We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Staines hotels

The Stanwell Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)
Hotel amenities
The Stanwell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Stanwell Hotel to your Saves list
84%
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Jean-Pierre C Toronto, Canada
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    77
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
27
64
31
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Located in a quiet neighbourhood, this is a well run small hotel with knowledgeable and friendly staff. There is a nice smaller restaurant and bar. The rooms are comfortable. The décor is contemporary with a recent addition to an older building. we were happy with this choice. No airport shuttle.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the rooms are not over equipped they are clean and well maintained. This is a great place to stay overnight. We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and it was great value for money. The dinner and breakfast were both excellent as were the staff, who are pleasant and make you feel very welcome. Well done, The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MandrakeUK, Thanks for your honest feedback in your recent review of The Stanwell. We are looking to add more facilities to the rooms overtime but as a 3 star hotel we do pride ourselves on offering clean & well maintained accommodation with excellent food & an unforgettable breakfast. So I was very glad that you picked up on these... More

New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed one night in a room in the converted stable block. The room was pleasant enough and had the appearance of having been recently refurbished. It would have been nice to have had a hot bath prior to departing to Heathrow for my onward journey. Unfortunately, this was not possible due to no hot water. I ran the hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WizKid S, Thank you for your 4 out of 5 review! However, I was dismayed to read that you had a problem with the hot water in your bathroom. I was further dismayed with the response you had from Reception when raising the issue. It is impossible for me to now tell you with 100% accuracy what was the... More

Tamworth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had an afternoon flight out of Heathrow airport and was planning to drive down the same morning but after horror stories from colleagues, about almost missed flights, I booked a room here the day before my stay. I chose the hotel as it was an ideally located for both the airport and the off-site parking I was using, being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louise H, Thank you for your very favourable review of the hotel. It does sound that during your short stay you were able to use many of the hotel facilities and also enjoyed your dinner with us. This is excellent, you note that we are popular with local diners and you are quite correct in this observation. We are... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Proper teas and coffee served, cooked breakfast ordred to your taste, buffet excellent and they even had a proper toaster. Quiet location - our room had veranda.We were attending a party nearbybut would book again for Heathrow or other nearby events and visits.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeanette T, Thank you so much for our five out of five review! I was happy to read that you enjoyed your breakfast experience when staying at the hotel and that you would happily consider staying with us next time you are in the area! I hope that time is in the not too distant future. Regards, James Mahaffey... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

This was a wonderful stay, my father and I needed a hotel near Heathrow airport so we headed to the Stanwell. Over all the staff were extremely nice, the rooms were clean and it was a very nice stay. All of the employees were very polite and hospitable, a fellow by Andy was extremely helpful in every aspect. I will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeffrey004, Thank you for your five star review & promise of returning to the hotel! I will pass on your comments relating to Andy and indeed the entire hotel staff. We are extremely close to Heathrow airport but just that little further away so we can offer a refreshing alternative to the “usual” airport hotels. I hope next time... More

Northampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight, while visiting the Windsor. The Stanwell had good reviews (better than more expensive hotels in the area)! It also offered free parking and a reasonable room with breakfast deal. We were not disappointed. All aspects of our stay we rated excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christopher P, Thank you for our 5 star review and rating all aspects of your stay “excellent”. We do try to surpass people’s expectations, so I am very glad that on this occasion we did that for you. It was also nice to see a review where people use the hotel when visiting Windsor. I trust next time you... More

Reading
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed here for one night, the room was lovely, the good was really good & the staff were excellent. They even emailed me about some personal bits I left by mistake in the room & then posted them back to me. V. Impressed. Made a lovely change from the usual Heathrow hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear clubeden1974, Firstly thank you for your review! Here at The Stanwell we do like to offer an alternative to the “usual” Heathrow hotel experience, so when guests notice & comment on this review site we are truly grateful. I hope next time you are using Heathrow you choose to stay with us. Regards, James Mahaffey General Manager More

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Went here with 5 boys which is an event wherever I go! The staff were excellent... Specially Trish who was so helpful and kind. After a long journey to get there and have someone with a smile on their face welcome you is so important. All staff excellent and would have no hesitation in recommending such a lovely hotel....

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anninriddlesden, Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel! I will pass on your kind comment to Trish & the rest of the team. I was very happy to read that you would not hesitate to recommend the hotel as these personal recommendations are the best marketing tool a business such as ours could ask for. Thanks again... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

WE stayed here the night before a flight to New York. We gravelled up from Cornwall, so had toil book this somewhat sight unseen. WE had the most fantastic service from Trish a member of the reception staff who put together a fantastic deal for me including room, parking and transfers to and from the airport. It was such a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nick B, Thank you for your 5 out of 5 review! I will pass on your comments about Trish, she has a genuine warmth that other guest do comment upon, so it is pleasing that you also picked up on this. It is clear you stayed on our Park & Fly package. We do think it offers excellent value... More

Do you own or manage The Stanwell Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Stanwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwell Hotel

Address: 171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your The Stanwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelrest London Heathrow Stanwell

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Stanwell Hotel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
No photo provided
Fish & Chips
Fish & Chips
K2
K2
Indian
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Staines Railway Station
Staines Railway Station
Public Transportation Systems