We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2439 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
The Haus
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Haus to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 17 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
MikeMarley NJ
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
NJ
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I have been traveling to Lake Placid for years and have stayed at many of the local hotels. We are glad have found "the Haus" as it has become our home away from home in a sense. Since we travel to the area 4-5 times a year we stay at the Haus on a regular basis. Whether... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lake Placid is one of our favorite places in the USA. After a ten year plus absence we decided to celebrate my birthday in LP. We looked for something different than the hotels we stayed at in the past. The Haus offered a great location and Villa type accommodations. The rooms were spacious, well appointed and spotless. Unlike a previous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After exhausting research for reasonably priced hotel with a good rating, I decided on The Haus and was not disappointed with my decision. The staff was very attentive to any questions/needs before and during our stay. Upon arrival, I retrieved the key and parking pass and we were all set to enjoy our stay. *Location is super convenient being right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Garwood, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

There are pro and cons to this property. Pros: great location in town, our room (#3) had a wonderful view, lovely décor, great tub and comfortable bed, plus having a kitchen was important for us. Cons: the parking as noted in other reviews, and the general hospitality. We came in late and let ourselves in, no problem and came down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
adawsonellis, Manager at The Haus, responded to this review

Dear Ms. T. It was our pleasure hosting you and the charming gentleman traveling with you. I regret that you were unhappy with our hospitality. Though your companion seemed quite satisfied, all of us noted your irritation with each encounter so we did our upmost to provide you with timely assistance especially when we were informed of your car troubles.... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here twice in the past year and this is where we intend to return every time. We just love suite 2, Gothic, because it's perfect for a tranquil getaway. It has a separate bedroom, leaving the kitchen and living area to comfortably hang out in, a comfy bed, lots of windows and light, and it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Haus for our "mini-moon" in Lake Placid for a long weekend. We've been to lake placid a few times and usually stay at a standard hotel. The Haus offers sooooo much more for roughly the same price. The owner bought and referbished apartments so you get a bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen with oven,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
adawsonellis, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review

Wonderful to have hosted you. Thank you for the kind words. Just for the record our fireplaces are real; the flames are fed with propane and are very warm even in the coldest of climes. Returning the charger left behind was a favor as you had already come back earlier to retrieve other items left behind. We didn't want you... More 

Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

15 years of visiting Lake Placid and we have found our new home in Lake Placid. The Haus is everything the big resorts want to offer but can't. Check in was as easy as any hotel. Parked in the loading zone, down a few stairs to EcoTique and met Anthony. Just a few minutes later he had us in Suite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ottawa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Haus really feels like "Your House", not the typical hotel room you will find at the hotels/motels throughout Lake Placid. Just stayed in the just finished unit #3 with my wife and two kids - prefect set up for us to enjoy our time in the Adirondacks. Super easy and friendly check in with Anthony / cleaner than clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed in Suite 6 recently, and it was nice location to stay for a long weekend in Lake Placid. The first thing to consider about this place is the fact that if one stays on the top floor, there are some-forty stairs to ascend each time one wants to access the hotel room. There is no elevator unfortunately. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adawsonellis, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Rowan, It was a pleasure hosting you and I thank you for your comments. I should like to clarify some points made that convey a different impression than what we offer. The top floor is but two floors up from our Main St. entrance. The Haus was built in 1904 when people considered a 5 storey... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Location location and much more, this is a place I had to bookmark. If you haven't been to the Adirondacks, most lake towns around are quite small, very simple and quiet. In Lake Placid we didn't only get the adirondack retreat but also a little busier town vibe, with lots more of food and options for activities. The town of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haus

Address: 2439 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haus Hotel Lake Placid

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay