We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN University Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1020 Ellis Hollow Road, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
What travelers say:
Very nice
(3)
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    102
    67
    34
    21
See reviews for
118
57
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (305)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were in Ithaca for Cornell Days. The staff here were welcoming and the shuttle drivers were incredibly helpful, orienting us to the area. The room was comfortable and warm, and breakfast was a huge plus given our tight schedule. The employee who helped us at check out made sure I knew all the upcoming important dates for families visiting... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfectly fine for a conference at Cornell if you do not want to walk around Ithaca. The location is not near a lot of "towny or college type" shops or restaurants. There is a 24 hr grocery store and that is a plus if you are on a budget.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mendocino, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was great. One of the best hotels we stayed at during our trip, but also the most expensive. Shuttle service from the hotel to Cornell University was a nice option for us.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tiffany, We appreciate you taking time to fill out our survey and appreciate your "five" you gave us. Ithaca does have periods throughout the year where prices can be higher than other times of the year. Should you be planning to return to Ithaca, we would pleased to sign you up for Best Western Rewards where you can accrue... More 

Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we got to the room the towels were hanging in a plastic bag, and the sink was dirty.We were tired so didn't complain. Then the toilet didn't flush. Again, too tired to complain so we just put up with the stink. In the morning, the shower didn't drain. Breakfast was adequate and eating area was clean. Upon checking out,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear RobW, The condition of your room is clearly unacceptable. I have printed this for our maintenance department to review. I am also speaking with the front desk clerk who checked you out as we typically require all clerks to ask how the stay was and possible rectify the situation before the guest leaves the hotel. I would like to... More 

Elyria, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great stay in Ithaca, NY. The area is a beautiful place to visit and the staff at the Best Western Ithaca make it exceptionally pleasant. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Excellent value and nice breakfast selection.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear jremalius, Thank you so much for your comments on the hotel and our staff! I am confident that the staff does their best to make the guest experience a positive one. We also appreciate your comments on the breakfast and are always thinking of ways to make it even better. We hope to see you again in the future.... More 

Deer Park, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was very clean. Requested extra towels, blankets and pillows on reservation, upon arriving we didn't have any towels at all and the extra pillows and blankets were not in the room. They were promptly brought to the room when we called. Next day, left tent card on bed for 6 towels in total (we were 5 people in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear MJcookie, Thanks for taking time to give your feedback about your recent stay. I have printed your comments and will review with our housekeeping department. Each day, we do a standup meeting with our housekeeping department and your review will be talked about. We are glad that you found the accommodations to your satisfaction and enjoyed the breakfast. Please... More 

Norridge, IL, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was disappointed with this hotel. It looks and feels like a run down motel, it was not very clean and it was noisy. Breakfast room was over crowded with broken appliances which added wait time for food which was served on cheapest paper plates which did not hold the food well. We didn't have soap or shampoo in our... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jolanta, On behalf of our hotel, we want to apologize for your recent stay. But these are the comments we need to improve our service. We were extremely busy over the weekend and should have added some additional tables and chairs in the lobby area. Although the stay was not to your standards, we hope that you will give... More 

Cape May Beach
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
40 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a hot tub next to the bed. Seemed strange but I suppose some like it, perhaps since they can then watch TV from the tub. The room was clean enough as was the bathroom. There was some mold above the plastic of the shower (a pet peeve), but not enough to make me want to move. WIFI was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Don, We appreciated your review of your stay with us. Some of our housekeeping supplies were late during your stay, so we had to resort to buying soap at the local grocery store. I have also forwarded your comments on the lower entrance to our executive housekeeper. Sometimes constructive comments are hard to take, but that is the only... More 

New York, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel staff was unpleasant, the room was gross and creepy with a giant bathtub in the middle of the room. Overall I didn't feel safe and didn't enjoy the stay. The bed was at least 15 years old, if not 30. It had visible depressions from other people sleeping on it. Overall, I was not a happy camper.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Julia, On behalf of the Best Western University, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have printed this review for our front desk staff. I wish we had the chance to change your room during your stay. We hope you will give another chance whenever you return to Ithaca. Please don't hesitate to... More 

Ovid, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a great location when you have business to do at Cornell. Staff and breakfast are great and rooms comfortable. I had no problems with the Wi-Fi. Close to quick restaurants, food market, drug store, and a great restaurant, Agava's.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ave B, How refreshing to see your review this morning! Yes, our proximity to Cornell definitely has its advantages. I'm glad you had the chance to check out Agava. They have a tremendous Saturday and Sunday brunch as well. We would love to have you as our guest in the future. Kind regards, Jim McMann More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question