We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Hotel website
The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB, England
Special Offer
TripAdvisor 10% Off
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    79
    77
    31
    24
    17
See reviews for
37
80
5
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We popped here for drinks one evening and we really loved the location by the riverside. Little on the pricey side but very enjoyable evening! Think the bar should have a deck of cards or set of dominoes as this would've really made our day :) but that's perhaps just us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for your review. We really do appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed yourself with us. Next time you come and join us, pop in to the small bar where you will find a selection of board games and playing cards. I am sorry you missed them this time. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Situated on the river a warm welcome awaits the weary traveller after a long days hard toil. Friendly staff with excellent food make this hotel the perfect ace to be. With a menu to meet all tastes from starters to main to sweets you can be spoiled for choice. A great place to eat, stay and eat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed every aspect. We do hope to welcome you back to the Swan Hotel very soon. Many Thanks, The team at the Swan Hotel More 

Stavanger
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location location location Can be a wonderful thing, but not here, a good hose down would make it much better and for god sake stay away from room number 10.!! does all the rooms look like that, then it is very overprized, friendly and helpful staff though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Good day to you, I am disappointed to be reading this review, and I am unhappy that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to ask that you contact me directly to discuss your stay. I am glad you though the service was good and met your expectations. Please do get in touch at your earliest... More 

Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
730 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Walking the Thames path, The Swan might not be obvious until you are crossing the bridge to the Slug and Lettuce. Turn around my friend and head back to this place, take a seat near the window overlooking the river and have a hearty lunch. Main courses are 12/13 pounds but are very good , well cooked and full of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your generous review. I am so happy you spotted us and turned back around. Monday to Thursday food is served from 12pm - 3pm then from 5pm-10pm, Friday to Sunday food is served from 12pm all day. Being a Fuller's Inn we are very proud of our beers and ales and I would be deeply unhappy if... More 

Reigate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently met up with friends who were over from Australia and we had a delicious roast dinner at The Swan. The pub/hotel is in a wonderful location overlooking the Thames and on this particular Sunday there was a guitarist playing who was very good. It was a lovely way to spend a sunny Sunday afternoon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for your amazing review. We are very proud of our location along the river and we are glad you liked it too. What better way to enjoy the weather and a good meal. I am also pleased you enjoyed our live entertainment which happens every Sunday here at the Swan Hotel. Many Thanks, The Team... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of my favourite pubs on the river. When I lived in London it was one of my regulars. Back for a visit I met some old mates here for dinner. It was as good as I remember. The staff were great, the food good but the big plus is position, position, position. Great outside area right on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day Marcia, thank you for your review. We are glad your enjoyed your time with us and were able to catch up with old friends in our wonderful setting. If you are dining with us we do offer a separate terrace through our restaurant which is all non-smoking and I am sorry you felt this impacted on your visit.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived by boat on the generous and convenient mooring outside the pub/hotel. We have stopped here many times for drinks but never lunch. The food is very good and in truth above average for a Pub. Service good to above average, the sun was shining we sat overlooking the river outside and it was heavenly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Good Day, thank you for your wonderful review and we are pleased you were able to find a spot on our mooring. We hope to welcome you back by boat or foot in the future. The team at The Swan Hotel More 

Huddersfield
Level Contributor
266 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We stayed in an upgraded room but you wouldn't know it due to it's small size. Food ok but breakfast a bit weird, toast for two served on the plate with bacon and eggs for one? Needs some fine tuning although probably busy enough in the bar not to bother.

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your review. Without your feedback we can not improve our offering. I was sad to hear about the food issues you had at breakfast and this is definitely something I will take up with the kitchen and our service staff to ensure we don't have the same problems again. I was also sad to see... More 

I.O.W.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

This hotel is on the river bank and the terrace affords you a lovely view. Some bedrooms share the view but you would have people eating and drinking below your balcony until late. Our room was at the front and overlooked a quiet road. We were able to park for four hours only between 8.00 and 18.30 and unlimited at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your review. We are glad your enjoyed your stay with us here at the Swan Hotel and you found the parking ok. Thank you for your comments about the staff. We have a very dedicated team here and they will do anything to assist you. We look forward to seeing you again, The... More 

Northampton
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

We stayed at The Swan Hotel for one night whilst on a short break visiting Windsor and Hampton Court. Finding the hotel was straightforward using the hotel website map & directions and we parked close to the hotel on The Hythe. There were plenty of spaces available and there were no restrictions after 6pm - you can then remain parked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you had a relaxing time. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#5 of 5 in Staines
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
the runnymede-on-thames
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 4 in Egham
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
2.9 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay