We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Placid Summit Hotel

Hotel website
2375 Saranac Avenue, (same as 8-12 Saranac Avenue), Lake Placid, NY 12946
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    50
    60
    54
    40
See reviews for
57
86
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

You get what you pay for. The hotel is nothing special at all, but it is quaint and comfortable enough to stay the night so that you can get up early and go hike the Adirondaks. The only thing that annoyed me was that even though we had a reservation already made, we spent a good 15 minutes in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stillwater
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I thought by paying 160 I was getting a decent hotel. I was wrong. The hotel hallway smelled horribly of pee and the room was shabby at best. I don't think the bathroom was cleaned because the used soap from the previous guest was still in the shower and the counter. There was hair in the bathtub and no washcloths!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel is in desperate need of a lot of up-dating/repairs. The furniture is ancient, so much so that you wouldn't want to sit in the lobby chairs in clean clothes. The carpets were filthy, needing either a deep clean or better yet, replaced. The pool is closed till June 20th/15 but who is to know if it will open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was here a week ago and spoke well of the place. We are back, paying $30 more, got snippy desk service, an old worn out room with chipped furniture and a tiny bathroom my husband barely fits in! It's so small you can't even open the door all the way. There are electrical wire sticking out of the wall,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DEAN L, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us again. We always welcome feedback from our guests. However, we do request that it be accurate and fair. First let me state for the record that on both of your stays you booked our least expensive room which is a standard 1 queen with a courtyard (parking lot) view. Your first stay with us... More 

Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

For about $80 a night over Memorial Day weekend, I don't think you could find a better rate for a hotel right in the village, the others I priced were about twice that. The room was clean and comfortable, it had an excellent view of Mirror Lake from the third floor. Only complaint was the bathrooms were very old and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DEAN L, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive review. We are in the progress of renovating the last of our antiquated bathrooms. I am sorry that you were in a room that had not yet been renovated. I promise that on your next visit you will be put in a room with an upgraded bathroom. When planning your... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at the resort hotel. The parking is a bit scarce but otherwise good place. The location is excellent as it is facing the mirror lake. Haven't tried their food so no idea how good or bad it is.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DEAN L, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and your positive review. We are currently in the process of doing more renovations to our property and would love to have you come back and see the progress we are making. Please call us directly when planning your next stay and we will take care of you! Than you again! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Summit about 2 years ago. The hotel was undergoing renovations at the time. The pool was closed and we had to go to another hotel to use their pool facilities. We just recently booked another stay at the Summit again. We were both thinking there will be updates and improvements. The pool should be up and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DEAN L, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly, sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I must ask as to just why our Front Desk staff was never made aware of the issues that you are now complaining about? Had we known of the issues we would have moved you to a newer room in our hotel. As for the jets not working on our... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

This hotel isn't good, in my opinion only the location and free parking is their best attribute. However parking on the street is very affordable, $5 per day or $.50 per hour. The receptionist wasn't friendly at all, maybe she was having a bad day?? she shoud take a break cause she has no customer service skills. Just the other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DEAN L, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not seem to enjoy your stay with us however, I do not agree with some of the statements you made regarding the condition of your room. I do not believe that you had a stain on your rug or that your curtain was stained/torn. For you... More 

Herkimer, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

This hotel is conveniently located in Lake Placid. It is the perfect location for walking around the town. The price was decent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We visited a week too early, as the restaurant was closed, as were many of the attractions at that time of year. (End of April).

Was this review helpful? Yes
DEAN L, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our facilities. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit Lake Placid. More 

St. Lazare
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

The hotel was under renovations- didn't affect us much. It does need sprucing up outside, the inside was ok. The internet was slow. When we called for a repair to our hot water, they were over in 5 minutes. It seems the taps were backwards! Also, there is a jacuzzi in the bathroom, but just pushing the button doesn't do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DEAN L, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have many additional renovations that are being made over the next year and would love to have you stay with us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay