We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Hotel website
The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB, England
Special Offer
TripAdvisor 10% Off
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Swan Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    77
    76
    31
    23
    17
See reviews for
35
80
5
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (224)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Reigate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Recently met up with friends who were over from Australia and we had a delicious roast dinner at The Swan. The pub/hotel is in a wonderful location overlooking the Thames and on this particular Sunday there was a guitarist playing who was very good. It was a lovely way to spend a sunny Sunday afternoon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is one of my favourite pubs on the river. When I lived in London it was one of my regulars. Back for a visit I met some old mates here for dinner. It was as good as I remember. The staff were great, the food good but the big plus is position, position, position. Great outside area right on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived by boat on the generous and convenient mooring outside the pub/hotel. We have stopped here many times for drinks but never lunch. The food is very good and in truth above average for a Pub. Service good to above average, the sun was shining we sat overlooking the river outside and it was heavenly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
264 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in an upgraded room but you wouldn't know it due to it's small size. Food ok but breakfast a bit weird, toast for two served on the plate with bacon and eggs for one? Needs some fine tuning although probably busy enough in the bar not to bother.

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your review. Without your feedback we can not improve our offering. I was sad to hear about the food issues you had at breakfast and this is definitely something I will take up with the kitchen and our service staff to ensure we don't have the same problems again. I was also sad to see... More 

I.O.W.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is on the river bank and the terrace affords you a lovely view. Some bedrooms share the view but you would have people eating and drinking below your balcony until late. Our room was at the front and overlooked a quiet road. We were able to park for four hours only between 8.00 and 18.30 and unlimited at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for your review. We are glad your enjoyed your stay with us here at the Swan Hotel and you found the parking ok. Thank you for your comments about the staff. We have a very dedicated team here and they will do anything to assist you. We look forward to seeing you again, The... More 

Northampton
Level Contributor
97 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at The Swan Hotel for one night whilst on a short break visiting Windsor and Hampton Court. Finding the hotel was straightforward using the hotel website map & directions and we parked close to the hotel on The Hythe. There were plenty of spaces available and there were no restrictions after 6pm - you can then remain parked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you had a relaxing time. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I use this hotel on a regular basis and have to say the service and staff and great. The food and also the beers at the bar are also amazing and served to perfection. The only comment is that the rooms are looking a tad tired. However the location and the staff compensate for this. Just a great friendly place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Richard for taking the time to post such a lovely review More 

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here with friends after a day at Ascot, the rooms were tired but quaint , although the ensuite shower room, left a lot to be desired, could definetley do with a makeover! The bottled water and good quality biscuits on the hospitality tray was a nice touch, and our rooms did overlook the river, we also had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Jan for taking the time to review us, we are glad you had a pleasant time with us and hope you had a bit of luck on the horses. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I went to the swan hotel for a nice meal and a few drinks with my good friend. I had never eaten in the restaurant before. And I have to say..I was so impressed! I felt completely relaxed and I didn't want to leave! After our meal we went to the bar for some more drinks..we were served by a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Lucy for your review, Jaynie was very happy to be named as part of such an enjoyable evening. Regards More 

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

We knew parking was not plentiful and the hotel does say that when we booked but when reception go out into the road and find you a parking space that's a great start!! We had booked in the restaurant and when we checked with reception we had been given a wonderful window seat overlooking the river. Our room was rustic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
peterandtheteam, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Rob for such a great review, we always aim for all our guests to leave happy. We look forward to providing the same care to you on your next visit. Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
1.0 mi away
the runnymede-on-thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 4 in Egham
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#2 of 5 in Staines
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay