We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Staines hotels

The Stanwell Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)
Hotel amenities
The Stanwell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bookmark
You added The Stanwell Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Linda_Theo Panama City, Panama
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    83
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
66
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (240)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I usually travel a lot and been in different hotels however the service in this hotel was excellent, from the receptionist to the people at the restaurant, it was great! They were very nice and caring with me. No one recommend it to me; I end up there because I had an emergency and I need to find a place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for one night. I had been told about a Travelodge that was closer to the airport but it was double the price of this hotel so I decided to stay here instead. It's really quiet and well maintained with a nice patio/terrace area near the restaurant for smokers. The only problems I had were the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear slaw0sz, Thanks for your 4 out of 5 review. Given that you had issues with room service, this is particularly pleasing. I was glad to read that you were satisfied that your complaint was well handled. I was further encouraged that you chose The Stanwell above the Travelodge. We like to think we offer a difference to the larger... More

Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed here for over a month now. Service is GREAT the staff is so helpful. Martin, Daniel, Osman and Marta always put a smile on my when i walk in the door. Food is Lovely in the restaurant. Over all i give this hotel a 10. Cheers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Link R, Thanks for the review! 5 out of 5 is too kind and I will pass on your comments to Martin, Marta Daniel & Osman! I will also let chef know the food is good too! You are welcome to stay another month! Cheers, James Mahaffey General Manager More

Ware, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was chosen for an overnight stop before an early morning departure from Heathrow. The choice was based on TA and Booking.Com reviews and the fact that it promised more that the Heathrow chain hotels. Unfortunately it didn't deliver. This was the first of 16 hotels/motels we stayed in over a month long period during a city/road/beach holiday in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pete D60, Pete D60, thanks for your feedback of The Stanwell Hotel. Your 3 out of 5 rating for the hotel is in contrast to the majority of our ratings, but I value your feedback as it gives us an opportunity to improve. The general feeling I received form your review was that we did OK and the major... More

Invermere, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Stanwell is close to Heathrow airport and well situated for those people passing through who need to stay over in the area and who want to be just a little bit away from the noise of the airport and who want to stay in a smaller place. We used it on 2 separate occasions. The staff are very friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David K D, Thank you for your excellent 5 out of 5 review! We are in dialogue with the hoppa bus company about adding the hotel to their route to tackle the point you raise in your review. Hopefully we will then be able to offer this service, in the meantime the 441 does work well for terminal 5!... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We stayed on 11th October this year, after a trip to Thorpe Park. There was a private do on when we arrived to check in, but was told we could still use the bar. Lovely hotel, quite modern, good price for the room through booking.com Andy the night manager was brilliant, excellent customer service. Nothing was too much trouble and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spanola81, Thanks for you 5 out of 5 review! I am glad you found a good deal, may I recommend that next time you check our own website ww.thestanwell.com as we offer better rates direct than booking.com. Perhaps when Thorpe Park is back open in 2015 you can stay with us again. Regards, James Mahaffey General Manager More

Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
5 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We stayed there for a night as a stop for an international flight. I would recommend this hotel definitely for an overnight stay. Rooms are too small though to spend more days there. Had breakfast also there for extra £8. It was ok. Staff was very kind.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Froso M, Thanks for your 4 out of 5 review! Your comment about having a small room is difficult to comment upon as I do not know what room class you stayed in. The hotel offers Classic, Deluxe & Executive rooms. I am confident if you had stayed in one of our executive rooms you would have found plenty... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Stayed here with 2 others for 2 nights during our annual trip to Thorpe parks fright nights, was travel lodge style room really but was clean and the bath was lovely. The bed was the only let down in our double deluxe room and so was the same in my sisters room unfortunately they made such a noise when turning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kateloo1212, Thank-you for your honest 4 out of 5 rating & review of The Stanwell Hotel. Your comment regarding the beds, I take very seriously indeed! The minimum a hotel should provide is a quality nights sleep, a decent shower & a fine & friendly breakfast the following morning. It would appear we did enough with the other areas... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Great hotel close to heathrow airport. We were able to check in early and the room was as advertised. Free Wi-Fi which was handy and the receptionist even let us print boarding passes for our flights. Beds were comfy and the room was very clean. shame we only stopped over for 1 night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon136, Thanks for your 4 out of 5 review! I also enjoyed your comment “shame we only stopped over for 1 night”! As a small hotel so close to Heathrow we do pride ourselves on being more flexible to the needs of the customer than some of the larger chain hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back, maybe... More

Kingston upon Thames
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

Friendly hotel, rooms provide all that you need. Stayed on business in Staines but I can see the hotel offers a good alternative to those faceless chain hotels on the Bath Road if flying from Heathrow. There's a public bus stop outside the hotel if you want a cheap mode of transport to the airport. Every member of staff I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear anonKingston, Thanks for your very honest review of The Stanwell as well as your 4 out of 5 rating! Your comments about staff, food, specials & sausage test were very pleasing to read, I further assure you we will review your comments about menu supplements. I do hope we can welcome you back next time you are on business... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Stanwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwell Hotel

Address: 171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Stanwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelrest London Heathrow Stanwell

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay