We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1 Mirror Lake Drive, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1105 (Formerly Lakeview Motor Inn)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lake House
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    58
    32
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
42
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful stay here last month. We had a room at the end pf through second floor and it was very quiet. We didn't use our balcony (because the bugs loved me!) But the view was incredible. The location is great and the staff are friendly. It was great that we could use the fitness room at High... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is Paul... not Janet. She agrees with everything I wrote and looks forward to next year. I began spending summers in Lake Placid in 1942 when my mother brought me for the entire summer. That continued until I began going to camp. When I was a teenager, we would come up after camp and I caddied at the Lake... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice resort. View from balcony was AMAZING. Overlooked Mirror Lake and the mountains. Room was big and clean with a contemporary feel. Only thing wrong was the online booking said the king suite had a balcony with lake view, but when we got there they informed us they have no king rooms that have balconies. Was a little disappointed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Dear Jeff W, Thanks so much for sharing your Lake House experience with the TripAdvisor community - I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate you in the room you booked, and I hope that we are able to make that up to you on your next stay - don't hesitate to give me a ring at the hotel.... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was very nice and well-kept. It seems they have recently gone through a renovation as it looked very modern inside. All the rooms faced towards Mirror Lake, but the first floor rooms didn't have a very good view, although it was a patio. The second floor was all balconies, and the third floor only had two rooms, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Dear Comradeski, Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience at Lake House with the TripAdvisor community. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Lake Placid, and found Lake House to be clean and fresh, and that you liked the results of our renovation - I will be sure to share your commendation with... More 

Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Easy access to Mirror Lake, Main St., and rest of Lake Placid. Hotel looks great, and a good value. Convenient parking behind hotel, and easy drive to hiking destinations. Get the breakfast package ahead of time, it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Thanks, OEBrooklyn, for taking the time to share your Lake House Experience with the tripAdvisor community! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and aesthetic of our house, and that you also enjoyed the Alpine Continental Breakfast we are serving for those wanting a quick and simple bite in the morning before going out to enjoy the surrounding... More 

Nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Lake House was great and they were super accommodating and let us check in early. The location was close to everything, very walkable. The atmosphere was laid back and casual with a friendly hands on staff. Great value and a fun time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Dear Rsnyc2015, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience at Lake House with the TripAdvisor community! I'm thrilled to hear we were able to get you into your room early, and that you enjoyed our great location. One of the best parts of Lake House is the team there, and I'm glad to hear that you... More 

New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a fantastic renovation and a great bang for your buck!! The rooms at perfectly appointment and the common area at the Lake House is beautiful. The location at the end of Main Street is good for casual walkers and browsers but not great if street noise bothers you. Overall this place is excellent and we would come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Hi PBJCLJ! Thanks so much for your great review of our Lake House - I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed everything about the design and location, and we all hope to welcome you back very soon. All the best, Matthew. More 

Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived, and had to wait 20 minutes or so to be signed in. Clerk was to busy socializing to assist us. View isnt great. Room was sorta clean (everything but the bathroom. Toilet to be exact! There were floaters left behind). Itchy/scratchy comforter on beds. Nice soft beds and pillows though. Absolutely NOT worth the $350 for one night we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Dear ASutterfield, I would like to offer my apologies for your experience, and would be happy to personally discuss with you if you would be willing to contact me by phone at the resort. With kind regards, Matthew Wheeler More 

Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's amazing what a little paint, wood trim, and new carpeting can do! This motel was clearly built in the early 60s, based on the concrete walls and metal door frames, but refreshed with a stylish slate grey and fire-engine red color scheme, and The Lake House has a super-cool ski lodge feel. Really enjoyed happy hour at the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Dear Daved01040, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Lake House experience with the TripAdvisor community! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the refresh of our great little house on the lake! I hope that the team and I have the chance to welcome you back again during the winter season - it's amazingly... More 

New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not too happy here. Friendly accommodating staff, but room is tiny, dingy, and painted a dismal grey. Bed sheets are thin, cheap, and synthetic. Beds were sloppily made when we came in, and could have been slept in. No bedspreads or comforters, just sheets and wool blankets. Noise from outside the room, in adjacent rooms and hallways, is loud and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this review

Dear Handsome 2015, I am sorry to read that your experience at Lake House was unsatisfactory. I have already spoken with our housekeeping director to ensure that our sheeting is up to standard. I apologize that the aesthetic of the room did not meet your expectations, and that you found the room to be noisy. I invite you to reach... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
0.3 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#5 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
0.0 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay