We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    154
    84
    59
    74
See reviews for
194
175
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (531)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (273)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Valatie, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent our honeymoon there Sept. 5th 1980. We have gone back for many years. Our Daughter was married there on June 13th 2009. The Hotel overlooks the Lake George. What a view. Has a outdoor pool and also a indoor pool and hot tub. It is in walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. It also open during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff were so accommodating when we needed to change to a handicapped accessible room. We stayed 3 nights on a special promotion they had with Groupon. The cost was affordable and the breakfast menu included with our stay was very good. The view from the back sitting area is just beautiful. Overlooking Lake George and the surrounding mountains is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Latham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed one night. The hotel was nicely maintained. We were pleasantly surprised to be placed in a lake front room. The veranda was relaxing and comfortable overlooking the lake. We had breakfast the next morning which was delicious. However, service was slow but they were busy. This location is perfect! Highly recommend!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northport, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Impossible to contact them by phone (2 days trying it). Arrived at 12:50AM on Saturday after driving 6 hours.They assigned us room 146 (the closest to the reception). Supposedly, it is a lake front view room, but it actually is a backyard's furniture view. You have to keep curtains closed the whole day (and night). Obviously, I requested another room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel in early May. The hotel was ok, despite the fact that events that were advertised prominently by the hotel were not open yet when we were visiting. Overall our experience was fairly positive, but I can't help but feel like we were "bait and switched."

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best thing about this hotel is the location. We stayed in a Grand Lake, King room. When we got there early, we found out that we were booked in to a Grand Lake Double room; I reserved the room through Groupon. --if you book through Groupon, call ahead of time to ensure that you are booked correctly; the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear mrselaines, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with other Trip Advisor Travelers. We appreciate your comments. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us toimprove. I will bring your comment on the “Menu” to the attention of our food service department. It was a pleasure... More 

Austintown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I mistakenly thought I had booked for the pretty main hotel, until I arrived & I was directed to the motel a few steps away. I was not happy about this at first since the motel looks a little old. However, once we got to the 2nd floor standard room we were not disappointed. The view of Lake George, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Mama027, Thank you for commenting on our hotel and informing other travelers about We appreciate your compliments and kind words. Many of our guests enjoy the motel accommodations, not only for the view, but also because of its’ proximity in the summer to our Olympic size outdoor pool. Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure... More 

Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a Groupon so $80 a night including breakfast and feel we got our moneys worth. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a buffet the weekend we were there so you couldn't go wrong. Lots to do in the area. Only tip I have is make sure you are getting the room you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Heatherb77471, Thank you for commenting on our hotel and informing other travelers about location. We appreciate your compliments and kind words. Your tips are very helpful. Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we... More 

Staten Island, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at FWH hotel for a weekend in April and took advantage of a Groupon deal. It was our first time visiting Lake George and were initially a little upset that everything in the area was closed and apparently only opens after Memorial Day. However, we planned to go hiking, so that was amazing! We arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Julisa C, Thank you for commenting on our hotel and informing other travelers about our Jacuzzi rooms and convenient location. We appreciate your compliments and kind words. Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Janice and Carmin were both very helpful with helping us find what we needed whether it was hiking trails, or restaurants, or unique shops. The staff left a very nice impression on me and my wife all around- as they were very warm and friendly. The room was great, clean, and the shower was very hot with great pressure. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Dear Peter L, Thank you for sharing your kind remarks, regarding your stay at our hotel, with other trip advisor travelers. I will pass your compliments on to Janice and Carmen. Your comments are a true indication of how our staff strives every day to make our guests’ experience a positive, memorable one. It is always great to hear that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
2:42
Videos (6)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities