We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
356 Elmira Rd., Ithaca, NY 14850
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Comfort Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    52
    40
    27
    19
See reviews for
72
31
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (160)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is going through some renovations. Even with new baths, one of the rooms still had mold in it. We were given a new room instead. The toilet in the other room was dirty. The hotel had only single staff member for late night, responsible for anything from check in to cleaning the toilet. The breakfast is similar to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gadi, Thanks for your informative review. I have copied our Executive Housekeeper on your comments about the room. We will be speaking our food representative about more heathier options. We do appreciate the kind words about the staff. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you have further comments at jmcmann@twintierhospitality.com. We truly value your feedback. Best, Jim McMann More 

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pre paid for one night through Hotwire. This hotel was under construction so the front desk and breakfast areas were in guest rooms. Hallways and stairways were dirty, but our room was clean. Breakfast was sparse and typical, however eating in adjoining guest rooms was awkward. The only bright spot was the front dest clerk Jeffrey who was pleasant and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Eatright, How disappointing to hear about your stay with us! Although we are keeping the construction at one end of the hotel, it is regretful that you did not have a comfortable stay. Thank you for your kind words about Jeffrey. He is one of our best assets. The construction should be done in the next few weeks and... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

This hotel was a hot mess....there was major construction, which we were not informed of when booking. While the front desk employee was very nice and helpful, when we checked out I signed a receipt for $159. However, my credit card statement reflected a charge of $179.00. When I called (with a copy of my signed receipt) the manager was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Best47958, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Eatright, Thank you for taking a moment to fill our survey on your recent experience. Jeffrey, our clerk, is a great team member and always has a smile on his face! We apologize about the ongoing construction in the new breakfast room and office. We hope to have them finished in the next few weeks. We hope to see... More 

United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

I was here in July 2014 for the Cornell Young Birders Event. It took a while to get acquainted with the area given how different Ithaca is from most other places. Josh was so friendly that he provided probably the best customer service I've seen to date. My stay here was great and I will most definitely be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ithaca4lyfe, Thanks for your very high marks for our hotel. We do try to go above and beyond for every guest. The next time you are visiting the Lab of Ornithology, please do call us. Best, Jim McMann More 

Greenville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

I needed a pet friendly hotel for what I thought was going to be for about a week. I ran into some unexpected complications and ended up staying for over two weeks. My room was cozy and the morning breakfast was a welcome added bonus. The exterior lighting was super convenient when walking my dog at night. However what puts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, You truly made Jamie's day with your review! We are so happy to have you and Benny as our guest. It is customers like you that makes us happy to come to work each day. We hope to see you again in the future(and thanks for helping us fold towels! Best, Jim McMann More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I have been to a lot of comfort suites and this one is fine however I wouldn't pay $100-$150 a night for the experience I had. We were not informed about the major construction when booking online. The front of the hotel is closed off so instead we had to go through a side door of the hotel, and one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Karly, Thank you for your input on your recent stay. Obviously, there is no excuse for the condition of the room. I have printed your comments and our executive housekeeper will review this in their meeting this morning. Our construction should be done at the end of May. We will have an all new breakfast room, office and entrance.... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Clean rooms, clean bathrooms. For a night passing through the room is sufficient. Wi-fi was finicky, but worked. Friendly staff. Parking was tough to find. Breakfast was ok as long as you wanted cereal and a waffle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear lamsolar, Thank for your positive comments on the room and our staff. I do apologize for the lack of parking. As our construction comes to an end, we anticipate more parking available as well as our return to a full breakfast. We hope to see you again in the future when visiting Ithaca. Best, Jim McMann More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Very bad experience with this hotel. I booked two rooms for one night two months before the commencement weekend. However, I was told only a month later that the front desk mistakenly booked my room to April instead of May. Now they require three nights’ of minimum stay with a dramatically increased rate during the commencement weekend. Nobody told me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Best47958, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Qing, We do apologize for the misunderstanding regarding your review. We also apologize that the two options offered by the general manager were not to your liking. If you go to Visitithaca.com, there are other options to assist you with graduation. Sincerely, Jim McMann More 

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We were there to visit our son and didn't realize the hotel was going through some massive renovations. While it generally didn't impact our stay, the lobby was relocated to a room and the breakfast room was relocated in a room down the hall from the make-shift lobby. The room itself had a strange odor...we couldn't quite figure out if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Caroline, I apologize if you were not told about the rennovations beforehand. We will reiterate to our staff to let the guest know about the improvements we are making. I have forwarded your comments to our Executive Housekeeper to review with her staff. Should you be returning to the Ithaca area in the future to visit your son, we... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Since we booked the hotel online, we had no idea that it was under construction... It was a pretty shocking sight driving up to! After walking in a sketchy side door to a messy makeshift hotel office, we were pretty uneasy. However, it wasn't that bad. I felt bad for the front desk clerk, as he was very nice but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Dear Victoria, We are disappointed to hear that you not informed about the construction going on at the hotel. The work should be done by April, but that is no excuse to not being informed beforehand. Thank you for your comments on the staff, the room and breakfast. Even though we have work to do, the staff is striving to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay