We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Highland hotels

America's Best Value Inn

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3497 Route 9W (corner Grand Street), Highland, NY 12528 (Formerly Mick's Motel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added America's Best Value Inn to your Saves list
America's Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
42%
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Highland
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014
Kat T Staten Island, New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (26)
  • Photos (14)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

needed 2 rooms for my son's graduation from SUNY New Paltz. I saw some of the reviews and they seemed harsh but I needed the two rooms at a price I could afford. Even my mom said she was pleasantly surprised how nice the place was. It's an older building but so what. Its clear how cared for the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
boston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The price was right. Mattress was too soft and covered with a plasticky protector, not softened by mattress pad or sheet - made sleeping uncomfortable. (But no bed bugs.) Drooping, stained, dented ceiling panels made me nervous something was going to drop on me at night. TV worked, bathroom was clean. Door locked. Manager was polite. But the road noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Lyme, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The owner's were more than helpful in making the reservations and accomodating us with 5 rooms we were needing. They were very friendly and welcoming when we arrived and had the rooms ready for us. We stayed with dogs and both Neil and Robin (yes, we were on first name basis in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here on October 12, 2013, following a long drive from Virginia. My husband, daughter and I had read that the hotel had been recently renovated and decided to take a chance. First, we were overcharged, then upon opening the door, we discovered bugs in the bathroom, a musty odor, some sort of liquid running down the far wall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It's pretty much what you would expect, with a few pros and cons. Pros: there's a lovely breakfast/bagel place attached to the office and you get a free (or discounted, depending on what you order) bagel/breakfast and coffee there.Cons: it's "pet friendly" which, for us, meant that there was dog hair all over the carpet in our room, which triggered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cutchogue, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The inn keeper was very friendly and helpful. The rate was very reasonable. However, the room, which was supposedly "newly renovated," left a lot to be desired. By newly renovated, there was some recent laminate flooring and the bathroom was updated. The bed was clean and comfortable, but the furniture was beat up and the walls needed paint. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your thoughtful review. I am happy that you appreciated our friendly service and comfortable beds, but I am sorry that you were less than 100% satisfied. We are in the process of upgrading the furniture, and I hope we can have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I was hopeful by the looks of the newly remodeled exterior and room, but boy was I wrong!!! I awoke at about 3:45am to use the bathroom and to my disgust there were bugs crawling all over the floor. And when I say bugs Im not talking a couple, it was more like 40-50 crawling around!! The room also felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am so sorry that you were dissatisfied with the accommodations we offered. Being situated near the "woods", we try very aggressively to keep bugs from coming into our rooms, but it appears in your room we needed to try harder. It was a pleasure to serve you, and we... More

Bronx, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Due to reading tripadvisor we were not disappointed . No it is not renovated . Just spruced up . Low priced spruce up at that . The bathrooms are recently done and large as is the room . A/C works well and rooms are clean . Safe quiet area . Breakfast is bagel and cream cheese with coffee . Coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am glad you were satisfied with the value we offer for your hard earned dollar, and I am sorry that you had a few issues with the room. I have now relocated myself and my family to an apartment on the premises, and I will be doing a room-by-room... More

Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights to race BMX at the Kingston Point BMX track about 30 minutes away. Based on other reviews and other stays I had had elsewhere, requested a 2nd floor room. Stayed in room 210, which was fine. Double queen beds. Upon first impression, did like the room. It did have sort of an old place musty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am glad you were satisfied with the value we offer for your hard earned dollar. We recently instituted our offering of "continental breakfast" at our on-premises bagel cafe; although the bagel with topping and coffee that is included with your stay is more than the standard "continental" fare offered... More

Ridgewood, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

There are more problems to this hotel than being overpriced. Wow - this place was gross! Bugs everywhere - outlets that weren't screwed into the wall properly. The bed linens just felt dirty. The room was just disgusting. This should have been priced more around $20 for the night....I would never stay here again! Oh - and the neon sign... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied with your accommodation. The "newly renovated" on our sign refers to upgrading we did on all rooms in 2010 and 2011 which included wood veneer flooring in all but one room, and all bathrooms have been fully renovated with new fixtures, ceramic... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage America's Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Address: 3497 Route 9W (corner Grand Street), Highland, NY 12528 (Formerly Mick's Motel)
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Highland/Poughkeepsie, conveniently located halfway between Albany, New York and New York City. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, desk with lamp, and free local calls. Children age 10 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Americas Best Value Inn Highland/Poughkeepsie provides comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour front desk staff to help you feel at home. Our hotel is close to the Walkway Over the Hudson, Bardavon 1869 Opera House, and Rocking Horse Ranch. Other area attractions include the FDR Presidential Library and Museum, Eleanor Roosevelt Historic Site, and Mohonk Mountain House. There are plenty of nearby hiking, bicycling, and shopping locations. Restaurants within a mile of our hotel include Casa Mia Restaurant, Would Restaurant, and Gateway Diner. At Americas Best Value Inn Highland/Poughkeepsie, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
22

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from America's Best Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer