We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kairaba Beach Hotel

PMB 390, Serekunda, Gambia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Why TripAdvisor?
  • Lowest prices from 200+ sites
  • 1.5 million hotels and accommodations
  • 225 million reviews and opinions
Save
You added Kairaba Beach Hotel to your Saves list

At a glance

86%
Positive reviews?
KEY AMENITIES
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
See all

HOTEL PHOTOS

Kairaba Beach Hotel
Professional photos

BROWSE NEARBY

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    695 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Rate and write a review
    Roll over, then click to rate
      Click to rate
    Traveler rating
      325
      275
      60
      24
      11
    See reviews for
    66
    416
    27
    42
    Rating summary
    • Location
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      4 of 5 stars
    • Service
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Value
      4 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4.5 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
    Date | Rating
    • Dutch first
    • English first
    • French first
    • German first
    • Italian first
    • Japanese first
    • Portuguese first
    • Russian first
    • Spanish first
    • Swedish first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (695)
    • Mar-May only
      (234)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (79)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (127)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (255)
    All months
    Lowestoft, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    2 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We have been coming to Gambia every year since 1999 but this is the first time we have stayed at the Kariaba. We have our own house. The hotel is a haven of peace and tranquility, the only interruption is the wail of the magnificent peacock calling to his rival or maybe trying to impress his three lady friends.small birds... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Rsmrycrisp, Thank you for reviewing our hotel.. We are pleased to learn that the 'Kairaba Experience; is still alive and kicking. Our staff are thrilled to know that we still have what it takes and that their efforts are much appreciated. They remember you well and look forward to welcoming you back here soonest. Warmest regards, More 

    West Midlands
    Level Contributor
    6 reviews
    5 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

    We returned to Kairaba in April having also visited in December. Please give the management a chance it takes time for new ideas to take place especially in a country that is being affected by the Ebola. There are no cases of Ebola in Gambia. We were surprised by the small changes on our visit in December but don't let... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Valued guest, Your review is as refreshing as a breath of fresh air. You have understood exactly what we are trying to achieve and have acknowledged our efforts to add value to the property. We thank you heartily for your glowing review, it makes all our efforts worthwhile and encourages us to continue in our bid to improve and... More 

    Portsmouth
    Level Contributor
    3 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

    Once we paid to upgrade our room we had a thoroughly enjoyable 3 weeks at the Kairaba. The room and pool staff are lovely & the security guys and gardeners were brilliant & very knowledgeable which made up for a very poor start. We paid Thomas Cook for an upgraded room - which turned out to be overlooking the entrance... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    Kairaba B, Guest Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Valued guest, Your review of our hotel is most welcomed by staff and management as it helps us to grow and gauge where we stand in terms of service and delivery. We are happy to note that you had a great holiday at our hotel and connected well with our staff. We invite you to come again soonest to... More 

    Level Contributor
    45 reviews
    19 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

    You wake up to the sound of chirping bird including peacocks and a troop of monkeys. The friendly staff were so helpful and the pool was clean. The down side is the wifi only works in the lobby and the mosquitoes feast on you while there in the lobby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Valued guest, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Your observations are important to us. We have have discussed with the IT Manager and Housekeeping departments regarding your observations regarding WIFI and mosquitoes in the Lobby and have been assured that greater attention will be adhered to avoid further incidents of such nature. Thanks you for the compliments on Kairaba... More 

    Nairobi, Kenya
    Level Contributor
    13 reviews
    7 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

    I came to Gambia for a conference and we stayed here. Very good venue for a conference - large and therefore apt to be somewhat impersonal. Lots of interesting trees in the garden. It has a great great location - I went to see someone staying at Lemon Creek and realised even though less charming, the location was fabulous -... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Valued guest, Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel, staff and services. You are right that internet challenges were due to the unexpectedly large number of users during the conferences happening at that period. It was refreshing to get feedback about our conferencing facilities as well. Reviews such as yours serve as a moral booster and confirm... More 

    1 review
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

    The only thing I'll give to the hotel is location. Be guided when checking in because they don't allow visitors to visit your room and charge you £30 if you insist, the annoying part is they don't tell you all these when checking in. When it happened to me I was very frustrated and told them they should have told... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always useful to get feedback from guests especially in cases such as this where misunderstandings and misconceptions can be set right. Kairaba Beach Hotel has no qualms about guests receiving visitors in the room, however it is our hotel policy to charge an extra £30... More 

    Hythe, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    69 reviews
    40 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

    After last years visit we were not sure what to expect this year due to the number of negative reviews. Yes the hotel had closed a number of restaurants and cut out the evening happy hour by the pool.but with the low number of guests staying this was perfectly understandable. The kingfisher was opened for breakfast, pool bar for lunch... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Valued guest, it is most refreshing to read your review and such a relief to realize that some of our repeat guests especially do understand our predicament. We do have an adequate number of restaurants open to serve our guests serving the same fare that our guests have been accustomed to. New menus were introduced 1st of April taking... More 

    Attleborough, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    4 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

    The hotel lives up to it's billing of 'The Grand Old Lady of The Gambia'. Facilities are very good although showing a few signs of age, although the beach is non - existent. In theory the bars and restaurants should be plentiful, but when I stayed (10th to 24th April), only the pool restaurant and bar (during the day) and... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Valued guest, We thank you for reviewing our hotel. Your feedback is important to us. Thank you for the compliments regarding our hotel, grounds, staff and services. Due to the low number of arrivals starting April, there were fewer restaurant options, 3 only as opposed to 5 during the winter season, . However new menus introduced in April for... More 

    Southampton, United Kingdom
    1 review
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

    Just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel which has had quite a few negative reviews. Our first visit for evening meal in the Kingfisher restaurant was fine, but it declined in quality and service thereafter.Aware of problems here(there was on use by four peopl in the evening I beleive, management closed the hotel after breakfast each day and upgraded... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Keith Lovegrove, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy to note that the upgrade from the quiet kingfisher to the African restaurant was suitable for you. We are also happy to note your kind compliments regarding the staff, room, gardens and ambiance of the hotel. Certainly guests reading your review will know for sure that Ebola and... More 

    Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    3 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

    We stayed at this hotel from 11th-18th March and enjoyed a lovely relaxing week.Although I observe trip advisor I very rarely write a review but after reading some of the negative comments on this hotel I felt I had to write a review. If you want some winter sun this is the place to go. The pool area was lovely... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    Kairaba B, Public Relations Manager at Kairaba Beach Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Valued guest, It means a lot to us to learn that a guest has stayed with us and taken back timeless memories of their ''Kairaba Experience'' to share with friends and families alike. It is even more remarkable that you have taken the time to share on TripAdvisor for the whole world to see, lifting us out of the... More 

    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    578 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (554)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (142)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (135)
    Viewed
    Dining (28)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (46)
    Viewed
    Family/play areas (16)
    Viewed
    View from room (34)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (2)
    Viewed
    0:43
    Videos (1)
    Viewed
    Other (150)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (24)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (3)
    Viewed
    Dining (6)
    Viewed
    View from room (1)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (5)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (4)
    Viewed
    Business center/function rooms (1)
    Viewed
    Other (4)
    Check In Check Out
    Show Prices
    Hotels you might also like...
    Also consider these accommodations in or near Serekunda
    0.2 mi away
    Senegambia Beach Hotel
    Senegambia Beach Hotel
    #2 of 7 in Serekunda
    4.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
    4.1 mi away
    Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa
    0.3 mi away
    Kololi Beach Club
    Kololi Beach Club
    #2 of 9 in Kololi
    4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    4.9 mi away
    Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
    2.0 mi away
    Kombo Beach Hotel
    Kombo Beach Hotel
    #2 of 6 in Kotu
    4.0 of 5 stars 741 reviews
    0.0 mi away
    Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Amenities

    Enter dates for best prices
    Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
    Price Your Stay