying here. There is water damage, it smells like chemicals, and it is really run down. If you have asthma and or allergies, the place will make you ill. Do not expect a refund if you need to check out early because of the deplorable conditions. They have a "no refund" policy, even if the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is old and dirty. I moved rooms twice. Great location to the shops. Overpriced for the stay. The owners need to sell or renovate this hotel. I am surprised that this hotel is allowed to stay open.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orange, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location of this hotel is an ideal location to all downtown shopping and restaurants. There is not enough parking for guests. If you cannot get a space in the lot, they advise you to park in a municipal lot, which is ridiculous when it is freezing cold and you are paying for the stay! The hotel desk staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LPSummit H, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that you got stuck in our elevator but that could happen at any hotel and I apologize on behalf of the Hotel and its staff. As far as parking goes we have always been able to get our guests parking on site with our two parking lots. I apologize for the behavior of the lady at the front desk... More 

Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the hotel walkable to town. We found the beds wonderfully warm and cozy, very comfortable. We stayed three nights in probably the room with the best view of Mirror Lake in town. The staff was most accommodating and receptive to several of our extra needs. Now it is important to say, if you are looking for 21st century... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LPSummit H, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind review. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to serving you again here at the Lake Placid Summit Hotel. I want to also thank you for mentioning our interior design. We are constantly trying to upgrade our hotel and because of guests such as you we'll be able to do so.... More 

Newmarket, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Basic hotel, good location. Friendly staff. Hotel is old and need of major renovations. Rooms are large, beds are fine. Washroom very small and old. Good choice for father and son hockey tournament. Mom's may look for something nicer. Very good location to the main street of Lake Placid. Easy walk to the shops on Main Street. About 10 to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LPSummit H, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review of our hotel. If it were not for reviews of guests like you we would not be able to improve our service which is something that we here are striving to do on a daily basis. As you said we have one of the very best locations in Lake Placid for a hotel. We look... More 

Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Overall this hotel left a lot to be desired. We were there from a Saturday through to a Tuesday. No Bar service except on weekends. Restaurant not open on Mondays. Poor room quality and very few amenities. Advertised as dog friendly though this means you get a room at the farthest corner of the building. Their dog friendly also means... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LPSummit H, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay here in November 2014. We are a pet friendly hotel and not unlike almost any other hotel in Lake Placid that does allow pets we do charge an additional fee. The fee is charged so that we can thoroughly clean the pet room for our other guests who may... More 

Amersham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Don't expect that this is in any way other than a large motel. It is shabby, large rooms but also shabby. Reception is again large, but looks like a railway station waiting room without the pictures. Its only merit is that it is close to shops and restaurants, and the view from upstairs rooms (which we had) of the MIrror... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LPSummit H, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

We are hopeful that you may stay with us again in the future. We are constantly trying to improve our hotel and to make it as appealing as possible to our guests. Our location and our rates arte what makes our hotel a bargain in Lake Placid. It is my hope that you give us a call and allow us... More 

madrid
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I stayed at the Summit for two nights in October. I found the hallways very messy. There always seemed to be white flakes or white paint on the carpet. The second evening the parking lot was packed, so I went in to inquire about overflow. I went to the front desk and asked but I was told to wait for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Beautifully located across from Mirror Lake and hardly 8 miles from Adirondack Loj (hugely popular for hiking the mountains), we couldn't find a thing to complain about. We arrived after a tiring day of hiking and got checked in real quick into a family suite (two large rooms, each with 2 double beds, TV, microwave, fridge, attached bathroom and sufficient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Lake Placid Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Summit Hotel

Address: 2375 Saranac Avenue, (same as 8-12 Saranac Avenue), Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Placid Summit Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lake Placid Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lake Placid
Lake Placid Summit

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay