We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

2.5 of 5 48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    141
    81
    56
    73
See reviews for
186
156
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (498)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (273)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Holliston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

True, the town of Lake George is essentially closed from a typical tourist perspective, including the tourist required McDonald's, but the Fort William Hotel doesn't let that stop them. Attended a wedding this weekend and found FWH a very good place to stay. The hotel is located at the end of the lake, the historic colonial era Fort William almost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Dale F, Thank you kind comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We have many guests who return year after year and sometimes multiple times during the year. Your comments are a true indication of how our staff strives every day to make our guests’ experience a positive, memorable one. It is always great to hear from one of... More

Maygon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a weekend Fall getaway. Although the town is all but shut down in November (even Mcds is closed) we went for hiking. Upon check in we WERE given a room that didnt face the lake even though thats what we d paid for. It was only a brief inconvenience since the ladies at the desk took care... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Maygon, Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your stay at our hotel. We have many guests who return year after year, and sometimes multiple times during the year. Your comments are a true indication of how our staff strives every day to make our guests’ experience a positive, memorable one. It is always great to hear that we... More

Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our 1st impression...the hostesses Carmen & Sue were very inviting when checking us in. We stayed on the 5th floor. Our rm was very nice. Coffee machine in the rm is old and ridiculous! Please upgrade. The Jacuzzi was nice. Hotel didn't receive a 5⭐ because the coffee beverage machines in the lobby and in the room is lame!!! More... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Laurie H Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your feedback will be of great help to others travelers to Lake George. I will pass along your praise to Carmen and Sue. They make a commitment during our orientation process to treat every guest as family. We are glad to see the dedication... More

Suffern, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was here for a wedding on Sun. Arrived on Saturday afternoon. None of the restaurants/bars were open because there were 4 weddings going on, and they use the restaurants/bars for the receptions. Our room overlooked the lake and was large. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were hard cylinder-shaped things. Never saw pillows like that; they were awful. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth L, Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have different types of accommodations, each with their own location,... More

Clifton Park, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding that was taking place there. We went for the lowest price rooms which were older and motel style where you can drive up to the door. We didn't expect much since we went for the cheaper older room ($100). It was old, outdated, and nothing special. The bed wasn't the most comfortable,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Dan S, Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve. We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We have different types of accommodations, each with their own... More

pennsylvania
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were with a large group. The room was very well appointed and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately the visit was at the end of their season and so the bar was not fully stock as they were running down inventory. Breakfast was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear ForbesB, Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again... More

Syracuse, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We stayed overnight for a wedding and booked a room in the standard west section of the hotel. We were not impressed with the accommodations. The bedding was clean and updated but the rest of the room was lacking. The bathroom was small, and the shower was not good, shower curtain sticking to you, shower head was a dull spray... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear mrsbeeshultz, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor .Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve. We are sorry that our standard hotel did not meet your expectations. As you stated in your review, we have different types of accommodations, each with their own location,... More

Stephentown, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

The wedding we attended here was absolutely lovely - the fall foliage made the background of the outdoor wedding look painted it was so pretty. The food and service at the wedding was top notch - you couldn't ask for nicer servers or better food. Our room was lovely... but there were some definite quirks. We had room 145 -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear KimMcMann, Thank you for commenting on our hotel and informing other travelers your stay at the Fort William Henry Hotel. Our staff strives daily to deliver a product that exceeds our guests’ expectations. I will share your comments with our Management Team at our weekly meeting. Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you... More

Boston, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

The views from the hotel are wonderful, all the staff were friendly and helpful, The location is perfect for walking around the town, the ferries, mini golf, town park for concerts, restaurants, etc. The restuarants on the property have good food, fair prices and friendly staff. Visit the Fort WH Musuem next door, very interesting. We stayed late August 2014... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear P C, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel, and recommending us to other Trip Advisor patrons. In regards to your comments ,“Great views, friendly staff, etc…. ”, we appreciate your kind words and and descriptions of our location. Our staff strives daily to deliver a product that exceeds our guests’ expectations. It is always nice to... More

North Creek, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We've stayed at this location before, but never in a lakefront room. While our room was old and could use some renovations, it was clean and well appointed. I appreciate a club chair and ottoman. The towels were plentiful. The view was gorgeous. My biggest complaint was that you could hear the people in the next room even when they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear longboat614, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with other Trip Advisor travelers. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve. Located at the Southern end of Lake George, we do have a great location and an incredible view year round. Your assessment of our... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

140 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (114)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
2:42
Videos (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay