We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel

Thames Street, Staines TW18 4SJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

461 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    112
    168
    103
    57
    21
See reviews for
74
179
22
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (461)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (171)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I initially booked the hotel within a package with Thorpe Park and knew I'd be getting a basic room, which then upon myself called the hotel directly and upgraded my room to a room which quoting the individual on the phone "has a private balcony with a river view" which I was more than happy with to pay an extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shaam, Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your last visit. Our Front Office Manager would like to apologise on behalf of our receptionist who came across as rude. I am confident that this behaviour was not intentional, but we will review your feedback with the entire team. I would like to discuss your feedback... More 

Parramatta, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at this hotel on our visit to Europe. We arrived at the hotel, after a 24-hour flight from Sydney to be welcomed by a friendly staff and a room upgrade. We were provided with a room right on the Thames River. The room was extremely comfortable, with a nice bathroom. The location was quiet and peaceful. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MercureThamesLodge, Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christian, Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in our location and the views our rooms offer. I hope you enjoyed your rest of the time in UK. Hope to welcome you back again near future. Kind regards, Prateek Chugh Operations Manager More 

Winnipeg
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Willy - front staff person- greeted us after a long day touring London by pouring drinks at the door for us and then carrying our bags up many flights of stairs and down many hallways (is a huge inn!) all the while relating history and stories to us. He was wonderful. In the morning he booked our taxi for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words. I totally agree with you that Willy is wonderful and an asset to our hotel. He is working with us for past 35 years and very much a part of the building. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast, view of River Thames and our location. I... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel as part of a Thorpe park weekend and we loved it. The room and bathroom were spacious and we had our own personal balcony overlooking the river. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind feedback about your last stay at our hotel. I hope you had a wonderful time at Thorpe Park and enjoyed the rides. I hope to welcome you back next summer!! Kind regards, Prateek Chugh Operations Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place has a very small free car park, very misleading- I think firstly this should be advertised as getting up before 8am to put coins in a meter destroys your day! Not to mention the cost of the car park itself! The hotel is nice enough but we noticed towards the end of our stay there are much nicer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for giving us your valuable feedback on this website. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the location and enjoyed the views of the river. Regarding the car park, we have limited spaces and its on first come first park basis. We are one of very few hotels in the area who offer complimentary car... More 

West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here on a Monday night and happily recommend the hotel. All the team were courteous and professional, my room clean, spacious, plenty of hot water with a great shower, and with a nice view of the Thames. My dinner choice of pasta with prawns was really well cooked. Breakfast provided plenty of choice and the coffee was good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for wonderful comments regarding your recent visit to Mercure London Staines. I am delighted to read that you were happy with all the aspects of our hotel from service to food. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our hotel with new carpets already placed, new showers and bathrooms to be installed during... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Naively I booked this hotel, paying more than I wanted to because I thought the Mercure brand would guarantee a great property. Sadly this wasn't the case, the hotel is tired and in great need of a refurb. As we went for breakfast my husband noticed a leak from the ceiling in our corridor, when he told a nearby member... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MercureThamesLodge, Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing us with your feedback on this site. Please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. We are currently refurbishing our hotel and have recently replaced carpets, and are in process of installing new bathrooms and showers. I am very disappointed to read about the comments made by the staff.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Staines hotels

Dorrigo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked online from Australia and we were not disappointed. A lovely hotel located next to the Thames River. One drawback is the number of stairs if you have a disability, though you can ask to have a room with no steps. Our room was located on the 3rd level and therefore lots of steps. Huge thank you to hubby who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing such a constructive feedback on this site. I am very happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and I have noted your comments about staffing level and tables at breakfast. We don't have the lifts in the hotel and team at the hotel are always available to assist... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is stunning - it is next to the river Thames and just a few steps away from the centre of the town. I went there for a weekend with my boyfriend because it was close to Thorpe Park and we had a really nice experience. Service is good and our room was lovely and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MercureThamesLodge, Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marina, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. Team at Thames Lodge will be delighted to read such positive comments. We take pride of our location as we are close to Thorpe park, Heathrow, Windsor and London. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and overall you had a wonderful break. We will be... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Car park(7)
  • Very good(5)
  • Double room(5)
  • River view(4)
  • Ground floor(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#3 of 5 in Staines
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#5 of 5 in Staines
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
the runnymede-on-thames
1.7 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 4 in Egham
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
3.1 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay