We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Ithaca hotels

Comfort Inn

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   356 Elmira Rd., Ithaca, NY 14850
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
52%
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Ithaca
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
David Z
  • Overview
  • Reviews (136)
  • Photos (29)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    49
    32
    20
    16
See reviews for
60
28
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ithaca hotels are all overpriced because of the proximity to the colleges. Having said that, the Comfort Inn was clean and a decent value at $120. The bed was very comfortable. Hot Breakfast was good and they kept it well stocked but the yogurt refrigerator was empty. This was our 2nd visit and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mendenhall
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The desk staff signing us in (during a steady down-pour) were congenial and helpful. The room was nicely equipped, with very comfortable bed and pillows. TV and WiFi were available and worked. Lighting at the bedside was excellent for reading. The location, just outside of downtown Ithaca, was excellent for our needs. We had spent the afternoon exploring Cornell Plantations.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nancy W, Thank you so much for your comments. Our desk staff is very helpful, they all try to make our guests stay welcoming. I am glad you enjoyed our location. We are so close to everything in Ithaca. There is so much to do, see and experience. You visited some of the places we like the most. We... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed overnight at this property. It was a pleasant room and we really appreciated the great service provided. We were offered a room with a jacuzzi, which we was very welcome at the end of a long day of driving. The only hitch was that rooms with jacuzzis were only available on the second floor. However, Joshua offered to carry... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear 1001Ali, Karyl and Josh are both a joy to have and work with. I will pass on your comments to both of them. I am happy to hear you had a nice relaxing evening and enjoyed the park the following day. We are close to so much in Ithaca, especially hiking. Thank you for thinking of staying with us... More

Cicero, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room had a musty smell. It wasn't bad enough for us to request another room, but it was not welcoming. At $200 a night, this property is significantly overpriced. I was traveling with my wife to a friend's wedding and this facility did not meet my expectations. Evidently there was some event nearby that drove up demand for rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Mark M, Thank you for your comments regarding our facility. We always can and want to improve in any and all ways possible. We are however, looking forward to many changes around us and in our own building. The location next door to us is going under renovations and will become a much nicer area. We also are doing renovations... More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was clean (a bit of staining in the bathroom but no dirt) and relatively spacious. The location was very good and the staff were friendly. The tv had a few dozen basic channels, but no "on demand" or anything like that. The main issue was that the internet had a habit of slowing down to a crawl in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear ABjorndahl, Thank you for letting me know about the internet issues you experienced. We will be looking into how we can make it smoother for future guests. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with it. We do have an excellent location for everything Ithaca has to offer from the colleges to entertainment and dining. Thank you for commenting... More

NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I'm usually very happy with Comfort Inn but this one was disappointing. The room was heavily perfumed to cover up something. I'm guessing it was the perpetually wet carpet by the sliding door/AC area. Either the AC leaks constantly into the carpet or the gutter system right over the sliding door is somehow letting water in. Whatever it is, fix... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jennifer F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know the issues you experienced during your stay. We have taken your information and addressed the issues with our staff. I apologize for the inconvenience you had. Our staff tries to accommodate and we unfortunately fell short. We can always better ourselves with information like this. If you are in the area again let us... More

Rome
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Bathroom pictures are posted. The breakfast was non-existent.When I asked if there were any scrambled eggs I was told no. There was some sausage and bacon out but nothing else to eat with it. There was an out of order sign on the waffle maker with a burnt and dry waffle still stuck in it. There was a few breads/bagels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jennifer F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

VChrist, This is very poor on our part for allowing you to have an experience with us like that. Our staff tries to rise above expectations and in this case we did not. I apologize for you experience and we will be correcting the issues. Thank you for passing this info on for us to use. Best, Jennifer Foster GM More

Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Overall this was a good stay. We were satisfied with our accommodations and the rest of the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The gentleman that ran the breakfast station was particularly friendly. The rooms are mostly renovated. Rooms with 2 queen beds felt just a bit cramped with the large dresser, TV, and desk with chair, but it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Vision337, Thank you for complimenting our staff. They are an exceptional group of people. I will pass your comments on to our breakfast individual Angelo as well. He is wonderful to have in the morning. We are close to everything as you stated, a great location for everything Ithaca. We are looking into the AC issue you experienced in the... More

Granite Falls, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The toilet in our room had not been cleaned and there was mold on the shower curtain. We paid $160/night for the room -- we expected a clean bathroom. The breakfast selection wasn't overwhelming. The only positive I could say is that the man who greeted us at check-in was very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear TracyWfromWA, Thank you for complimenting our desk person upon check in. I appreciate all feedback, good and bad. There is always room for improvement. I am upset to hear the rest of your comments. I do expect much more from the staff. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while staying with us. I will be using your comments... More

Aston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We checked in with Josh. He was just wonderful, friendly as could be. We soon met Sarah, also a great person. Both of them were helpful and knowledgeable with info about the area. They both treated us like old friends. The next morning the woman who took the omelet order as well as the cook were also very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear 443GhH, Thank you so much for complimenting Josh, Sarah and our morning breakfast individuals. They are a great group of people. We are very proud to have them all here. They are exceptional. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to a return visit. Regards, Jennifer Foster General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 356 Elmira Rd., Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Ithaca
Comfort Inn Ithaca
Ithaca Comfort Inn

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ithaca with
any amenities

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
79

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer