We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Staines hotels

The Stanwell Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Stanwell Hotel to your Saves list
The Stanwell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
84%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013
f64CM Los Angeles, California
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    76
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
27
64
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for The Stanwell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Overall this is a relatively new and good looking hotel, and the price is affordable. If they did a bit more effort to make customers' lives more easy this would be a great place to stay but... I have several complaints with the hotel. For one thing, Internet was spotty at best, I had difficulties connecting, contacted the reception, they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear f64cm, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I always welcome any constructive feedback as it affords us the opportunity to address potential issues effectively. I am aware you had problems with the wifi connection during your stay. This can occur on rare occassions where demand for... More

Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The 8 of June we had the pleasure to throw a wedding celebration at the hotel. Everything was organized according to our expectations. The room was very nicely decked out, the food was delicious, the service very friendly and professional.We are very grateful and we would like to thank you very much to all employees of the hotel for friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grzegorzk Thank you for your recent review of The Stanwell Hotel following your wedding reception celebration. I am extremely pleased that we met and exceeded your expectations and that you found the hotel service friendly and professional. Once again, thank you for using Tripadvisor and we most certainly look forward to hosting your anniversary in the future. Kind regards,... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I had to arrange a last minute booking at the Stanwell Hotel after my flight was cancelled from Heathrow. I found it nice and clean with friendly stuff. I only regret I couldn´t find any establishment at this level when I go out for a weekend in some village in England. It is a pity I only had to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Polesin Thank you so much for the positive feedback you posted after your recent stay with us at The Stanwell Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and will pass your comments on to the entire team. Hopefully your next visit with us will be an extended one so that you will have more time... More

Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have mixed feelings here. It wouldn't be my first choice to return but then it wouldn't be my last. Generally the hotel is efficient but it doesn't have that welcoming feeling. The superior room I was allocated (in the stable block) was bland and lacked identity. There were no table lamps, big empty spaces, a section of the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PhillT Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read your comments regarding the bar service you received and sincerley apologise for the less than perfect service we strive for. With regards to the room decor, your points raised have been taken on board and we are in fact rolling... More

Cambridgeshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited the hotel on late Wednesday evening and left shortly after breakfast on Thursday. We had a room just off of reception, which looked to be an extension and newer rooms than the original part of the hotel. In the room we found a letter telling us we had been upgraded to a superior room. The room was clean,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark H Thank you for posting your views on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to The Stanwell Hotel. I am delighted to note that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and will pass your comments on to the managment team. Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you at The Stanwell Hotel in... More

Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you are used to Holiday Inn airport hotels, this is a welcome improvement. The rooms are particular, as mentioned in previous reviews, but if you can live with non standard rooms it is actually fine. Personally I really like the style, a sort of rational nordic designer style, but the rooms are actually comfortable. The bathroom is something special,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marnixgroet Thank you so much for your positive review of The Stanwell hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be comfortable. We have worked extremely hard to differenciate ourselves from the main stream hotels and this is reflected in the design and layout of many of our rooms as well our restaurant... More

London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have been to this hotel quite often to eat (at least once every five or six weeks) and I have to say it is always a bit hit and miss. Sometimes we go and the service and food is great, sometimes the food is not great, sometimes the service is not great. Nothing seems consistent not even how they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bow28t55 Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at The Stanwell Hotel. I am dissapointed to read that we did not meet your expectations and that you find the consistency of the food and the presentation therof a rather hit and miss affair. I have passed your comments on to our Chef... More

Hudson, Quebec
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

beware of room 21! This was the first room assigned to my daughter and me - low ceilings, two single beds in a strange configuration, no chance of viewing the TV from the beds. Looked like a bunker. Fortunately the lovely receptionist relocated us to the executive suite for a few extra pounds. This was better, but required us to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Altadore Thank you for your very recent review after your stay at The Stanwell Hotel. Firstly, I will pass your comments on to our amazing Reception and front of house team and our brilliant Front of House Manager who is delighted with your feedback- thank you. Secondly, we are in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms, so your comments... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This was the best hotel experience I have ever had. The staff was so friendly and helpful. There was a mix up in the booking on behalf of my travel agent and we ended up only having a 1 person room, but the staff helped us get a bigger room at a discounted price. Overall this was the best hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Edin92, I am so so pleased that you felt this is the best hotel you have stayed at! It is always so encouraging to the whole team to receive such brilliant feedback. I will most definately pass your comments on to the entire staff and hope you will return in the very near future to experience more of The... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed one night as went to Thorpe park. Was about a 15 minute drive to the Stanwell which was fine as easy to find. Hotel was exceptionally clean and very modern. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Had no problems at all apart from the hotel was very hot, even with the windows open! There was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vickycleave91 Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor after your visit to The Stanwell Hotel. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found the hotel to be exceptionally clean. With reference to the heat you experienced in your room, for health and safety reasons, the windows on the second floor are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Stanwell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Stanwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwell Hotel

Address: 171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwell Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Stanwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelrest London Heathrow Stanwell

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Staines with
any amenities