We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Washington Irving Inn

6629 Rt.23A, P.O.Box 675, Hunter, NY 12442
Washington Irving Inn
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    19
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
31
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

My sister and I recently stayed at the inn for a night to hit up hunter the next day. It was so cute!! The inn keeper is extremely friendly and accommodating. I'm trying to get all of my friends to go up for another weekend. Oh and the breakfast is amazingly delicious!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I frequently ski at Hunter Mountain and I have been going to the Washington Irving Inn for 10 years. If you would like to travel back 150 years this Inn is the place to go. Travel down the long driveway, parking could not be easier. The restored word work will amaze you. Stephiana will check you in to a comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

The Inn was very well kept. It wasn't my family and I's first time coming here. We love it every time. The breakfast is delicious and our room is great every time. The Inn keeper was very nice and made sure that we were happy at all times. We will be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

The Inn was beautifully restored and the Inn Keeper was very friendly. My room had its own bathroom, was clean, and had a balcony looking out to the beautiful winter scenery. The Inn was very close to the ski hill, and other amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Astoria, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

My parents and I stayed here for two nights. Between the green swimming pool, the doors that don't open and close properly, the leaky faucet in the bathroom, the dresser missing a leg and propped up with books it is quickly clear that this place is run down and needs an extreme makeover. But the worst part was when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
washingtonirving, Owner at Washington Irving Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for bringing this to our attention. All of our guests safety and comfort is very important to us. This property was built in the late 1800's , it is a registered historical site. We are constantly making improvements to our facility. All of our rooms are different, with various furnishings and antiques throughout. With that being said,... More 

Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

BEWARE!!! I booked two rooms here for a weekend trip to Hunter Mountain. After 8 days, I received an email telling me our reservation was denied because of a two-night minimum. No where does it state a two-night minimum. If they have one, that's perfectly fine, but they need to state it during the reservation process, or at least cancel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
washingtonirving, Owner at Washington Irving Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you had an issue with this policy. On our official website it is stated under the reservation section that this is our policy. If you contact us directly via phone we may be able to accommodate you for a one night stay next time. We apologize again for any inconvenience and look forward to hearing from you... More 

Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend in June and found everything to be just right.The outdoor pool had recently warmed to a level of 'acceptability' - the accommodations were lovely- and the breakfast delicious. Stephania couldn't have been more helpful. While the Inn is older it is extremely well cared for and the afternoon teas on the weekend should not be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed there for Columbus Day weekend with family and friends As always we were treated like royalty Stefania is a great hostess and is always there for you whatever you need She runs her B & B like her house and I fell like it is my home away from home !!! She is always so welcoming and adds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bronx, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for our anniversary. The breakfast was good (pancakes one day, french toast the other) and the service was nice. The room was pleasant and clean... nothing to complain about there. (The picture showcasing the inn is the one we stayed in.) What was really great was the check-in process. We were running late and we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nanuet, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night for my husbands birthday celebration. Another guest put it perfectly - the inn is cozy but in need of TLC! We were suppose to stay in the cabin, but it was too hot so we were put in a room upstairs with AC (prefer queen bed, got a double-AC meant more than the size of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities