We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa

AU Hwy, Brufut Heights | PO Box 3311, Serekunda, Gambia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    276
    149
    63
    49
See reviews for
96
443
32
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (732)
  • Mar-May only
    (214)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (129)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (315)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Traveled to The Gambia for the half term break in Feb and what an experience it was! We met so many great people, both Gambians and fellow tourists. Thanks to all the staff who were all outstanding, from the pool cleaners to the bar staff. It is you who made our holiday. Thanks to yaya (Just like that), Bas, James... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is nice enough but it isn't really 5* compared to western standards so the price difference is getting a bit much now. In Africa you really want to make sure the doors lock, water works and when the electric is used it works and stays on. I'd say they do sort of. When I was there there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonGManager, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your positive comments as well as your feedback with regards to the things where we did not live up to your expectations. The responsible department heads will ensure this will not happen in the future. Hope to welcome you back very soon. regards, More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a wonderful holiday here with my family over new year. Service is brilliant, spent my days lounging by the beach (beautiful, also private and guarded to avoid junk sellers) sipping cocktails. The hotel also arranges good excursions out to see local villages which are eye opening and heartbreaking. If you go, try to give the people something and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonGManager, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks so much for your nice words! Regards, More 

London UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The recent reviews on here will probably give you a good idea of the hotel - lots of positives (breakfast, cats, staff, comfy beds, views, beach) and a few negatives (jelly fish, slightly run down, quiet, out of the way, not 5* as you might know it). As a first timer visiting last week you might like to consider/know these... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonGManager, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for your review and your extensive tips for anyone visiting The Gambia, truly appreciated! Regards, More 

Chertsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So, for starters the hotels website states that it lies 10 minutes from the airport. Unless a new form of super fast land based travel has been invented without me knowing, this information is wrong as the travel time is more like 25 minutes. I can live with this relatively minor inaccuracy. Following a lukewarm welcome involving the receptionist looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SheratonGManager, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Baker, we have noted your comments. We are happy that in the meantime we have discussed the comments with you and offered you a agreeable solution through Thomas Cook. Best Regards, More 

Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travelled to the Gambia as part of a work trip to see hotels and areas of the country. We stayed here for the 4 night duration. The room I stayed in was spacious with dark furniture and a lovely bathroom/dressing area. The grounds are very nice and its right on the beach. The pool area was a bit disappointing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonGManager, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, nice to read that you had a good business trip. Hope that you will be back soon to enjoy a few days of relaxation. Regards, More 

Byfleet, Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have just come back from a 2 week stay at the Sheraton.Lovely well kept grounds right on the beach front & away from other hotels.We had a deluxe baobab room & can recommend room 7126 on the 1st floor with balcony.Very quiet with beach view, plus the added extra of being able to watch monkeys play at dusk & dawn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SheratonGManager, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thanks for your positive comments about our rooms, the location, the grounds, the pool, the food and our associates. We have forwarded your comments to the individual employees. Best Regards, More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay. The security were good most the time but one male (security man) hassled us a bit and even got a bit demanding/intimidating and asked for our iphone and money (obviously he didn't get them). The food in the hotel was average, I wouldn't go full board as the restaurants in the area were amazing. Drinks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SheratonGManager, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your wonderful comments. We will pass on your message to our associates; it does keep them very motivated! Best Regards, More 

Breda, Nederland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been to the sheraton in 2012. At that time Gambia was an unknown destination which made it a very relaxed place to go. We did a couple of excursions to see the country. Staff was very friendly. Great Spa facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonGManager, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for your wonderful comments. We will pass on your message to our associates; it does keep them very motivated! Best Regards, More 

Cleethorpes
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed on all inclusive for one week.This hotel is rather isolated a few miles from the main strip,with no shops within walking distance.Taxis are available and it cost us about £10 return to go to a local restaurant some six miles away-the taxi wait for up to two hours included In the price.The hotel is looking rather tired but nicely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SheratonGManager, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we welcome your feedback as it is with that feedback that we are able to improve our product. Your concerns are well noted and discussed internally. Your positive comments are much appreciated also! Regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

560 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (535)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (117)
Viewed
View from room (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (128)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (149)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question