We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Staines hotels

Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thames Street, Staines TW18 4SJ, England
Hotel amenities
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Staines
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
SmudgeeCat Seminyak, Indonesia
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    140
    92
    48
    14
See reviews for
57
148
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (377)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (137)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Seminyak, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have used this place a number of times, its a great location on the river, and very close to Heathrow so great when you've travelled for 18 hours and are coping with an 8 hour time difference. Unfortunately this time, the room that I booked (in June) was right next to the function room.....at Christmas time,. It was a Privilege... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel. Very nice location. Good atmosphere startig from the entrance. Nice welcoming and easy check out. Usual Accor standart. Breakfast is lovely as well, my 4 yo was eating everything to my surprise (as it is usually difficult to make him eat something) Nice view from the room. Planning to visit again, as close to Windsor Castle and Thorpe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review here on Tripadvisor. Your positive comments about your room and our breakfast are much appreciated. I am please to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the little one enjoyed his breakfast. We look forward to welcome you back to The Mercure Thames Lodge in the... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We have stayed here twice, for one night on each occasion. Like many other reviewers, My overall impression is that this hotel is not really run effectively. Our first room this time was cold and with a very unpleasant smell in the bathroom; having obtained a move, the second room was better, but still with flaws (e.g., filthy tea cup... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you so much for your detailed review about your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience. We have started an extensive maintenance and investment program, whereby all rooms and public areas will see an improvement going forward. Our dedicated reception team have just experienced a totally new reservations system and this gives... More 

Warminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked for onr night after watching rugby in Twickenham. Room was very clean, warm and tidy. The breakfast was very good, plentiful and good value as we were given a voucher on checking in which was 2 for 1. Staff were very helpful and the lass on the desk was obvoiusly used to dealing with problems as she was sorting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your contribution here on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your kind comments about your room, your breakfast and our staff. Your review is appreciated and I have shared your comments at our daily meeting. Please accept my apology for the poor operation of your shower. Our owner is fully committed to the improvement of... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After reading some of the reviews on here I was prepared for a less than comfortable stay. Yes the hallways and a little dingey, but my room was nice! Plenty of room, a large double bed, a large sofa and chair and a modern bathroom. Yes the toilet was a little quirky, but I think most British people are used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alyss, Thank you very much for your time to write this positive review here on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your 3-night stay with us and that you experienced our polite staff. We look forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Staines-upon-Thames. I wish you and your family a merry Christmas and a... More 

Kegworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Following the change in KO time (from 3.00 to 7.00pm) for the England v Samoa rugby match at Twickenham, I had to find a hotel, as I was coming down with my 11 yr old son and it would have been past midnight to have driven home afterwards. After much googling, I settled on this hotel based on location and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob, Thank you for your time writing about your stay with us on Saturday night with your son. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time here and I would like to inform you that ongoing refurbishment has started with 8 new Privilege rooms, new water pumps and daily painting and maintaining of our bedrooms. The rugby result was... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I know Staines well having lived in Shepperton for a number of years and also as I am Chairman of the Thames regional Rowing Council. I had to be in Staines on business and as this was just where I needed to be I booked in but never again. I arrived at 1pm and was told by the receptionist my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor experience you encountered during your stay with us on Saturday. I am sorry that your room type was not available at the time you arrived. We should have explained this in a bit more detail and should have offered you a drink in our bar whilst you were waiting. The... More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We are used to staying at the Mercure hotel chain and usually have a good experience. However this visit was a disaster sadly. This particular hotel obviously does not have the same standards, service or maintenance as its counterparts. There were many problems for us on this visit and too many to list but the main ones were not being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Michael, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. We are in the process of upgrading our shower experience and installing new cartridges on a regular basis. This should improve the easy operating of the showers. In July we had a... More 

Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

Quick weekend away to see friends and you arrive to a nice welcome and you can't fault the room but over priced I feel. Privilege room at £129 but no mini as advertised so you need to call room service every time you want a drink which is very silly and the shower need app dating for the top rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark, I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your stay with us. We must have been delayed organising all amenities of our Privilege Room package on the day of your arrival. Please accept my sincere apologies for this. I hope that this does not deter you from returning to The Mercure Thames Lodge in the... More 

Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

It was nice to get out of London and Staines is a lovely little community on the Thames. Mercure is really nice and our room was recently renovated. The bed was comfortable and the room was fully equipped with all modern amenities. The only issue was the vent in our room which rattled throughout the night. We only stayed for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to wite a review about your recent stay here. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your time at the hotel and the community of Staines-upon-Thames. I hope you had a safe trip back to Canada and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to the area. Kind regards,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel

Address: Thames Street, Staines TW18 4SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Thames Lodge Staines Hotel Staines
Mercure Thames Hotel Staines
Accor Thames Hotel Staines

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay