We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN University Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1020 Ellis Hollow Road, East Hill Plaza, Ithaca, NY 14850-2808
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    89
    108
    70
    39
    23
See reviews for
131
59
25
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (329)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Kendall park, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff is very professional and location is very close to downtown and all other attractions. Best experience stay at hotel.This is my definetely go to hotel for Ithaca stay. It has large rooms and pool.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Pinakin, We really appreciate your great review of the Best Western! I believe our location is one of our best attributes up here in the East Hill Plaza. Many of our guests are surprised that there are quite a few great eateries right here, along with a 24 hour grocery store. We look forward to having you as our... More 

Black Canyon City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As usual, you guys blew the competition away, only my experience was better than normal. the internet was fast (24 Gb/s) and the bed spreads were plush, you know those resorts where you want to take the robe home, well we wanted to take the comforters home... they were the best.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Peter, We are really liked our comforters! We just got them and they really make sleeping a great experience. It always makes our job easier when we get a 5 star review. Thanks again and looking forward to seeing you in the future. Best, Jim McMann More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very convenient to Cornell U, Grocery store and several restaurants within walking distance. Staff was friendly and responsive to our couple of small requests. Breakfast standard for this type of motel. Room and halls were clean, but the exterior clearly showed neglect and lack of caring. Exterior entrances were littered, etc but never cleaned during the 1 week we were... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear don, Thanks for taking a moment and filling out an evaluation of the Best Western. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location, staff and your room. We are disappointed that you were not happy with the exterior location. It is the responsibility of the housekeeping department to vacuum the entrances in each section of the building. We will... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the second weekend in a row we had a great time in Ithica and it all started with This hotel. Great staff and outstanding location not just to the campus of Cornell but to everything you want to do. Very nice breakfast as well. We got up early each morning just so we didn't miss it. My wife loved... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Wow, what a great review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your staff and your wife loved the waffle machine! I hope you had the chance to explore all that Cornell has to offer, including all the gorges. We definitely will print your comments for our staff to see. Please contact us again when you return to Ithaca.... More 

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were satisfied with this hotel. Clean, comfortable beds and dipped my feet in the pool for a few minutes before going to dinner. The breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly. Thank you for the quality stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Todd, We are glad you were satisfied with your stay with us! Thank you for your comments on the breakfast, as well. We hope will return to Ithaca again and take a dip in our pool! Best, Jim McMann More 

Borden, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was visiting Cornell for business and the motels in Ithaca seemed to be filled by conferences, so options were limited. During a 10 day trip to New York we also stayed in several Holiday Inn Express and Microtel Inns. All were about 1/2 the price of the Best Western and had better facilities across the board. The Best Western... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear BurnsHollowers, We are extremely disappointed that you found the Best Western not to your standards. There is no excuse for your experience with the breakfast area. We did have two very large weddings last weekend. We open the pool in the morning for guests to have their breakfast. I have a made a copy of your comments on the... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and I stayed here during our visit to Cornell. Was very close to Cornell and they offer free shuttle service so that you don't have to worry about parking at Cornell, which can be difficult. Very nice, large room with 2 queen beds and sofa sleeper, great bathroom. Nice breakfast with plenty of choices. Price was somewhat high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, Thanks for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to the Cornell campus. Parking can be a challenge, but our close proximity and shuttle are a great benefit when coming to campus. We are glad you also enjoyed the breakfast. Should your daughter decide to attend Cornell, we hope we will... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here while visiting Cornell University, a short drive away. Our hotel room was surprisingly large, as was the bathroom. It was very comfortable. There was free wifi and free breakfast. The hotel has an outdoor pool, although it was rainy most of the time we were there, so we didn't use it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Beth A., Yes, unfortunately the weather was not on our side this last weekend. We hope you had the chance to use our free shuttle service to Cornell during your stay with us. Should you be returning to the area in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us. Kind regards, Jim McMann More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Standard hotel, no problems, good location, a bit pricey for the weekend - I believe it was a weekend for college tours of international students. Staff very pleasant. I was in a handicap room and the Bathroom sink was a bit awkward (sink high and faucet set too far back)

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear 724marieg, I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We do have certain weekends in Ithaca where the prices can be at a premium, but have many other times when the rate may be more affordable. When you return, I would be happy to make your reservation and reserve a different room for you. Although we are... More 

Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

This place is not glamurous, however it is clean and has a perfect location between NYC and Niagara Falls. The hotel pool is a nice bonus! I highly recommend a visit to Robert Treman State Park (fabulous "pool" by the waterfall) and the Watkins Glen State Park (hiking and waterfalls) in connection with your stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Best47958, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We are so glad you had the chance to enjoy the pool while you were here! The next you visit, Taughannock Falls is another great park with walking trails and swimming and only 20 minutes away. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Jim McMann More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#5 of 19 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
1.2 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
1.9 mi away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#12 of 19 in Ithaca
3.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay