We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hotel Ithaca

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
222 S. Cayuga St., Ithaca, NY 14850 (Formerly Holiday Inn Ithaca)
Special Offer
Phish Magnaball Package
The Hotel Ithaca
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Ithaca
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Karen R Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    100
    92
    61
    28
See reviews for
93
76
20
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (313)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was here yesterday for my bday I booked a room in advance and pay $150 for only 1 night. Their website said free wifi but actually their wifi is not reliable at all. It kick me out every minute. I will never book this hotel anymore No compliment breakfast. WiFi no good

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As an IHG member, I was not sure what to expect with the switch in ownership. Front desk staff is extremely helpful (thank you, James and Sonny); love the new laminate flooring in the rooms stead of carpet, extra large shower is great. Very thoughtful gratis buffet breakfast for college parents over graduation weekend. Down the hill from Ithaca College;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Dear Karen, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your review. We are always glad to have former Holiday Inn guests return to see what we are all about under the Hotel Ithaca flag. I have passed your thanks onto James and Sonny. I do hope that you will return in the... More 

Somers, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love Ithaca. Great town, shops, coffee and feel. Traveled here for business. Got a decent Priceline rate for the hotel. Lobby is nice and the staff is helpful. Typical room with a king size bed but not enough pillows. Yes, they gave me what I needed but nothing more than average here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Dear Mike, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Ithaca upon your recent visit.I am glad that you enjoyed your time in town, however I am dismayed that we failed to impress you at the hotel. If you are in Ithaca again in the future, we hope that you give us another chance to please. Our staff is always available and... More 

Christchurch
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely loved the comfortable beds in this hotel. It would have to be the best bed I have ever had in a hotel.....once I found it under all the pillows. My only criticism is that I couldn't get a glass of wine as the bar closed early at 10pm despite our group of 33 people arriving. Seems like once things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Dear Deb, Thank you for joining us at the Hotel Ithaca as well as your review here on Tripadvisor. I am so glad our rooms were able to exceed your expectations. I do remember your arrival and I must apologize again that our bar was not open for you as it should have been. I intend to speak with our... More 

Farmingville, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't necessarily have any major complaints about the room I stayed in as it was considered an up scale room and was nicely maintained, except there weren't enough towels in the room and that they did not replace all toiletries used. The coffee was HORRIBLE! The food was HORRIBLE! I was traveling on business and Hotel Ithaca hosted my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us here at the Hotel Ithaca for your conference. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed at least some aspects of your stay. I am however very disappointed to find out that you were dipleased with you meal during the conference. I invite you to please contact the hotel and speak with our catering manager... More 

Buffalo, New York, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had to go out of town for work and thought I'd like a decent place to stay so went on price line and got a deal here for $65 a night. What a deal! Probably the nicest hotel in town, central to everything and friendly staff, especially Dana at the front desk and Sam at the bar. I stayed two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Dear Rob, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Ithaca for your business needs. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I have passed your compliments onto Sam, the bartender as well. We will be pleased to see you again should you choose our hotel for business or leisure in the future. Best Regards, Dana Belluardo... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was selected for us and when I read reviews i was concerned that we would have a bad experience, which was not the case at all. We arrived early and they happily accommodated us with a room in the newer section, which was clean and spacious. It was a corner room on the 5th floor and had 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

I am very glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations for most aspects of your stay. It is, however, very disconcerting to hear that other aspects left much to be desired. Please accept my apologies on the state of the hallway in which your room was located, and for the chilly, undrinkable lobby coffee. Both of these points are... More 

Penn Yan, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our small famiily was charged 200 plus a night for a very average hotel -- this is what I'm used to paying for a 4 or 5 star luxury deal. I'd have switched if we had time - but too big of a hurry. Adding to the expense was the breakfast -- paid extra at the cafe. For $150 it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Hotel Ithaca on your recent visit. We greatly appreciate your business. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I was concerned to hear about your experience with our hotel. We strive to accommodate all our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the problems... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our daughter is in school at Cornell. This hotel is in a great location for when we visit. Too bad it's so seedy. There is a musty odor that permeates the hallway and rooms. The worst part however are the beds and bed linens. The mattresses are old and worn. The sheets are all but threadbare and there are no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Dear Guest, While I am glad you chose the Hotel Ithaca, I am dismayed to hear that your stay was less than pleasant. I must apologize for the state of the room you stayed in. While the part of the hotel your room was located is slated for renovation in the near future, that is no excuse for the odor... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible room service: The sheet on one bed is not changed, with hairs of someone else and stuff on it. There is very little toilet paper left in the bathroom when we entered. We tried to call front desk for toilet paper, only to find that the phone in the room was dead. Poor conditions: large areas of water stains... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelManagerHIIthaca, Guest Relations Manager at The Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am disappointed to hear that our hotel did not meet with your expectations. We are currently in the renovation stages of updating our product and would like to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay with us. It is our goal to insure all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay