We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN University Inn

2.5 of 5 1020 Ellis Hollow Road, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    98
    64
    30
    20
See reviews for
112
55
23
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (289)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a conference at Cornell. Large room and convenient location, but a little shabby, with older furniture and an old refrigerator cabinet that was full of dust and wouldn't close after I opened it. Pillows and mattresses were really comfortable but the sheets were actually too small to tuck in on both sides of the bed! The sheets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Erin, While we are glad, you were happy with our location and the breakfast, it is disappointing that you found the hotel dated. I wanted to let you know that we are currently installing new carpeting in all the rooms this week. I also printed this for our daily housekeeping meeting to review with all of our attendents. We... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used two rooms for one night in January. The good points: Location was near Cornell U and a Supermarket and strip-mall were nearby. The Continental Breakfast included waffles and take-out bananas. The property seemed to be in good repair. The staff were friendly. The not-so-good: It was the dead of winter and the heating system was not up to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carl I appreciate your first comments about the location, breakfast and staff. But I am sorry about the heating system you experienced. I wished we had the chance to rectify the situation before you had checked out. When you return, please e-mail me at jmcmann@twintierhospitality.com and I will personally take your reservation and inspect your room. We look forward... More 

spencer, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family enjoyed the stay everyone was so nice. I will be back. I was there during the snow, and the employees were great about keeping the walk ways clear. I always saw some one shoving and salting so we could walk safe.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you and your pet for your recent stay with us! We do have many guests that are pleased that we offer to take pets, especially with our proximity to the Cornell Veterinary Hospital. We also have some great walking paths. We hope to see you again(and your dog)!. Best, Jim McMann More 

Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting Cornell University. Pros: - Spacious rooms - Complimentary breakfast buffet -Complimentary shuttle service to/from airport, Cornell University and downtown Ithaca -Couple of restaurants next to the hotel Cons -Found some hair in the bathtub Overall a good experience in the hotel. Will recommend this property to those visiting Cornell University.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear moni, We appreciate your feedback during your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the services and the various eateries in the East Hill Plaza. The shuttle is one of our best assets and glad you were able to take advantage of it. We will be addressing your issues about housekeeping at our daily meeting.... More 

Utica, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Stayed first night at Best Western in Ithaca. Stayed the second night at the Hampton Inn. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Had to make extra trip to front desk because I was missing my remote for the TV. First inspection on the bed found many stains on the sheets and hairs on the pillow cases. The building is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rob, I apologize that the room accommodations were what you were expecting. The comments about the bedding and bathroom have been printed and are being review with housekeeping staff today. I completely understand the change in hotels the second night of your stay. We do take these critiques seriously and glad to have the feedback. This is the best... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Rooms are easily accessed from the parking lot--all on one level. Staff was helpful. Rooms are clean, comfortable. The hallway carpeting is pretty dated. Room had a good size bathroom, bedroom. There's a mini fridge and microwave. Close by is a bagel place in the shopping center that is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Marcia, Thanks for your complimentary remarks about your stay with us. You comments make us more aware of the improvements we need to attract and retain customers in the future. Collegetown Bagels is a very popular eatery in our plaza. You should check out Agava here in the plaza in the future. Best, Jim McMann More 

Sewickley, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Staff and house keeping were very friendly, work hard, and made sure that my stay was pleasant. BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY INN knows customer service. Room was comfortable and clean but a bit dated. Sheets were white, which I prefer, and crisp but the pillow situation was a bit odd (four square pillows for the bed, which I didn't understand). The... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Edward, We appreciate your recent review of the Best Western University Inn. We are quite proud of our staff and hope you had the chance to take advantage of our shuttle service. Your comments about the rooms have also been noted. The property will making several updates in the coming months and I think you will be pleased with... More 

groton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We were very pleased with our room. we were at the hotel for a couples night out celebrating our 32nd wedding anniversary. Breakfast was good, nice selection. Room was very clean. I loved the bed, my husband did not said it was to hard.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Congratulations on your 32nd anniversary! We are glad that you and your guests had such a good time. I will let housekeeping and our breakfast attendent know about your comments. I hope that you will consider again next year for your 33rd anniversary! Kind regards, Jim McMann More 

Potsdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

We like the Best Western very much. It’s quiet, cozy and warm. In fact, the comforter can be TOO warm. I bring my own pillow. I was a bit surprised that one doesn’t need a key card to enter from outside.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Potsdam_Sr, Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you were comfortable during your stay. The next time you stay, we can replace the comforter with a lighter one. If you have additional comments on how we can improve your next stay, please contact me at jmcmann@twintierhospitality.com Kind regards, Jim McMann More 

New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Open the Windows and purchase New Sheets, please; the hotel is blessed with a wonderful location, fresh air but please, clean the rooms thoroughly, open the windows before the next guest checks in and avoid the hole-plagued, rust-stained, hair-decorated bed sheets! A big plus for the on-time, very courteous van transportation! Nice complementary breakfast for the price of the room,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mona, Thank you for your constructive comments on the hotel. We have printed your comments for our daily housekeeping meeting so that we can do a better job on rooms. I am glad you had the chance to use our shuttle service and really appreciate your feedback on the breakfast. We do try to poll our guests on the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Address: 1020 Ellis Hollow Road, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Ithaca
Best Western Ithaca
Ithaca Best Western
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Ithaca

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay