We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Hotel website
The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB, England
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Swan Hotel
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    66
    28
    21
    16
See reviews for
33
71
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (199)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Always wanted to visit The Swan such a pretty location, the staff are lovely and the outlook is pretty the menu is varied and we ordered a salad, nobody advised us that they were running behind with service and we did not get our salad until 40 Minutes after ordering, the staff were very apologetic and as my husband is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A really nice pub with a great location, well kept but expensive beer... But don’t bother with the restaurant. 3/4 of the main courses on the menu had run out and half the specials, the remaining choice (crab linguine) was just average at best, but given the restaurant wasn't full I was surprised. I won't be eating there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went to this restaurant just yesterday. Table for two. Scruffy hand written menu which looked like a child had written it. waited twenty minutes for order to be taken. Ordered bottle of wine and iced tap water. Tap water arrived in smart blue bottle but was horrid. Tepid, no ice, clearly just out of the tap with no thought. Wine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
29 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited the bar and restaurant for a lunch and a drink in Spring time. The food was bog standard pub food. I wouldn't buy it next time. I'll stick with what they are good at, drinks and a pleasant atmosphere by the river. I recommend a visit whilst your in Staines.

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Mr Reap, thank you for your review, and your kind comments on our well kept ales and pleasant atmosphere. we're sorry that you didn't think much of our food and would love to encourage to give it another go when you're next around, our chefs are very good at what they do and I'm so very sorry if... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The beers and ales at The Swan are exceptionally well managed (thanks to the expert knowledge of Josh). The London Pride is as good as any I've ever sampled. Well done to Josh and to both Josh and Lewis for providing such superb service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there Simon, thanks do much for your comments, I'll be sure to pass them on to Mr Winter! We're so glad you enjoy it! take care, and see you for another pint soon! More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were four rugby fans travelling to Twickenham for what turned out to be an epic game and had booked a table at the Swan in advance . We were immediately impressed with the immaculate appearance of the premises and had a friendly welcome from the bar staff and subsequent helpful and friendly assistance from the restaurant staff who were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger, thanks ever so much for your review, we remember the eggs order, there was quite some speculation as to why you gents had ordered it! thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon! take care More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed here a couple of times now when on business. Rooms are comfortable but variable. First room I stayed in had the tiniest bathroom but amazing views of the river. Second room had large spacious bathroom but the creakiest bed!!!! One thing I can say is the food in the restaurant is always if a good standard and the wines... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kim, Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate your comments. With regards to the rooms, we often find it's a little bit like goldilocks, and I'm sure as soon as you find the one that's 'just right' for you we wont be able to get you out of it. By all means request your favourite room by number... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I stay here two nights every week for work. There's always a happy welcome even when the train gets me in after 23:00. The rooms are of a good standard for 3 star and are always clean and well equipped with hot drinks ( although missing hot chocolate ) TV and ironing kit. There are a couple of rooms that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review, and kind comments we appreciate them! hopefully our little refurb is coming soon and all of the showers will be perfect and high pressure! See you again soon! Take care More 

Irvine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights at the Swan Hotel over a weekend. Welcoming staff. Pleasant and helpful. Excellent bar area with a good selection of beers and food. I thought it was expensive but I suppose that I am not used to London prices! Breakfast was first class. No complaints there. This is a very old Coaching Inn right on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dave, Thank you for your review! we're flattered! with regards to the room, we are waiting on a little nip & tuck and T.L.C as we speak so hopefully everything will be as right as rain for your next visit! take care More 

Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We visited the Swan hotel/Pub in March 2015 for lunch only. Its not the first time we have been to the pub & found the service & food to be extremely poor on recent trips. When we complained about the food we were told that in fact there was nothing wrong with the food as the manager had a roast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Amy, Thank you for your review and we are so sad to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us! We have however received your e-mail and hope that we can sort it out for you! Take care More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question