We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 South Luangwa National Park accommodations

Track and Trail River Camp

Save Saved
You added Track and Trail River Camp to your Saves list
South Luangwa National Park | Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park pobox 72, Zambia
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (74)
  • Photos (103)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • More
Track and Trail River Camp
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Luangwa National Park
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 4 nights here at the end of our southern Africa holiday. Rooms are fine, and overlook the river to the park on the other side. Food was good, and pool great. The best bit was the safari drives arranged early morning and late afternoon. Our driver (Friday) was excellent, and got us really close to lions, elephants, leopard,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family visited through Kiboko safari, so everything was included apart from the drinks (very expensive but delicious! especially the fruit cocktail containing freshly squeezed lime juice from limes from the tree just next to the bar). I can only say that we never wanted to leave. Our manager, Michael, was just fabby - so friendly and helpful. The tents... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First this review will be helpful to my fellows campers. So, we wanted to stay here on August 2014. When we arrived we asked at reception about the kitchen, there is not one. So you have to eat in the expensive restaurant. Then we asked about internet, you have to pay and it´s not cheap, 5 usd per hour. After... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter G, Owner at Track and Trail River Camp, responded to this review

Dear unhappy campers,sorry to hear that you were so unhappy about your findings here at track and trail. First and foremost, we do not provide self catering, this is clearly stated on the website. We are also glad to know you found a cheaper alternative at croc valley. services as well as terms and conditions differ from camp to camp... More

Sacramento, California
2 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

During a two week stay in Zambia we spent 5 nights at Track and Trail as well as staying at several other lodges throughout Zambia. The primary purpose of our trip was wildlife photography and Track & Trail did not disappoint. Peter (T&T owner/guide) was was amazing in his wildlife knowledge and ability to put us in the right place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter G, Owner at Track and Trail River Camp, responded to this review

Dear johnny, Glad you had a wonderful time. Thank you for the time you took to write your review and i hope we meet in the near future. thank you ever so much for allowing me to do what i enjoy most in the company of good,friendly people such as your self. It was great fun! More

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Before reviewing this Game Lodge and Camp, I would like to state categorically that I would 100% recommend it. My wife and I are avid amateur photographers and South Luangwa happens to be a gem in its own right,-easy to get to from the USA and not overcrowded like some of the Wildlife Parks we have visited elsewhere. The viewing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter G, Owner at Track and Trail River Camp, responded to this review

Dear James thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you here at track and trail and we are excited about your return next year. More

Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here in early June for three nights. We arrived after a long drive in the dark but we felt very welcome from the moment we got here. The camp is beautifully situated along the river with a great pool overlooking the Hippos's and Crocs. We camped for the first night. The campsite is very spacious with all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter G, Owner at Track and Trail River Camp, responded to this review

Hi Frank, Thanks for your review. We are here to help people out and let them enjoy their stay to the max. All the best. Peter More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Spent 5 nights at this lodge on a private photo tour with Peter the guide. He knows his stuff, put us on the game in the right light and angle. Lodge is very comfortable, Staff friendly and the food was nice. The Elli walking through the dining area one eving was quite a sight. Pool was great for a midd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our group (made up of two families of 5) were probably hard work for the staff as all 6 children were ill at some point which meant that we changed our plans at the last minute on meals and safari trips. However, we felt very relaxed as nothing was too much for the staff to accommodate. As it was our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and as it was the slow season they very nicely upgraded us to the deluxe chalet which was very nice. The room was clean and comfortable with a large bathroom and a view of the river. My only complaint about the room were the sheets, which were thin and did not fit the bed properly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter G, Owner at Track and Trail River Camp, responded to this review

Hello there, Hope all is well. Sorry to hear that you had the unfortunate situation with the bedsheets. Our staff is always hands on and ready to help. I sincerely hope you had brought this to the attention of the manager and it was taken care of. Thanks to your review, we have made sure that housekeeping is better informed... More

Mozambique
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We spent 3 very comfortable (late) Summer nights in a Chalet. The room was cool, comfortable, quiet and the decor is elegantly rustic with stone baths and driftwood details. A truly African experience listening to the calls of Hippo and Fish Eagle at sunset. The Swimming pool was a cool delight with a lovely view of the river. All of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Track and Trail River Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Track and Trail River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Track and Trail River Camp

Address: South Luangwa National Park | Mfuwe, South Luangwa National Park pobox 72, Zambia
Location: Zambia > South Luangwa National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Track And Trail River Camp Zambia/South Luangwa National Park

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
2:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Track & Trail River Camp is a owner-run lodge, located at a breathtaking spot on the banks of the Luangwa River, only 5 minutes from the main entrance of the South Luangwa National Park. We are specialized in photo-safaris and organize morning- and night drives in open game vehicles while our walking safaris will be your ultimate safari experience!Our lodge offers 4 double storey chalets, each featuring their own private balcony from were you can enjoy the view of the Luangwa River or spend the night in one of our more secluded safari tents with private veranda, perfect for a romantic safari getaway. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Track and Trail River Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer