We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Geneva hotels

Americas Best Value Inn

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   473 Hamilton Street, Routes 5 and 20, Geneva, NY 14456 (Formerly Chanticleer Motor Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Americas Best Value Inn

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
18%
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Geneva
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    10
    10
    55
See reviews for
16
23
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The room smelled musty, the bathroom was not clean, paint peeling from the tub. Staff was rude at check in, there was no Continental Breakfast although the site said there was and then I got home to find that my debit card was charged twice!! Next time I'll spend the extra $20-30 a night somewhere else. This is a prime... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Endicott,New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I reserved a room online. The room was damp and musty with several large dead bugs on the floor. An added surprise was the large amount of hair I located when I pulled the sheets back. Left and got a refund. The hotel and room reminded me of where a "working girl" may bring a customer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvigeneva, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel, we are working very hard to improve and update our property for all guests to enjoy. Since you have been here, we have corrected the ventilation problem which caused condensation in the rooms creating the "musty smell. We have painted all rooms, all bathrooms, regrouted all... More

Syracuse, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I reserved two rooms online. They only had a reservation for one room when I showed up, so our rooms weren't adjacent. One of the rooms smelled strongly of stale smoke, despite prominent non-smoking signs on the door. Beds were satisfactory. We had refrigerators. Old-school tube TVs. Everything was neat and tidy. There is a continental breakfast, but it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvigeneva, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property, we have been working very hard to make this a comfortable, clean and quality hotel for our guests. Since you have been here, we have decided to make all smoking rooms in the same section, to avoid any smoke entering a non-smoking room. We have also painted... More

Owls Head, Maine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We came to Geneva for a wedding. All the hotels in the area we needed to be in were booked except this one. I read the reviews but still booked because of its proximity to the wedding. Checkin was easy and the people at the desk whom I assume are the owners were very nice. The hallway was musty, low... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks like a typical hotel that a hooker uses for her night, room was "somewhat" clean, a big pinking stain on the wall, hoping it was some fruit juice or something, cracks in the ceiling, bathroom was disgusting, neither my spouse or I took a shower that morning by fear of being dirtier than before. Continental breakfast constituted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvigeneva, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not find your stay at our hotel satisfactory, we are trying very hard to brand ourselves as a newly renovated property and want nothing but the best for our guests. Since you have been here we painted all rooms, ceilings, doors and baths. We have regrouted baths and installed new shiny toilets and sinks!... More

new york city
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night because there was nothing else available in Geneva. I really wish we had kept driving. The ordeal started when we arrived at the hotel in the morning to check in. I had pre-paid an outrageous (150) amount for a room, so I was very upset to find out that they had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ended up straying here because there was nothing else available within a reasonable price range during our travel dates. Apparently there was a PGA tour and a NASCAR event nearby that caused all decent hotels to be booked. Normally this hotel would cost $50 a night which would tell you about the quality, but we paid $100+ a night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lockport, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We couldn't find any other hotels with vacancies so we booked here. It looked dumpy when we pulled up, but it was late and our kids were tired. Got into room it smelled and did not seem clean. Tried to sleep but couldn't. We did not feel safe. The window in the bathroom did not have a lock. We didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverly, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This Ownership is a bunch of manipulating LIARS I had booked a reservation thru Americas best value inn using myVALUE CLUB #601168176 for thur nite because our friends had a guest at the house in Cannadaguia Lake then I reconfirmed with the man who may own this at 2 queen beds for 1 night at $50.99 plus tax my rate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel looks like nothing had been done to it since the 1950's. Other than the keycard entry and color television everything else was old and musty. The windows were old, wooden windows with the rotating latches. The room was musty. The sheets were thin. There was no clock in the room. The bathtub had a dead ant in it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Geneva
Americas Best Value Hotel
Americas Best Value Inn Geneva
Address: 473 Hamilton Street, Routes 5 and 20, Geneva, NY 14456 (Formerly Chanticleer Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list