We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN University Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1020 Ellis Hollow Road, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN University Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    94
    116
    71
    40
    27
See reviews for
142
63
25
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (348)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (137)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Uesd frequent traveler points for first night but was charged $26 for that night. Woman at front desk didn't know why but I think if might have been for local taxes. This was move in week for Cornell University where were were visiting our grandson. We were originally bored to stay at Best Western in nearby Cortland for reasonable rates.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Owen, We did adjust off the $26.00 off your room. Since you made the reservation through Best Western Central, sometime the information does not interface correctly and for that, we apologize. In Ithaca, there are certain special event weekends, such as orientation and Cornell Graduation where prices are at a premium. An e-mail confirmation was sent to you on... More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is located on the edge of Ithaca. It is old-fashioned or, shall we say, shabby with a receptionist receiving customers howling "hi guys". Not only: she keeps checking all your movements. There is a positive feature in that: she also helps you phone, suggesting what you should say! The breakfast is quite poor, served in a spoiled room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Enrico, I am sorry that you had a less than positive experience with our hotel. Our evening receptionist does tend to be a little overly friendly and we apologize that you did not take it that way. We have had many positive comments about the breakfast. I'm not sure what you meant by defining the room as spoiled. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ithaca hotels

Pawling, New York, Usa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very clean, appealing decor and friendly staff. Free breakfast is nice but very crowded at least when we were there. No problems checking in or out. Room was spotless and very nice looking with everything in working order.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lorain, Thanks for responding with your kind review. During breakfast time, we are now opening our pool area with extra seating. The hotel has been busy with many families looking at Cornell University. We hope to see you again in the future. Best, Jim McMann More 

Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Horrible ! Old and dirty. Our bed linens were ripped with stains. When I picked up the phone to request new set , the phone was covered in dust. New set arrived with spots that were about to rip due to wear and tear. Upon checkout I complained to the management she said unfortunately she can't compensate is due to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

- Made the mistake of believing all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, so I booked a stay here. - This hotel is a poorly maintained and the level of housekeeping is the worst I've seen in the last ten years of travelling. Paint peeing and wood rotting on the exterior. Severely outdated finishes on the interior. Corridor lighting was dark,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived late today for a one night stay and was not only horrified by the condition of this location that they call a Hotel (mattress OLD, carpets STAINED, room beyond DATED) but worse the $300 charge. If you are even considering staying here DONT! If we didn't book so last minute and there was nothing else available we would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have travelled from the Philippines to settle our son to Cornell. Having travelled so far we greatly appreciated how Jim, Terry and Sarah have made our stay comfortable and convenient throughout the week. The rooms at the Best Western was spacious, breakfast was adequate with waffles, eggs and sausages on top of the usual. More importantly, there was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear John A, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Move in at Cornell can potentially be a stressful situation and we are thrilled that we were able to make your stay more comfortable. Many of our guests have remarked about the shuttle service convenience. We hope to see you again in the future. Don't forget about... More 

Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not a fancy place. It is clean, well located and provides shuttle service to Cornell and restaurants. We were helped at the front desk by Sara - she was brimming with helpful tips and ideas. The rooms are big and spacious. Breakfast is perfectly adequate and the staff is very good at keeping it stocked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Babci_13, Thank you for your kind words about Sara. She does have alot of knowledge on the Ithaca area. I will also let our breakfast attendant know about your comments. We hope to see you in the future. Best, Jim McMann More 

Atlanta, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a convenient hotel to campus with a great staff. The appearance of the hotel is a little old but the rooms are very nice and include a microwave and small refrigerator. Very clean facility and judging from the full parking lot it is a popular choice.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Nancy, I will share your comments with our entire staff. Part of our popularity is our close location to Cornell, but also our location in the East Hill Plaza, with many eateries and 24 hour grocery store. We are glad you enjoyed the room with it's amenities. We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Jim McMann More 

Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently spent two nights at the Best Western as my daughter was touring Cornell, and we were very happy with this choice. The location was ideal--a 5-minute drive to campus and about 10 minutes to get downtown. Additionally, the room was quite large, and all the staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful. Some reviewers have mentioned the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Magmack, Thank you so much for your great review! I hope you were able to advantage of the shuttle to campus each day. Should you and your daughter decide that Cornell is in your future, we hope that you will stay with us again. Kind regards, Jim McMann More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#5 of 19 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
1.9 mi away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#12 of 19 in Ithaca
3.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay