We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Geneva hotels

Americas Best Value Inn

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   473 Hamilton Street, Routes 5 and 20, Geneva, NY 14456 (Formerly Chanticleer Motor Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
18%
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Geneva
  • Overview
  • Reviews (88)
  • Photos (21)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    10
    11
    58
See reviews for
19
25
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We decided to save money by going here but it was completely NOT worth it. The first room stank of old cigarette smoke, we asked to move, they did allow to us to move but the second room was only marginly better but still pretty much horrible. The room was dirty, the floor damp, and the sheets dirty and hairy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gentofte
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As motels go in the USA this is quiet ok considering the price. It is clean and quiet and a good deal compared to what the prices in the Geneva area are. Close to shopping and many fast-food restuarants. 5 minutes drive to the lake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a reservation for one room one night in June 2014. When we arrived, there was no record of our reservation in the hotel's computer. I showed the desk employee my confirmation email, and was told that some reservations had been lost in a computer glitch, but they thought all of them had been recovered (apparently not). The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked at the last minute and this was the only place we could find a room. Our reservation stated we had a balcony....there are no balconys. The couple who greeted us were not very friendly....this should have been an inclination of what to expect. The hallways have a horrible odor....the rooms have a slight more pleasant smell. The continental... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and friend are on a road trip and had booked a stay at this hotel. We checked in and the girl at the front desk was nice. She gave us our room and we parked our motorcycles and started to unload our bags into the room. The first thing I noticed was the door had been Jimmied, and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for parents weekend at HWS in 2013. My son was a freshman and everything in town was already booked so I took a chance. Worst decision I ever made. The room was filthy. I was afraid to step on the rug without shoes because it was so dirty. The sheets were dirty. There was a pullout couch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Watertown, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The room smelled musty, the bathroom was not clean, paint peeling from the tub. Staff was rude at check in, there was no Continental Breakfast although the site said there was and then I got home to find that my debit card was charged twice!! Next time I'll spend the extra $20-30 a night somewhere else. This is a prime... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Endicott,New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I reserved a room online. The room was damp and musty with several large dead bugs on the floor. An added surprise was the large amount of hair I located when I pulled the sheets back. Left and got a refund. The hotel and room reminded me of where a "working girl" may bring a customer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
abvigeneva, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel, we are working very hard to improve and update our property for all guests to enjoy. Since you have been here, we have corrected the ventilation problem which caused condensation in the rooms creating the "musty smell. We have painted all rooms, all bathrooms, regrouted all... More

Syracuse, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I reserved two rooms online. They only had a reservation for one room when I showed up, so our rooms weren't adjacent. One of the rooms smelled strongly of stale smoke, despite prominent non-smoking signs on the door. Beds were satisfactory. We had refrigerators. Old-school tube TVs. Everything was neat and tidy. There is a continental breakfast, but it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
abvigeneva, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property, we have been working very hard to make this a comfortable, clean and quality hotel for our guests. Since you have been here, we have decided to make all smoking rooms in the same section, to avoid any smoke entering a non-smoking room. We have also painted... More

Owls Head, Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We came to Geneva for a wedding. All the hotels in the area we needed to be in were booked except this one. I read the reviews but still booked because of its proximity to the wedding. Checkin was easy and the people at the desk whom I assume are the owners were very nice. The hallway was musty, low... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 473 Hamilton Street, Routes 5 and 20, Geneva, NY 14456 (Formerly Chanticleer Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Geneva
Americas Best Value Inn Geneva

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
78

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer