We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Hudson hotels

The Barlow

Save Saved
You added The Barlow to your Saves list
542 Warren Street, Hudson, NY 12534
Hotel amenities
The Barlow
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hudson
GreenLeadersBronze level
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We spent a night at the Barlow on our way up to Vermont. Based on other reviews it was the best place in Hudson. Hotel is fairly new. Rooms are nice and clean. We had two issues. The first was that our room was on the top floor and we could hear a loud noise coming from the air conditioning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Front Desk Manager at The Barlow, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of The Barlow. Yes, we are fairly new and still working out some of the kinks of blending a classic older building with modern amenities and features to be enjoyed. We are so sorry that you were able to hear noise from the ac. We just completed a full renovation of our ac and... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we had really looked forward to staying at the Barlow in Hudson and were very disappointed. The queen standard room was wheelchair accessible and small. We were not offered a move to another room for our two night stay and had to put up with technical problems in the room for the first night until the faulty fan in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at The Barlow. However, it is important to note that you did select our only wheelchair accessible room when you booked your reservation, and the room description clearly states that the amenities differ from the rest of the Hotel in order to... More

Redmond, Oregon
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our two days at the Barlow and wish we could have stayed longer. The room was very nice, the bed was firm, and the shower was amazing. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Hudson NY area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul C, Front Desk Manager at The Barlow, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed the many amenities available to you for your stay with us here at The Barlow. Our guests are our best advertising so we really appreciate that you feel comfortable recommending our services to other Hudson visitors. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Respectfully yours, Paul Front Desk Manager The Barlow Hotel More

Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While this hotel may seem pricey for some, it's one of the best spots I have stayed. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and the location could not be better. The staff is very accommodating and they have a program with other businesses in Hudson offering discounts. Highly recommend for a getaway to see the fall foliage by visiting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Russell G, General Manager at The Barlow, responded to this review

Thanks so very much for your amazing review - we all are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are so happy you appreciated all we do to ensure our guests at The Barlow enjoy their stay. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. We hope to welcome... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 via mobile

I'm not sure where these other reviewers stayed because our stay at The Barlow couldn't have been nicer. When we arrived, we were promptly checked in by the sweetest front desk agent and directed to a room on the 3rd floor in the back. The hallways were clean and had nice forest green runners, under which you could see the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

From the front desk, housekeeping and Management staff please accept our sincerest thanks and appreciation for the awesome review. Your comments are spot on and clearly identify what so many guests of The Barlow experience from the welcome to the guest room furnishings and bathroom amenities. Our late 1800's building reflects both the charm and historic architecture of the period... More

Coral Gables, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Our stay at this facility played out just like any classic slash and burn horror movie. Everything seemed peaceful and copacetic at the beginning. But the clues for the upcoming horror were there if you were observant enough to catch them. The sidewalk entry awning, the front door signage and the lobby are very inviting and misleading, drawing you into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

Guests reading this can believe this guest's attempt at either humor or fiction or they can take the word of professional travel writers from Time Out New York, The Guardian, and Hudson Valley Magazine - as well as several professional travel bloggers - who have given The Barlow the highest praise for the Hotel's amenities and staff. In addition The... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This historic hotel is well located in center of town, which is making a slow comeback out of economic oblivion. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable, and the shower is awesomely updated with multiple spray heads. Staff is only at desk for limited hours. No food on site except for Keurig machine in room. Park in rear in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

On behalf of all of us at The Barlow thanks for taking the time to share your experience with future travelers. You're headline is the perfect way to describe Hudson in general - upscale but still with a down-to-earth quality. We're happy you enjoyed your guest room and the Hotel's amenities - especially our spa showers. We hope that next... More

Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My first trip to Hudson. The Barlow is right on Warren St. Located in the middle of town, made walking to galleries, shops and restaurants easy. It's been renovated, with some contemporary touches yet keeping some old details. Our first night was maddening because we thought the air conditioning didn't work properly. It was freezing at night. Even with fireplace... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

H: Thanks for the fun review. Bottom line - you worked it all out and had a great time. We are sorry the thermostat and shower were too tech-y, but glad it all worked out in the end, as you said. We hope to see you back again. Until then, thanks for the great comments. See you soon. More

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Hotel is centrally located in a hip neighborhood. Rooms have unusual showers which have several shower heads. Couldn't figure out how to turn it on-but got advice from front desk. Bathroom was lovely but had a big dark hair across the bathtub. Wanted to take a bath and that sort of grossed me out. Room has gas fireplace and lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. More importantly we would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We have addressed the situation with the bathtub with housekeeping. Rest assured they will do their best to ensure this does not happen again. On behalf of the front desk staff we also apologize if... More

Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Our first evening in this hotel was better than the two to follow, we had to switch rooms because we added on an extra night and you are preassigned a room at the time of your reservation….beware. We were in a room facing Warren Street, a little noisy during the day but at night it was fine. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this review

It seems that Hudson clearly wasn't the town for you, based on the reviews you wrote of the other businesses in town (future guests should check this reviewers other poor reviews of Hudson). We believe in maintaining the property to ensure guests feel comfortable, and we apologize if our routine painting touch ups upset you, but we feel it is... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Barlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barlow

Address: 542 Warren Street, Hudson, NY 12534
Location: United States > New York > Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16

10 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay