We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Hotel website
The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Swan Hotel
Add Photo

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    74
    73
    29
    23
    17
See reviews for
35
76
5
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (216)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I went to the swan hotel for a nice meal and a few drinks with my good friend. I had never eaten in the restaurant before. And I have to say..I was so impressed! I felt completely relaxed and I didn't want to leave! After our meal we went to the bar for some more drinks..we were served by a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We knew parking was not plentiful and the hotel does say that when we booked but when reception go out into the road and find you a parking space that's a great start!! We had booked in the restaurant and when we checked with reception we had been given a wonderful window seat overlooking the river. Our room was rustic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had an evening meal here whilst staying at the hotel across the road. It was nice enough to sit outside overlooking the river. The food was delicious and the staff very pleasant. Great service made even more pleasurable by the views outside. Definitely would like to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Joanne S we are glad you enjoyed your evening with us, maybe next time you're down this way you could check out our hotel. Thank you for the review More 

Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was lovely to sit by the river and have dinner, the food was good but as one of us were driving we ordered a soda water and a beer and was shocked to discover they charged us £1.90 for a soda water. Most places I have visited do not charge for soda water and very few might charge 20... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Caroline A I can only apologise for this as it is a mistake on our part, on our till system there is a button to charge through soda water though fullers don not generally charge for this, this button should hopefully be removed asap to avoid this happening again. I can only assume it was one of our newer staff... More 

Travelers are raving about these Staines hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The location is fantastic right on the River Thames. Parking is a total nightmare and you will be lucky to get a spot outside the hotel, and if you do its only for 2 hours up til 6 o'clock anyway, so you will have to park in the public car park about 5 mins walk When you do walk in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Simon B We do need a little touch up in places and from what I hear its on the cards, as for parking we do provide permits for residents at £2 per day. Hope to see you again soon More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here for a drink this evening with a couple of friends. Had one bottle of wine which was ok, wanted one more glass before we left so ordered two glasses of the Pinot Grigio - apparently the same as the bottle we had shared! This did not taste the same at all so took the two full glasses back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to read about your dissatisfaction Tracey R, we aim to Please at all times, however it appears we did not on this occasion. we are happy that you did get compensation for your undrunk beverages but disappointed to loose you as a customer as I am sure this was a misunderstanding. We believe a return visit will... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Somewhere totally refreshing from the boring Ibis,Premier inn , Holiday Inn Express portfolio. Quirky bedrooms with balcony and great view of the Thames. Staff were most hospitable and very helpful . Not 100% perfect but fantastic location for 1 night

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review Katie K, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. See you next time you need somewhere totally refreshing. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

overnight stay with the wife enroute to heathrow,,,, outstanding setting and olde world charming building, problem it ended there, the food was very average, tried to complain but no-one was available, manager sat with friends so dealt with a very helpful assistant?,room nice but bathroom (converted cupboard) a squeeze and the wife had to sit on the floor to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Belinda b we are sorry that you had such a bad experience with us, we aim to please at all times though it seems you have been let down on this occasion. I would appreciate if you would contact us directly as we would like to apologise and try to make right this experience. Thank you More 

Norton, Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here a couple of nights and I can say that it was one of the best hotel beds that I have slept in. The staff were very friendly and would do anything to help. They showed me up to my room and asked if there was anything else that I required. The rooms, although small, are quaint and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you NicMonB we enjoyed reading your review and appreciate your time and recommendation. Hope to see you again soon. Regards More 

Leeds, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very nice experience, staff very helpful food good just needs a bit of redecoration. lovely position on the river and easy reach for london airports and local attractions plenty of restaurants about if you want a change managed to park outside when it says no parking

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Lizmum for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully see you again soon. Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay