We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maple City Inn

1 Canisteo Sq., Hornell, NY 14843 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Hotel amenities
Maple City Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hornell
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014
Boone8 Oshawa
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
31
17
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
There are newer reviews for Maple City Inn
See the most recent reviews
Oshawa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife had stayed here on an outing a couple of years ago so we gave it a try recently. Overall, it's nice. Right up front, the desk lady said that trains go by once in a while and they offered complimentary ear plugs. One train did go through in the night and sounded as if it were in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast as that is the most important meal of the day. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well. We hope to see you again soon!! More 

Chatham, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is in bad shape. The downstairs hallway smelled of cigarette smoke and an unidentified odor, it was so bad I almost turned around and left. Thankfully our room was upstairs and the smell was not quite as bad up there. Our room was ok, but I we had stayed in a really nice hotel the night before for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. Our hotel is in need of renovations and we will be going through them in late fall which will include: all goods in rooms such as beds, carpets etc. the entire lobby area and breakfast area. When we are complete we will become a Best Western. I hope that... More 

Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

When we first climbed the stairs to our room I was a little leery. The carpet on the stairs was worn, making me wonder what we would find inside the room. The room itself was quite comfortable and extremely clean. The biggest surprise was the morning breakfast (included). It was amazing, scrambled eggs and sausage, toast, pastries, waffles, fruit, yogurt.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. Our hotel is in need of renovations and we will be going through them shortly. We try our best to make each guest feel at home when they arrive. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day so we are glad that you enjoyed the great breakfast that... More 

Woodstock, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very friendly front staff. Fast complimentary WiFi in room. Large, clean room. Not much to complain about. There is the occasional noisy train that passes through town, or so they say. We all slept well and never heard one. Nice free hot breakfast. Basic, but it included scrambled eggs, waffles and sausages which most hotels do not offer. We would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast as that is the most important meal of the day. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again... More 

Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The staff Darlene (desk), Penny (spelling?) (breakfast), and Coleen (Mgr) provided great customer service to me and my family. The place was clean, safe, and the breakfast was excellent. I would highly recommend :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the GREAT review. We here at the Comfort Inn take pride in our hotel. We have an excellent staff who are very accommodating to all of our guests. We hope you will come back and visit us again real soon. More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We visited Hornell for a wedding. The wedding guests had all but 3 rooms in the hotel. The staff was very accommodating for our big group. Unfortunately, the only room left for us was a smoking room. They said they ionized the room, but it still smelled like smoke. Others who had a non-smoking room said there was no smoke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us, and others know about your experience! We here at the Comfort Inn hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon. More 

St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Years and we enjoyed our experience. The rooms are clean and what you would expect for a comfort inn, and yes, like the other reviews stat...,the train is an annoyance. But the staff is what really makes this place. We were offered ear plugs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you really enjoyed the amenities, and that you return again soon. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well. More 

Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stay at the Hornell Comfort Inn at least three times a year!!! There are many wonderful features! The staff, warm and friendly many have been there for years, Clean rooms with fridge,TV DVD in all rooms, A daily breakfast with many choices bacon and eggs,waffles to fruit and cereal, it is an older Comfort Inn and yes it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast as that is the most important meal of the day. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again... More 

Winsted, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel was suggested to us, we checked out the reviews and were skeptical at first. After much consideration, we decided to reserve two rooms for two nights to attend a wedding in Canisteo. I can honestly say that our visit was A+. The lobby was decorated with a Candy Land theme for Christmas, including a huge handmade Gingerbread House... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We here at the Comfort Inn do our best to please each and every customer! Our theme for the Christmas season this year is Candy Land, our entire staff took time out of their personal lives to come in and decorate, we are very pleased with the end result, Thank you for... More 

Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Honestly, I could not find a Marriot or Holiday Inn near where I wanted to stay so this was not my first choice. However, I was pleasantly surprised at what I found. for the price it was a great deal. The amenities were suitable and the staff was very accommodating with any requests I had. This Comfort Inn made much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly K, Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to let us, and others know about your experience! We here at the Comfort Inn hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities