We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Elms Waterfront Cottages

3.0 of 5
1 Bay Rd, P.O. Box 95, Lake Luzerne, NY 12846
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elms Waterfront Cottages
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Elms Waterfront Cottages
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    2
    4
    7
See reviews for
23
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

I've never felt more relaxed on any vacation than at The Elms. Sometimes less is more. Sometimes taking a break and enjoying some quiet time is what we all need. From complimentary row boats, kayaks, and paddle boats you can enjoy the beautiful Hudson River right outside your front door. But I must say sitting by the camp fire roasting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

To be sure, the view of the river from the cabins at The Elms is pretty, but at $150 a night--midweek, off-season--one wants more than a room with a view. The first shock is realizing that what looks from their materials to be a secluded set of cottages nestled against the river is in fact a group of jerryrigged cabins... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

we visited lake george Iin 2009 to pick up ourdaughter from a summer ballet Iintensive~we vowed to come back and stay~we rented the beach house #12 for 7 nites 8 days at the elms cottages~ my family and our pug boy milo had a beautiful stay~the owner Chandler was so nice ~his property is beautiful~we made memories to last a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Long Beach, New York, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Where DO I BEGIN...we rented the cabin at the very end of the property last October.After losing everything that we owned and rebuilding our house after Super storm Sandy we were able to get away for the weekend.We were happy from the pictures and that it was pet friendly as we had a 121/2 year old lab mix. The pictures... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a family reunion at The Elms. We rented 4 cabins for the week of 8/2/14. My husband, two children and I stayed in cabin 7. I'm not sure why there are so many bad reviews, we found our cabin very clean and cozy. My favorite thing about the cabin was the gorgeous view of the Hudson River from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Upstate New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We just had our 4th annual family reunion at The Elms and once again enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. We loved the renovations that have been completed on the Lodge-- the knotty pine looks fresh and adds a lot. We had an engagement party for our daughter on Saturday with extra guests and Chandler, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mechanicville, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We own a local weekly newspaper and have been here several times, but this year it was just terrible, the cupboards and cooking utensils were disgusting, no extras at all unless you asked, but the straw that broke the camels back was the following. The Elms Waterfront Cottages Indian carving sat directly next to our cottage. Now we have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Middle Village, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We rented this place for the 4th of July weekend. When we arrived we noticed it wasn't very clean. The bedrooms sheets were dirty. Little did we know that this big place was full of such disgusting creepy crawly blood eating creatures. As soon as we spotted such thing, we literally ran out of there before anything else could happen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
elmscottages, Manager at The Elms Waterfront Cottages, responded to this review

We have a contract with Orkin pest control,who regularly monitor our property. Following the complaint we had them review the area no evidence of bed bugs was found. However to be safe we purchased new protective bed covers from them. More 

john9612
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I frankly don't understand the high rating of this place. I would consider it more of a "hunters" cabin. If you want seclusion, its not to be found here. Our cabin was behind a convenience store separated by an 8 ft. stockade fence. There were spider webs in the shower and kitchen. The bathroom was spartan. the shower head was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
elmscottages, Manager at The Elms Waterfront Cottages, responded to this review

We are not a hotel rather housekeeping cottages people stay with us for the proximity to Lake George and Saratoga. They like the flexibility of being able to cook or grill and not have to eat out every night. Many people also enjoy being able to have campfires. We are sorry you were not happy. More 

manasquan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My son and I recently stayed at the Elms cottages for several days over a long holiday. We had the most relaxing and enjoyable experience. The host Chandler was very nice and helpful. Our cabin was very clean and had everything you could need. Our view of the lake was breathtaking, and colorful with the leaves changing. We enjoyed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question