We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kairaba Beach Hotel

PMB 390, Serekunda, Gambia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

693 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    324
    274
    60
    24
    11
See reviews for
66
415
26
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (693)
  • Mar-May only
    (234)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (255)
All months
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We returned to Kairaba in April having also visited in December. Please give the management a chance it takes time for new ideas to take place especially in a country that is being affected by the Ebola. There are no cases of Ebola in Gambia. We were surprised by the small changes on our visit in December but don't let... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Your review is as refreshing as a breath of fresh air. You have understood exactly what we are trying to achieve and have acknowledged our efforts to add value to the property. We thank you heartily for your glowing review, it makes all our efforts worthwhile and encourages us to continue in our bid to improve and... More 

Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Once we paid to upgrade our room we had a thoroughly enjoyable 3 weeks at the Kairaba. The room and pool staff are lovely & the security guys and gardeners were brilliant & very knowledgeable which made up for a very poor start. We paid Thomas Cook for an upgraded room - which turned out to be overlooking the entrance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kairaba B, Guest Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Your review of our hotel is most welcomed by staff and management as it helps us to grow and gauge where we stand in terms of service and delivery. We are happy to note that you had a great holiday at our hotel and connected well with our staff. We invite you to come again soonest to... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

You wake up to the sound of chirping bird including peacocks and a troop of monkeys. The friendly staff were so helpful and the pool was clean. The down side is the wifi only works in the lobby and the mosquitoes feast on you while there in the lobby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Your observations are important to us. We have have discussed with the IT Manager and Housekeeping departments regarding your observations regarding WIFI and mosquitoes in the Lobby and have been assured that greater attention will be adhered to avoid further incidents of such nature. Thanks you for the compliments on Kairaba... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

I came to Gambia for a conference and we stayed here. Very good venue for a conference - large and therefore apt to be somewhat impersonal. Lots of interesting trees in the garden. It has a great great location - I went to see someone staying at Lemon Creek and realised even though less charming, the location was fabulous -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel, staff and services. You are right that internet challenges were due to the unexpectedly large number of users during the conferences happening at that period. It was refreshing to get feedback about our conferencing facilities as well. Reviews such as yours serve as a moral booster and confirm... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

The only thing I'll give to the hotel is location. Be guided when checking in because they don't allow visitors to visit your room and charge you £30 if you insist, the annoying part is they don't tell you all these when checking in. When it happened to me I was very frustrated and told them they should have told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always useful to get feedback from guests especially in cases such as this where misunderstandings and misconceptions can be set right. Kairaba Beach Hotel has no qualms about guests receiving visitors in the room, however it is our hotel policy to charge an extra £30... More 

Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

After last years visit we were not sure what to expect this year due to the number of negative reviews. Yes the hotel had closed a number of restaurants and cut out the evening happy hour by the pool.but with the low number of guests staying this was perfectly understandable. The kingfisher was opened for breakfast, pool bar for lunch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, it is most refreshing to read your review and such a relief to realize that some of our repeat guests especially do understand our predicament. We do have an adequate number of restaurants open to serve our guests serving the same fare that our guests have been accustomed to. New menus were introduced 1st of April taking... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

The hotel lives up to it's billing of 'The Grand Old Lady of The Gambia'. Facilities are very good although showing a few signs of age, although the beach is non - existent. In theory the bars and restaurants should be plentiful, but when I stayed (10th to 24th April), only the pool restaurant and bar (during the day) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, We thank you for reviewing our hotel. Your feedback is important to us. Thank you for the compliments regarding our hotel, grounds, staff and services. Due to the low number of arrivals starting April, there were fewer restaurant options, 3 only as opposed to 5 during the winter season, . However new menus introduced in April for... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel which has had quite a few negative reviews. Our first visit for evening meal in the Kingfisher restaurant was fine, but it declined in quality and service thereafter.Aware of problems here(there was on use by four peopl in the evening I beleive, management closed the hotel after breakfast each day and upgraded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith Lovegrove, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy to note that the upgrade from the quiet kingfisher to the African restaurant was suitable for you. We are also happy to note your kind compliments regarding the staff, room, gardens and ambiance of the hotel. Certainly guests reading your review will know for sure that Ebola and... More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

We stayed at this hotel from 11th-18th March and enjoyed a lovely relaxing week.Although I observe trip advisor I very rarely write a review but after reading some of the negative comments on this hotel I felt I had to write a review. If you want some winter sun this is the place to go. The pool area was lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, It means a lot to us to learn that a guest has stayed with us and taken back timeless memories of their ''Kairaba Experience'' to share with friends and families alike. It is even more remarkable that you have taken the time to share on TripAdvisor for the whole world to see, lifting us out of the... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Our first visit to The Gambia so we were pleased to find a medium sized, well reviewed hotel in a great location. Room - We chose a standard room and it was adequate for us. The small, 2 seats and a small table, balcony of the 'standard' block rooms look out onto a small garden between reception and the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, We are so thrilled to learn from first time visitors that we still have what it takes to leave a good impression of a memorable holiday at Kairaba. Your review offered a guided tour on products, facilities and services. I would recommend that you sample our 5- Star lunch and dinner options from our Kingfisher, Malimbe, Shikra... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

578 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (554)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (142)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (135)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Family/play areas (16)
Viewed
View from room (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay