We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Hotel website
The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Swan Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    75
    73
    30
    23
    17
See reviews for
35
77
5
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (218)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I use this hotel on a regular basis and have to say the service and staff and great. The food and also the beers at the bar are also amazing and served to perfection. The only comment is that the rooms are looking a tad tired. However the location and the staff compensate for this. Just a great friendly place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here with friends after a day at Ascot, the rooms were tired but quaint , although the ensuite shower room, left a lot to be desired, could definetley do with a makeover! The bottled water and good quality biscuits on the hospitality tray was a nice touch, and our rooms did overlook the river, we also had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I went to the swan hotel for a nice meal and a few drinks with my good friend. I had never eaten in the restaurant before. And I have to say..I was so impressed! I felt completely relaxed and I didn't want to leave! After our meal we went to the bar for some more drinks..we were served by a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We knew parking was not plentiful and the hotel does say that when we booked but when reception go out into the road and find you a parking space that's a great start!! We had booked in the restaurant and when we checked with reception we had been given a wonderful window seat overlooking the river. Our room was rustic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an evening meal here whilst staying at the hotel across the road. It was nice enough to sit outside overlooking the river. The food was delicious and the staff very pleasant. Great service made even more pleasurable by the views outside. Definitely would like to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Joanne S we are glad you enjoyed your evening with us, maybe next time you're down this way you could check out our hotel. Thank you for the review More 

Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was lovely to sit by the river and have dinner, the food was good but as one of us were driving we ordered a soda water and a beer and was shocked to discover they charged us £1.90 for a soda water. Most places I have visited do not charge for soda water and very few might charge 20... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Caroline A I can only apologise for this as it is a mistake on our part, on our till system there is a button to charge through soda water though fullers don not generally charge for this, this button should hopefully be removed asap to avoid this happening again. I can only assume it was one of our newer staff... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is fantastic right on the River Thames. Parking is a total nightmare and you will be lucky to get a spot outside the hotel, and if you do its only for 2 hours up til 6 o'clock anyway, so you will have to park in the public car park about 5 mins walk When you do walk in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Simon B We do need a little touch up in places and from what I hear its on the cards, as for parking we do provide permits for residents at £2 per day. Hope to see you again soon More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here for a drink this evening with a couple of friends. Had one bottle of wine which was ok, wanted one more glass before we left so ordered two glasses of the Pinot Grigio - apparently the same as the bottle we had shared! This did not taste the same at all so took the two full glasses back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to read about your dissatisfaction Tracey R, we aim to Please at all times, however it appears we did not on this occasion. we are happy that you did get compensation for your undrunk beverages but disappointed to loose you as a customer as I am sure this was a misunderstanding. We believe a return visit will... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Somewhere totally refreshing from the boring Ibis,Premier inn , Holiday Inn Express portfolio. Quirky bedrooms with balcony and great view of the Thames. Staff were most hospitable and very helpful . Not 100% perfect but fantastic location for 1 night

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review Katie K, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. See you next time you need somewhere totally refreshing. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

overnight stay with the wife enroute to heathrow,,,, outstanding setting and olde world charming building, problem it ended there, the food was very average, tried to complain but no-one was available, manager sat with friends so dealt with a very helpful assistant?,room nice but bathroom (converted cupboard) a squeeze and the wife had to sit on the floor to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Belinda b we are sorry that you had such a bad experience with us, we aim to please at all times though it seems you have been let down on this occasion. I would appreciate if you would contact us directly as we would like to apologise and try to make right this experience. Thank you More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay