We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Hornell hotels

Maple City Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Canisteo Sq., Hornell, NY 14843 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Maple City Inn to your Saves list
Maple City Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
73%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hornell
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
tigerPrinceton princeton
  • Overview
  • Reviews (75)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
15
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
princeton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here twice before when it was a Comfort Inn. The name may have changed, but the quality has not. I heard the same info reported by another reviewer about future renovations and prospective branding as a Best Western. I understand that the hotel may become no smoking at that point, which would be nice. The non-smoking rooms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quechee, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed to drop of our son at university and was not sure what to expect. Not a fan of it having a smoking section in the hotel, but our room (non-smoking) was clean and did not smell of any smoke. Beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom was clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Walls were terribly thin -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share with us and others your comments on our hotel. We know we are in need of renovations and they are coming soon. Our staff here is very friendly to all as they try and make your stay like home. We hope that you will return and watch through our make over to... More

Rhinebeck, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here at the end of July for a family wedding. Our room had twin queens and we were quite comfortable; all rooms have coffee pots and dorm size refrigerators. Lobby was very presentable and self serve breakfast is offered every morning. This two story, no elevator, hotel used to be a Comfort Inn. It will undergo a renovation, in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. Yes the Maple City Inn has a lot going on, we will be under going renovations shortly and change to a Best Western. It is going to be exciting to watch the transformation. Our entire staff are very excited to take the next step. We hope that you will... More

Oshawa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife had stayed here on an outing a couple of years ago so we gave it a try recently. Overall, it's nice. Right up front, the desk lady said that trains go by once in a while and they offered complimentary ear plugs. One train did go through in the night and sounded as if it were in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast as that is the most important meal of the day. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well. We hope to see you again soon!! More

Chatham, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is in bad shape. The downstairs hallway smelled of cigarette smoke and an unidentified odor, it was so bad I almost turned around and left. Thankfully our room was upstairs and the smell was not quite as bad up there. Our room was ok, but I we had stayed in a really nice hotel the night before for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. Our hotel is in need of renovations and we will be going through them in late fall which will include: all goods in rooms such as beds, carpets etc. the entire lobby area and breakfast area. When we are complete we will become a Best Western. I hope that... More

Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

When we first climbed the stairs to our room I was a little leery. The carpet on the stairs was worn, making me wonder what we would find inside the room. The room itself was quite comfortable and extremely clean. The biggest surprise was the morning breakfast (included). It was amazing, scrambled eggs and sausage, toast, pastries, waffles, fruit, yogurt.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. Our hotel is in need of renovations and we will be going through them shortly. We try our best to make each guest feel at home when they arrive. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day so we are glad that you enjoyed the great breakfast that... More

Woodstock, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very friendly front staff. Fast complimentary WiFi in room. Large, clean room. Not much to complain about. There is the occasional noisy train that passes through town, or so they say. We all slept well and never heard one. Nice free hot breakfast. Basic, but it included scrambled eggs, waffles and sausages which most hotels do not offer. We would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast as that is the most important meal of the day. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well. We hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again... More

Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The staff Darlene (desk), Penny (spelling?) (breakfast), and Coleen (Mgr) provided great customer service to me and my family. The place was clean, safe, and the breakfast was excellent. I would highly recommend :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the GREAT review. We here at the Comfort Inn take pride in our hotel. We have an excellent staff who are very accommodating to all of our guests. We hope you will come back and visit us again real soon. More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We visited Hornell for a wedding. The wedding guests had all but 3 rooms in the hotel. The staff was very accommodating for our big group. Unfortunately, the only room left for us was a smoking room. They said they ionized the room, but it still smelled like smoke. Others who had a non-smoking room said there was no smoke... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us, and others know about your experience! We here at the Comfort Inn hope that you enjoyed your stay and will return again soon. More

St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Years and we enjoyed our experience. The rooms are clean and what you would expect for a comfort inn, and yes, like the other reviews stat...,the train is an annoyance. But the staff is what really makes this place. We were offered ear plugs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelly K, General Manager at Maple City Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are lucky enough to have a GREAT staff. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you really enjoyed the amenities, and that you return again soon. We really appreciate you taking the time to share with us and others as well. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Maple City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Maple City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple City Inn

Address: 1 Canisteo Sq., Hornell, NY 14843 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hornell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple City Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Maple City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Hornell
Comfort Inn Hornell Ny
Hornell Comfort Inn

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 62 room hotel features an indoor pool & fitness facility & is located in the heart of the Maple City. The rolling hills of the Fingerlakes region surrounds the hotel. Alfred University & State College are just minutes away. For business or pleasure, make us your destination! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
62

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Maple City Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer