We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wendt University Inn

175 Utica Street, NY, Hamilton, NY 13346
Hotel amenities
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wendt University Inn
View Map
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Once was enough. I will travel else where to sleep when I return to Hamilton, NY for any function. After a very quick check in, we unload the kids from the car and all of luggage, travel to the second floor via stairs, NO ELEVATORS here, to open up our room door to see the room was never cleaned. Now... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015 via mobile

Beyond basic. Two days in a row our bed was not changed or made nor the bathroom cleaned. Very noisy hotel. Very thin walls you can hear your neighbors talk on the phone. So not worth the price. We called about our beds not being made and their answer was well no one's here now to help

Helpful?
Thank Babs0707
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry your room did not receive complete service. Our housekeeping staff is small but thorough. A normal room serviced as a "stay-over" is dusted and vacuumed, the beds made with a fold-down, and the bathroom refreshed with new toiletries and towels. Our front desk staff received your call about incomplete service, when you reported that your beds were... More 

Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with the Hockey team I coach, and while it wasn't unpleasant, it certainly wasn't a great experience. Very basic, very clean, spacious rooms and very nice appearance wise. However, it's very noisy because it was full the 2 nights we stayed, including 2 other Hockey teams, the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything around you.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sean M
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for praising our cleanliness, spacious rooms, and very nice appearance. As you identified yourself as a hockey coach, we were able to look up your reservation and double-check your concerns. Your room was actually a corner room, so your only neighbors were a room with four of your team members in it. We double-checked the operation of your... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

Close to two colleges and a good price. Clean and free wifi. Hot water all the time and good pressure. Simple breakfast in morning and pleasant staff. Can be noisy as college teams stay here. Fourth stay here and will stay again. Rooms are clean and comfortable. TV is older large model and our last stay it burned out. Mtc... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank scott t
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your friendly, gracious and extremely positive review. Thank you for praising our location and our rates. Thank you also for praising our clean and comfortable rooms and water pressure. Finally, thank you for recognizing our pleasant staff and prompt service. Thank you for being our guest. It is our extreme pleasure to serve you, and we look... More 

Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

This hotel was the worst experience in my 48 years. We came to Hamilton because our son had an interview at Colgate, so he needed his rest. At 11 PM we called the front desk when it sounded like a heard of elephants were ta dancing above us. I got quiet for a short time and then it started again.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike E
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for acknowledging prompt and courteous service, including a discount, from the manager on call and the daytime staff. We are sorry for the unfortunate acceleration of events with our overnight weekend staff. Management did discuss the evening's events with that staff member, and outline several different plans of action, should similar events take place. We are committed to... More 

NJ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I was torn between a Poor and Average rating, and was feeling generous this morning. The Wendt Inn was the only available lodging for an event we attended at Colgate. The front desk staff was unfriendly and not helpful, almost bordering on downright rude. The rooms were just average and the breakfast was skimpy and unimpressive for the high rates... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim1117
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you perceived our front desk clerk as unfriendly, or that they were unable to help you in a satisfactory manner. If you feel you have been treated unfairly, you may contact management directly at 800-218-5449, or send an email to Meetings@dreamscape.com. We are sorry you could hear voices outside your room. You may always ask a staff... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

The Wendt is an OK two story hotel with no elevator and a minimal continental breakfast. Other hotel in town was full and there are really no alternatives in the area. Friendly staff, super fast check and free wifi were the highlights.

Helpful?
2 Thank traveler222000
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Thank you for praising our friendly staff, swift service, and complimentary internet . We are one of two hotels within the town itself; however, our sister property, the White Eagle Conference Center, sits invitingly on the banks of Lake Moraine, and features individual cottages on rolling green lawn. White Eagle Lodge offers visitors fishing... More 

milford, ny
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

If you don't mind a "basic" place to stay in Hamilton, you might give this a try. It is a two-floor motel without an elevator. There is no coffee in the rooms, nor a hair dryer. Amenities are scarce. I was able to have the friendly desk clerk make coffee for me in the afternoon because it was not routinely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank curveball14
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your courteous review. Thank you for praising our friendly staff and clean and comfortable rooms. We are sorry you felt our amenities were lacking. There is a hair dryer in every room. Most rooms have a built-in microwave and refrigerator. If there is not a microwave or refrigerator in your room, you may request them. A staff... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for Colgate Graduation. We had to book over a year in advance and had to stay 3 nights or we couldn't book the property at all, which I found absolutely ridiculous. Way way way overpriced. We stayed in the new section which is modern and clean. But sleeping was nearly impossible with those terrible beds. I would've been... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank exerciseballer12
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unhappy with our advance booking, rates, and graduation three-night policy. We book a high-volume event like college graduation a year in advance. Many of our guests regularly stay with us during their students' four-year college career, and are excited and happy to book an event that celebrates their students successful completion. Our three-night stay for... More 

Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We stayed there for an overnight looking at colleges. There are 2 hotels in town. The other was booked and we got the last room here. The staff was friendly, the room was okay and the breakfast was something to avoid. The continental breakfast consisted of weak coffee, still partially frozen plain white supermarket bagels and some donut/muffin choices. No... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MomX3Vermont
Wesley W, Public Relations Manager at Wendt University Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast. We offer Paul DeLima coffee, which is manufactured and sold only in Syracuse, New York. It is generally acknowledged to be one of the areas finest coffees. We serve Block & Barrel bagels, a premier delicatessen-style kosher bagel. We do apologize if your bagel was only partly thawed. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
21.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Hartford
19.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Verona
19.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Verona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Vernon Downs Hotel
Vernon Downs Hotel
#2 of 2 in Vernon
3.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
20.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Verona
24.6 mi away
Hotel Utica, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities