We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2439 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
The Haus
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Haus to your Saves list
98%
Ranked #4 of 17 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
SarCarm Saratoga Springs, New York
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Haus for our "mini-moon" in Lake Placid for a long weekend. We've been to lake placid a few times and usually stay at a standard hotel. The Haus offers sooooo much more for roughly the same price. The owner bought and referbished apartments so you get a bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen with oven,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
adawsonellis, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review

Wonderful to have hosted you. Thank you for the kind words. Just for the record our fireplaces are real; the flames are fed with propane and are very warm even in the coldest of climes. Returning the charger left behind was a favor as you had already come back earlier to retrieve other items left behind. We didn't want you... More

Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

15 years of visiting Lake Placid and we have found our new home in Lake Placid. The Haus is everything the big resorts want to offer but can't. Check in was as easy as any hotel. Parked in the loading zone, down a few stairs to EcoTique and met Anthony. Just a few minutes later he had us in Suite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ottawa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Haus really feels like "Your House", not the typical hotel room you will find at the hotels/motels throughout Lake Placid. Just stayed in the just finished unit #3 with my wife and two kids - prefect set up for us to enjoy our time in the Adirondacks. Super easy and friendly check in with Anthony / cleaner than clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed in Suite 6 recently, and it was nice location to stay for a long weekend in Lake Placid. The first thing to consider about this place is the fact that if one stays on the top floor, there are some-forty stairs to ascend each time one wants to access the hotel room. There is no elevator unfortunately. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
adawsonellis, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Rowan, It was a pleasure hosting you and I thank you for your comments. I should like to clarify some points made that convey a different impression than what we offer. The top floor is but two floors up from our Main St. entrance. The Haus was built in 1904 when people considered a 5 storey... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Location location and much more, this is a place I had to bookmark. If you haven't been to the Adirondacks, most lake towns around are quite small, very simple and quiet. In Lake Placid we didn't only get the adirondack retreat but also a little busier town vibe, with lots more of food and options for activities. The town of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pitttsburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

After four consecutive summers in LP, enjoying the weather, the food, the lifestyle, we have finally found the perfect accommodations for us. The Haus is home away from home. Yes, it's IKEA saturated (not top quality furnishings) but the style fits the no nonsense vibe of LP and the combination of convenience on Main St with unbeatable views from our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
adawsonellis, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review

Dear Dawn, It was a pleasure hosting you in suite #8. That sweeping view of the High Peaks really is fantastic and is one of the key reasons we chose this building to realize our eco-chic lodging concept. Thank you for your comments; we always appreciate remarks from seasoned Lake Placid tourists. If I may, I just wanted to reply... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed in two different apartment suites (husband and wife in 1; kids with Grandma, Grandpa in 9) this last weekend (July 18-20). We lucked out that all other hotels were already booked when we began to look because we LOVED these apartments! If you are looking for a great place to stay in the midst of Main Street with Mirror... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lake Placid, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This property was so perfect, we loved being on main street. The Haus is so well maintained and clean. Our suite had spectacular views of Mirror Lake and the High Peaks. While visiting there was a live free concert right in the Park next door. Truly a great time. Highly Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed at The Haus for 6 or so nights in December 2013. Andrew (?) the owner, was very helpful via email before arriving, providing advice on the best route to get to Lake Placid from Washington DC, where we were staying prior. On arrival, it was easy to find The Haus and check in was quick. We were given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shirley, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had an amazing time last weekend 3/7-3/9 at the Haus hotel in lake placid. A perfect location- on the lake, by all the restaurants and on main street! We stayed in apartment # 1 which has views of main street. We did hear a little noise from the street at night & apartments above. The apartment was amazing- we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haus

Address: 2439 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haus Hotel Lake Placid

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay