We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Ithaca B&Bs / inns

Hillside Inn

518 Stewart Ave, Ithaca, NY 14850
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
July/August Special Rate
  • Overview
  • Reviews (46)
  • Photos (5)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Hillside Inn
Ranked #17 of 20 Ithaca B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    6
    6
    13
See reviews for
16
6
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
14801
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Hillside Inn is what it is. It is not a four star hotel, but it is to me. It is outdated, and the bathrooms are small. BUT the loaction and service are outstanding. That is all I need. I usally stay here for Cornell lacrosse games. I can walk to the game. I can walk to dinner. I can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I cannot believe this place is in business. We stayed there last summer and I have never forgot that experience so will be my late review. I did not have my firearms with me on that trip and we chose to purchase a gun just to feel safe here(every other hotel was booked or we would have left). This is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I am a Cornell student who spent an entire semester at the Hillside Inn. Because of poor planning I was left without an apartment and went to the Hillside as a last resort since they rent rooms to students at a monthly rate. This "last resort" option was surprisingly an incredible experience and I can't press enough how great this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scarsdale, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Whilst visiting Cornell there are three factors in selecting a hotel: location, price, and amenity; pick any two. Understand this, and there will be no surprises from the Hillside Inn. If you want location and amenity, you want the Statler, but it's very expensive. If you want amenity and low(er) price, pick your chain hotel on Route 13, or the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I travel from NYC to Ithaca every week to teach at Cornell. So I have stayed at the Hillside Inn every Monday night for over 5 years. It is perfectly located to campus and I can walk to my class. It is a rustic place that looks as if it has been there forever. The cemetery right behind the Inn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great location: close to Cornell University and lots of restaurants nearby; short drive to a couple of state park such as Robert Treman State park and Watkins Glen State park. The inn is well maintained and very clean. All in all - I would stay here again on our next return trip to Ithaca in the winter. The price was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter S, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

It's hard to respond to a review written a year after the visit. There have been hotel upgrades since, doubling Internet signal strength, re-carpeting the hotel, new bathrooms in several rooms. Other upgrades are upcoming. Should the positive reviews we get be called into question I recommend sending a message to those former guests, none of whom are in any... More

Ithaca, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I lived there for about a week last fall. The location is very good, just down the campus hill and within 10 min walk. But the place is not comfort to live, considering the old, smelly small rooms, the one and only shared bathrooms and toilet, absolutely absence of room service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter S, General Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

The reviewer, who for some reason is sending a review a year later, stayed for one week in one of our single-occupancy student rooms, which do not have their own bathrooms but a shared bathroom in the hall, and are not hotel rooms per se, but are priced well under any hotel rates. These are all currently filled with satisfied... More

South Wales, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I decided to explore Ithaca, and we found this property on the edge of the Cornell University campus. It resembled a house which was transformed to an inn many years ago. The property itself was decent. However, it seemed to lack some attention to details. For example, when we pulled the comforter off the bed, we noticed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter S, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

Certainly there's no excuse for less than a complete cleaning despite very busy weekends. We have instituted a new policy to deal with such overloads so that a total room service cleaning can be maintained. We are also undergoing an upgrade with new baths and the entire hotel getting re-carpeted. Internet coverage is also being expanded to ensure blazing speed... More

Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Due to our honeymoon , we entered Ithaca & noticed this small inn on our way to eat at Tavern Bunffi @ the Statler Hotel owned by Cornell University. They too suggested to us to use the hillside inn which as his name suggests: it's on the hill side. The room was nicely organized, well kept. We asked for another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I took my grandaughter to school in Ithaca and thought that I was getting a nice inn. We were shocked when we rode up to the place, not to mention how we felt when we walked into the 4x6 lobby. The carpet looked as though it had never been cleaned and the place smelled awful. They gave away our reservation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter S, Front Office Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review

This person did not stay at the hotel, merely walked in, saw it was not a newly built chain hotel (we are a family owned hotel next to the Cornell campus) and left, with full refund, despite a cancellation policy deadline already passed. So it is surprising she would become vehement and negative online, she is one out of several... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hillside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Address: 518 Stewart Ave, Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Ithaca

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hillside Inn is located right next to the campus of Cornell University. We offer reasonable rates and provide free parking, free Wi Fi, free local and long distance calls, and complimentary Continental Breakfast.Extended stay rates are available.Rooms have color cable TV, private bath, AC, daily room service.We are in Collegetown and a short walk to numerous restaurants.Our friendly staff are here to make your stay a pleasant one! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
35

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Hillside Inn to your Saves list