We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Lake Placid hotels

Lake Placid Summit Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2375 Saranac Avenue, (same as 8-12 Saranac Avenue), Lake Placid, NY 12946
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lake Placid Summit Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
44%
Ranked #20 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
A recent review
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    36
    42
    29
See reviews for
46
64
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was average. I rate it a 2.5 Bed sheets clean, duvet cover - not so much, nor the coverlet at the foot of the bed. Carpet was clean. Bathroom was average, with mold surrounding the tiles around the tub. Had to place a hand towel over the bottom of the tub to take a shower, as the bottom of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Utica, New York
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I don't know where the people who wrote good reviews stayed but it couldn't have been the Summit. This was the worst experience of our lives. We were in our room for 20 minutes and couldn't stand it for another minute. We were in the OH SO DELUXE king suite celebrating our 2 hour old engagement and it was practically... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Fishkill, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a nice hotel. The staff was very friendly and nice. Check in was quick and easy and the woman at the desk was accommodating. I had booked online and wanted to make an adjustment and she helped me to find the best value for the stay I was looking for. She was happy to show me a local... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate so much your taking the time to leave us a review! Thank you! We work hard to ensure an easy check in and a friendly face to answer questions about the area on check-in. We do our best to accommodate changes and requests at check-in; I'm glad you've noticed the hard work. Our housekeeping staff does a great... More

New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel is clearly a middle tier property and priced accordingly. Considering the excellent location it is a very good value for the price. We stayed over a holiday weekend and had a very spacious room with a beautiful view of Mirror Lake. The bed was great and the room had a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The bathroom was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review! We agree that for our location and views, we offer fantastic pricing. Our rooms are spacious and bright with refrigerator and coffee maker as well as microwave in most of them. As you stated, updates are needed in some places and are ongoing. Our pool is large and subsequently, can... More

Westfield, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Upon entering the lobby the hotel looks like an upscale, classy accommodation...complete with beautiful chandeliers and a beautiful view. After checking in and walking further down the hall the place looks quite shabby and worn. It could definitely use a face lift. Although there appeared to be a restaurant and a lounge, they were closed. This was disappointing to us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Yes, we have done many updates to the hotel including to the main lobby and many, many of our rooms. As you mentioned, the lake view rooms have been updated and are light and bright with great views! And, yes there are still areas needing updating and we have plans... More

Saratoga Srpings
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was another repeat visit to this hotel because it is a good value, convenient location and we can be assured of clean rooms. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and in great condition. Our room was quiet and there is plenty of parking. It is a short walk to restaurants and shops on the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review! It's great to hear from our return guests! This goes to show what a great location with amazing views can offer for reasonable rates. Your review has summed it up very well: clean, comfortable, quiet and accommodating with easy access to main street. There are updates still needed... More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel was perfect for my family of 6. It had 2 rooms that joined. We left the door open and the kids room had no exiting door to the main hall. The had their space but we were able to monitor them closely. The staff were friendly and helpful. The accommodations and public areas were very clean. The pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! Many people enjoy our family units for the conveniences you mentioned. There are two rooms, essentially in an adjoining configuration, but without an additional door into the main hallway. This gives the kids and you some space, but with a little less concern for them leaving the... More

UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived at Lake Placid in the rain and had prebooked at the Summit Hotel. This hotel needs a complete renovation. It looks shabby and worn out. We felt that the reception staff were not very attentive and on entering our room our hearts sank. The room was dark, felt dank and smelt stale and looking between the bed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. The only thing I can really say about your comments is that I wish you had communicated with our staff instead of being unhappy with your accommodations. We could have fixed your room. Also, we have many, many rooms which have been renovated. I am positive that we had... More

Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at Summit hotel from 11 to 14 October 2013. A lot things should be taken care of. I start with the smell all over the hallways and even in the rooms. I guess is because of the carpet, so it needs a good cleaning or it needs to be changed. In the room I found an underwear which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your taking the time to provide a review. You mentioned the smell in the hallways; specifics would be appreciated. I have walked the hallways many, many times and I don't know of any particular offending odor. Occasionally they smell of fresh paint from the hallways being touched up. We vacuum on a daily basis and shampoo the... More

Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a main floor room which was is pretty decent shape. Given that this location was much lower priced than others on the same street I can overlook a few minor blemishes. The only main concern was that the restaurant was closed down, but there were lots of local spots to fill in. Pool was in good shape.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your input. Many many of our rooms have been updated over the last few years, though we do have some further work to do and haven't stopped improving. Though, as you pointed out our rates are much cheaper than many others in Lake Placid; especially with... More

Been to Lake Placid Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Summit Hotel

Also Known As:
Summit Lake Placid
Lake Placid Summit
Address: 2375 Saranac Avenue, (same as 8-12 Saranac Avenue), Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Placid Summit Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Lake Placid Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Summit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.