We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Placid Summit Hotel

Hotel website
2375 Saranac Avenue, (same as 8-12 Saranac Avenue), Lake Placid, NY 12946
Special Offer
30% OFF CANADIAN SPECIAL!
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came up for Winter Carnival. Booked a room at the Summit Hotel. based on recommendations of two friends (hockey dad, Ironman) who are familiar with Lake Placid... Now if you are looking for the Ritz Carlton... Try somewhere else... If you are looking for an Awesome place to stay with great service... Robin at the front desk was spectacular... She... More 

Helpful?
Thank Soundview384
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Lake Placid Summit Hotel does its job. It is not fancy by any means, but it is clean and conveniently located in Lake Placid. I was on a ski trip but was unable to ski, so I was able to walk around the town and take the free shuttle that had multiple stops downtown to Whiteface Mountain to meet... More 

Helpful?
Thank HLGY
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Everything is shabby, we stayed here a couple of years ago and it was nice. Our recent stay was very disappointing, very noisy outside, worn & shabby decor, linens, ect. just grubby looking. They had mini donuts and coffee out for hours in the Am...yuk. The pool was broken our whole stay (4 days) very disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank kadydid39

Travelers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Putnam Valley, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Stayed there 2 nights. Room was right above bar and was loud and heard yelling until it closed about 2pm. Room located right as you get off elevator.For a premium room it was just too loud but view was great. Room was bare but clean. Looks like they are redoing much of hotel. Bar & check in area are very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Msrosiedozie
hoteldos026, General Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you stayed with us. I am sorry you were upset by the loudness of the bar, that is something we will continue to address as it was just recently opened. You are correct, we are in the process of renovating the hotel as well as all of our lake view... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

We were very happy here - clean, spacious suites, great location, very friendly and helpful staff and management. Nothing was too much trouble and always available to provide local info. A great accommodation at a very reasonable price. We would definitely recommend this hotel to families looking for quality at a reasonable price.

Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingGekko
hoteldos026, General Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us! We really enjoy making sure that our guests have the most positive experience possible while they are with us. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to see you again in the near future! More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was booked as part of a group rate for a hockey tournament. As such, cancellations had to be done 39 days in advance. This hotel is hands down the most disgusting hotel I've ever been to. Myself and 3 other parents, decided not to even check in after seeing the rooms of our fellow teammates. The musty aroma... More 

Helpful?
Thank hockeymom201522
hoteldos026, General Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I apologize you were not happy with our hotel. Some of our bathrooms are very small as this hotel was built in the 70's. About 50% of our bathrooms have been remodeled and are large with the remaining rooms being redone this spring. Thank you for your visit to Lake Placid and we hope... More 

Fly Creek, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Arrived for a hockey tournament with my son's team in December. Had to change our room after an invasion of ants coming out of crack in corner of bathroom. Manager was notified and rather rude on phone not even apologizing for any inconvenience when we had to move all our luggage. . When asked what is the management going to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank C2045
hoteldos026, General Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am actively working to correct some of the situations you encountered including the towels. Our entire pool area as well as our hotel rooms are being renovated in the spring of this year to correct the issues that you mentioned. Parking is occasionally an issue at our hotel as it is at most hotels... More 

Watkins Glen, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

We stayed here recently, and as we walked to our room, my husband said "let's never stay here again" The hotel is incredibly dated, with a few updates here and there. The walls are pretty thin, so we could hear people walking up and down the halls, as well as our neighbors. The staff were minimally accommodating. They lost our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jannica
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

Walking into the lobby, I was immediately drawn to the beautiful view! The desk clerk was pleasant and accommodating. Although our room did not face the front, it was clean and comfortable. I was surprised to find a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. There is a fireplace in a sitting area near the lobby, but it wasn't turned on-that would... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Johnstown, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

We stayed here two years ago and loved the place. This time it was filthy. The bathroom was so gross that I refused to let my kids step into the shower. There was cereal on the floor of the closet that had been left from the previous guests. The rooms have seen better days and really need to be updated.... More 

Helpful?
Thank treesha21
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
#5 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.1 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay