We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN University Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1020 Ellis Hollow Road, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    100
    65
    31
    21
See reviews for
114
56
23
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (295)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Ovid, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a great location when you have business to do at Cornell. Staff and breakfast are great and rooms comfortable. I had no problems with the Wi-Fi. Close to quick restaurants, food market, drug store, and a great restaurant, Agava's.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ave B, How refreshing to see your review this morning! Yes, our proximity to Cornell definitely has its advantages. I'm glad you had the chance to check out Agava. They have a tremendous Saturday and Sunday brunch as well. We would love to have you as our guest in the future. Kind regards, Jim McMann More 

Bridgewater, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This motel is located on East Hill essentially adjacent to the far end (Veternary School end) of Cornell University and is only a couple of minutes to campus - even in a snow storm. The room was clean and comfortable but things were just a hair off: there was no soap in the room and the wrong number of towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear darylqu, We appreciate all your feedback about your recent stay with us. We get many comments about the proximity to campus and hope you had the chance to use our free shuttle service. The #82 bus leaves the East Hill Plaza every 15 minutes and goes right through the campus. We do apologize about the soap issue. We unfortunately... More 

Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I usually consider Best Westerns to be average, functional hotels (I stay at them regularly, and am usually in hotels about 20+ nights a year), but this one is definitely sub-par for the cost. There was no soap anywhere in the room when I arrived (other guests also commented on this), the casing of the air conditioner/heater was falling off,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Joshua, There is no excuse for the experience you had at our hotel. We have made a copy of your comments and will be reviewing those with our maintenance and housekeeping departments. We do appreciate your patronage of the Best Western brand and your positive views of the front desk and breakfast. I would be happy to speak with... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I stayed here recently. We were here 2 nights to watch wrestling tournaments at Ithaca College. When we arrived the first night, we were welcomed with an odor in the room. The heat and ac unit was not working so the stale air may have contributed. I went in and used the bathroom which didn't have any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Matt, Again our apologies for your last experience. I understand our General Manager, did speak with you about your stay with us. Sincerely, Jim McMann More 

Albany, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed there annually for many years and this year we had a room in the new wing which was excellent. This was a needed update from their older rooms. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was OK and the room was convenient to parking. They have a large notebook with restaurant menus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Maxmandy, Thank you so much for your recent review and are glad you enjoyed your staff in our new wing. This week we begin recarpeting the rest of the hotel. We have also put in all new duvets in all the rooms. We will continue to improve our breakfast based on our comments from our guests. We hope to... More 

Pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Stayed here for a conference at Cornell. Large room and convenient location, but a little shabby, with older furniture and an old refrigerator cabinet that was full of dust and wouldn't close after I opened it. Pillows and mattresses were really comfortable but the sheets were actually too small to tuck in on both sides of the bed! The sheets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Erin, While we are glad, you were happy with our location and the breakfast, it is disappointing that you found the hotel dated. I wanted to let you know that we are currently installing new carpeting in all the rooms this week. I also printed this for our daily housekeeping meeting to review with all of our attendents. We... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

We used two rooms for one night in January. The good points: Location was near Cornell U and a Supermarket and strip-mall were nearby. The Continental Breakfast included waffles and take-out bananas. The property seemed to be in good repair. The staff were friendly. The not-so-good: It was the dead of winter and the heating system was not up to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carl I appreciate your first comments about the location, breakfast and staff. But I am sorry about the heating system you experienced. I wished we had the chance to rectify the situation before you had checked out. When you return, please e-mail me at jmcmann@twintierhospitality.com and I will personally take your reservation and inspect your room. We look forward... More 

spencer, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

My family enjoyed the stay everyone was so nice. I will be back. I was there during the snow, and the employees were great about keeping the walk ways clear. I always saw some one shoving and salting so we could walk safe.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you and your pet for your recent stay with us! We do have many guests that are pleased that we offer to take pets, especially with our proximity to the Cornell Veterinary Hospital. We also have some great walking paths. We hope to see you again(and your dog)!. Best, Jim McMann More 

Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting Cornell University. Pros: - Spacious rooms - Complimentary breakfast buffet -Complimentary shuttle service to/from airport, Cornell University and downtown Ithaca -Couple of restaurants next to the hotel Cons -Found some hair in the bathtub Overall a good experience in the hotel. Will recommend this property to those visiting Cornell University.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear moni, We appreciate your feedback during your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the services and the various eateries in the East Hill Plaza. The shuttle is one of our best assets and glad you were able to take advantage of it. We will be addressing your issues about housekeeping at our daily meeting.... More 

Utica, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Stayed first night at Best Western in Ithaca. Stayed the second night at the Hampton Inn. Staff was very nice and accommodating. Had to make extra trip to front desk because I was missing my remote for the TV. First inspection on the bed found many stains on the sheets and hairs on the pillow cases. The building is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rob, I apologize that the room accommodations were what you were expecting. The comments about the bedding and bathroom have been printed and are being review with housekeeping staff today. I completely understand the change in hotels the second night of your stay. We do take these critiques seriously and glad to have the feedback. This is the best... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question