We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN University Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1020 Ellis Hollow Road, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    107
    70
    38
    23
See reviews for
128
59
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (322)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here while visiting Cornell University, a short drive away. Our hotel room was surprisingly large, as was the bathroom. It was very comfortable. There was free wifi and free breakfast. The hotel has an outdoor pool, although it was rainy most of the time we were there, so we didn't use it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Beth A., Yes, unfortunately the weather was not on our side this last weekend. We hope you had the chance to use our free shuttle service to Cornell during your stay with us. Should you be returning to the area in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us. Kind regards, Jim McMann More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Standard hotel, no problems, good location, a bit pricey for the weekend - I believe it was a weekend for college tours of international students. Staff very pleasant. I was in a handicap room and the Bathroom sink was a bit awkward (sink high and faucet set too far back)

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear 724marieg, I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We do have certain weekends in Ithaca where the prices can be at a premium, but have many other times when the rate may be more affordable. When you return, I would be happy to make your reservation and reserve a different room for you. Although we are... More 

Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is not glamurous, however it is clean and has a perfect location between NYC and Niagara Falls. The hotel pool is a nice bonus! I highly recommend a visit to Robert Treman State Park (fabulous "pool" by the waterfall) and the Watkins Glen State Park (hiking and waterfalls) in connection with your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so glad you had the chance to enjoy the pool while you were here! The next you visit, Taughannock Falls is another great park with walking trails and swimming and only 20 minutes away. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Jim McMann More 

St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We appreciate at least being able to express our disappointment of this hotel. We have never had reason to complain before, but we felt it was needed. Particularly because we had booked for our nephew as well and we felt very sorry that we had done so, embarrassed, because our nephew was over from Ireland on business. We thought you... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Janet, We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us especially since it was a special occasion for you and your nephew. I could not see any specific comments about the facility or the service. Would you contact me at jmcmann@twintierhospitality.com and let me know in more detail about your stay with us? Best, Jim McMann More 

Central New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel while in town on business last month. It was my second stay at this property. I accidentally forgot a bag in the closet with some of my handmade pieces, art supplies and equipment in the closet. The minute I realized this I called the hotel because I had already checked out. The desk person said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The overall experience was fine. Very old looking hotel with outdated decor so I felt like it wasn't worth the price I paid. They don't put mattress pads under the bottom sheet! EWWW!!! Breakfast was a large selection but I wish the eggs and sausage patties looked more appealing. They actually let us walk in 5 minutes late and still... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear 340adrs, Thanks for your constructive review. I have printed your comments for our housekeeping director. We are glad that you had the extra time to enjoy breakfast with us. We are currently working with our food & beverage representative to enjoy more food options. Please don't hesitate to call us when you return to Ithaca. Best, Jim McMann More 

Kerhonkson, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Best Western is located 5 minutes from Cornell's Veterinary School. We have stayed here for all of our visits and school functions because of its accessibility to the school and my daughter's apt. The hotel is very clean, staff is friendly and efficient. The free breakfast has variety and is very good. The fitness center is nice even though... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear bbqjudge, Thanks so much for your recent review. Our proximity to the Veterinary School makes us the #1 choice for visitors to the facility. I will let our staff know about your kind words. With the recent warm weather, more guests have been able to take advantage of the pool. We even had two children who recently didn't want... More 

Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were disappointed with our stay at the Best Western University Inn - the hotel seemed "worn and tired", the closet door would slowly but stubbornly close, room door seemed not to hang correctly making it difficult to close. Some sort of late night celebration kept us from a restful sleep. We must admit that the complimentary breakfast was filling.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear lucyConnecticutt, We apologize that you felt the accommodations were acceptable for your stay. We have recently put in new duvets and carpeting throughout the hotel, which will continue for the next month. On a positive note, we are glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. We hope when returning to Ithaca in the future, you will give another chance to... More 

Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
437 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here 4 or 5 times, and will probably do so again-with some reservations. I wrote an extensive review about 16 months ago and at that time expressed security concerns. I still have them, despite the hotel's commentary that the parking lot is patrolled by Cornell security. The fact is that all the many doors to the parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ulysses4, Thank you for your constructive comments about your recent stay. I forwarded this review to our corporate office for their review. Sincerely, Jim McMann More 

Forest Hills, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Located in a small shopping mall with several places to eat is a lovely Best Western, convenient to Cornell. Continental breakfast is very good and the staff is always helpful. Rooms are always clean. They have a small outdoor pool with a few chaises. Tiny fitness room is downstairs in the main building.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear redhead022, Thank you for your positive review. Even though we are only 1/2 mile from Cornell, we have much offer right in the East Hill Plaza. The pool is great place to relax in the quiet up here. The next time you stay with us, The Gym, which is the plaza has a larger assortment of workout machines for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay