We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

2.5 of 5 48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    142
    81
    56
    74
See reviews for
188
157
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (501)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (273)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I came to stay at this hotel and within hours of them swiping my credit card there were unauthorized charges adding up to over $1000 billed to my account. Mind you I hadnt used my card anywhere else when this happened. When I called the management to let them know about the incident, they denied any possible fault on their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There is really nothing special about the hotel itself, however, it is conveniently located and allows travellers to walk to just about everywhere downtown that they may need. the room s are decent, the Grand portion of the hotel is the most recently renovated and isn't anything spectacular, the the lake views are great! The patio out back is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Andrew A, Thanks for sharing your great experience with other Trip Advisor Travelers. In regards to your comments on , “Best Hotel in Lake George”, we appreciate your kind words. I will pass your praise on to our Front Office Manager, Ryan and his staff. Our staff strives daily to deliver a product that exceeds our guests’ expectations. It... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding that was nearby. Lake George is absolutely beautiful! Was my first time there and thoroughly enjoyed it! The hotel was nice, and the rooms were clean, but if you want a quiet room, make sure you do not get a room on the 1st floor. I also think it was pretty pricey considering it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Leigh F, Thank you for sharing your experience, at our hotel, with other Trip Advisor patrons. We appreciate your comments. Our staff strives daily to deliver a product that exceeds our guests’ expectations. I will pass your comments along to them. We hope you get the opportunity to come back to the Lake George region and allow us to... More 

Holliston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

True, the town of Lake George is essentially closed from a typical tourist perspective, including the tourist required McDonald's, but the Fort William Hotel doesn't let that stop them. Attended a wedding this weekend and found FWH a very good place to stay. The hotel is located at the end of the lake, the historic colonial era Fort William almost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Dale F, Thank you kind comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We have many guests who return year after year and sometimes multiple times during the year. Your comments are a true indication of how our staff strives every day to make our guests’ experience a positive, memorable one. It is always great to hear from one of... More 

Maygon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend Fall getaway. Although the town is all but shut down in November (even Mcds is closed) we went for hiking. Upon check in we WERE given a room that didnt face the lake even though thats what we d paid for. It was only a brief inconvenience since the ladies at the desk took care... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Maygon, Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your stay at our hotel. We have many guests who return year after year, and sometimes multiple times during the year. Your comments are a true indication of how our staff strives every day to make our guests’ experience a positive, memorable one. It is always great to hear that we... More 

Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014 via mobile

Our 1st impression...the hostesses Carmen & Sue were very inviting when checking us in. We stayed on the 5th floor. Our rm was very nice. Coffee machine in the rm is old and ridiculous! Please upgrade. The Jacuzzi was nice. Hotel didn't receive a 5⭐ because the coffee beverage machines in the lobby and in the room is lame!!! More... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Laurie H Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your feedback will be of great help to others travelers to Lake George. I will pass along your praise to Carmen and Sue. They make a commitment during our orientation process to treat every guest as family. We are glad to see the dedication... More 

Suffern, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Was here for a wedding on Sun. Arrived on Saturday afternoon. None of the restaurants/bars were open because there were 4 weddings going on, and they use the restaurants/bars for the receptions. Our room overlooked the lake and was large. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were hard cylinder-shaped things. Never saw pillows like that; they were awful. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth L, Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have different types of accommodations, each with their own location,... More 

Clifton Park, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding that was taking place there. We went for the lowest price rooms which were older and motel style where you can drive up to the door. We didn't expect much since we went for the cheaper older room ($100). It was old, outdated, and nothing special. The bed wasn't the most comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Dan S, Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve. We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We have different types of accommodations, each with their own... More 

pennsylvania
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
37 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We were with a large group. The room was very well appointed and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately the visit was at the end of their season and so the bar was not fully stock as they were running down inventory. Breakfast was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear ForbesB, Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again... More 

Syracuse, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We stayed overnight for a wedding and booked a room in the standard west section of the hotel. We were not impressed with the accommodations. The bedding was clean and updated but the rest of the room was lacking. The bathroom was small, and the shower was not good, shower curtain sticking to you, shower head was a dull spray... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear mrsbeeshultz, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor .Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve. We are sorry that our standard hotel did not meet your expectations. As you stated in your review, we have different types of accommodations, each with their own location,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Groupon, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (114)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
2:42
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay