We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillside Inn

Hotel website
518 Stewart Ave, Ithaca, NY 14850
Hillside Inn
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    8
    9
    15
See reviews for
18
8
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hillside Inn
See the most recent reviews
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I cannot believe this place is in business. We stayed there last summer and I have never forgot that experience so will be my late review. I did not have my firearms with me on that trip and we chose to purchase a gun just to feel safe here(every other hotel was booked or we would have left). This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Peter S, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

All sheets are done professionally by the Cornell Laundry company which services many area establishments. More 

Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I am a Cornell student who spent an entire semester at the Hillside Inn. Because of poor planning I was left without an apartment and went to the Hillside as a last resort since they rent rooms to students at a monthly rate. This "last resort" option was surprisingly an incredible experience and I can't press enough how great this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scarsdale, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Whilst visiting Cornell there are three factors in selecting a hotel: location, price, and amenity; pick any two. Understand this, and there will be no surprises from the Hillside Inn. If you want location and amenity, you want the Statler, but it's very expensive. If you want amenity and low(er) price, pick your chain hotel on Route 13, or the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I travel from NYC to Ithaca every week to teach at Cornell. So I have stayed at the Hillside Inn every Monday night for over 5 years. It is perfectly located to campus and I can walk to my class. It is a rustic place that looks as if it has been there forever. The cemetery right behind the Inn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great location: close to Cornell University and lots of restaurants nearby; short drive to a couple of state park such as Robert Treman State park and Watkins Glen State park. The inn is well maintained and very clean. All in all - I would stay here again on our next return trip to Ithaca in the winter. The price was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter S, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

It's hard to respond to a review written a year after the visit. There have been hotel upgrades since, doubling Internet signal strength, re-carpeting the hotel, new bathrooms in several rooms. Other upgrades are upcoming. Should the positive reviews we get be called into question I recommend sending a message to those former guests, none of whom are in any... More 

Ithaca, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I lived there for about a week last fall. The location is very good, just down the campus hill and within 10 min walk. But the place is not comfort to live, considering the old, smelly small rooms, the one and only shared bathrooms and toilet, absolutely absence of room service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter S, General Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

The reviewer, who for some reason is sending a review a year later, stayed for one week in one of our single-occupancy student rooms, which do not have their own bathrooms but a shared bathroom in the hall, and are not hotel rooms per se, but are priced well under any hotel rates. These are all currently filled with satisfied... More 

South Wales, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I decided to explore Ithaca, and we found this property on the edge of the Cornell University campus. It resembled a house which was transformed to an inn many years ago. The property itself was decent. However, it seemed to lack some attention to details. For example, when we pulled the comforter off the bed, we noticed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter S, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Certainly there's no excuse for less than a complete cleaning despite very busy weekends. We have instituted a new policy to deal with such overloads so that a total room service cleaning can be maintained. We are also undergoing an upgrade with new baths and the entire hotel getting re-carpeted. Internet coverage is also being expanded to ensure blazing speed... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Due to our honeymoon , we entered Ithaca & noticed this small inn on our way to eat at Tavern Bunffi @ the Statler Hotel owned by Cornell University. They too suggested to us to use the hillside inn which as his name suggests: it's on the hill side. The room was nicely organized, well kept. We asked for another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I took my grandaughter to school in Ithaca and thought that I was getting a nice inn. We were shocked when we rode up to the place, not to mention how we felt when we walked into the 4x6 lobby. The carpet looked as though it had never been cleaned and the place smelled awful. They gave away our reservation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter S, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

This person did not stay at the hotel, merely walked in, saw it was not a newly built chain hotel (we are a family owned hotel next to the Cornell campus) and left, with full refund, despite a cancellation policy deadline already passed. So it is surprising she would become vehement and negative online, she is one out of several... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

TERRIBLE... I recommend sleeping in your car, on a park bench, etc. over wasting your money to stay here. Air conditioner buzzed all night, all kinds of flying bugs in the room, dirty carpet, floors lean, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter S, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

You may be interested to read the positive reviews which represent a fraction of the very satisfied customers who stay at the hotel. One out of a hundred find an older family run establishment not what was expected and become or by nature are somewhat hypercritical. The owner of the hotel is here every day seven days a week working... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question