We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Clayton hotels

Fair Wind Motel & Cottages

Save Saved
You added Fair Wind Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
38201 NYS Rt. 12E, Clayton, NY 13624
Hotel amenities
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the rooms across from the main office Memorial day weekend. OMG, what a dump, beds were awful, all I wanted was a good nights sleep and a shower, not too much to ask. I wouldn't even walk on the floor with my socks on. The room smelled when we first walked in, I must have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Webster, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have stayed in cottage 1 for many years(8or9) for the Boat Show and keep coming back. The view is the best you can and the cottage neat and clean. The owners and staff are more then accommodating and friendly. Would recommend to anyone who wants a quiet peaceful place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kirkwood, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay there. Room was comfortable and had everthing there we needed. Stayed there for a wedding in August in Alex Bay. Price was right and the view was beautiful and restful from the motel. Other customers were also very friendly. Would like to try their cottages next time because I think the view would be better, plus... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was in Clayton for a wedding and last minute was able to stay at a private residence. I had booked the hotel months in advance. With the chaos of my personal life, it slipped that I had to cancel the reservation. The Fair Wind called me and understood the situation and offered refunded my credit card when they did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is definitely a throwback to the motels of the '50's and '60's. Our rooms and bath were small and simply furnished, but very clean, with coffeemaker, microwave, mini-fridge, and ice available. Guests can enjoy a large, tree-shaded yard with grills, picnic table, and a hilltop gazebo overlooking the St. Lawrence. The heated swimming pool was clear and a perfect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My room (11) was covered in Pincher bugs (earwings). I checked in and out on the same day. Made a 3 hour trip home at 10pm because it was unsafe for my young children to sleep in these conditions. When office was contacted, they refused any kind of credit. Unacceptable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RobertAvery123, Owner at Fair Wind Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

This review is totally untrue. When Christina S complained of bugs and requested a refund we checked the room and found no bugs and therefore refused the refund. No one staying in that room before or since has complained of bugs. I believe she was trying to get a free nights stay when that did not work she wrote a... More

Rochester, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Recently stayed here and rented one of the smaller cabins = price is excellent for the view - We found the cabin to be clean enough - brand new micro, fridge, and coffee maker. Bathroom was decent - my only complaints are the AC was not working the best however the owners did check each day with me to see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in a cottage at The Fair Wind, the end of August beginning of September this year, for eight days. Our cottage was overlooking the St. Lawrence & it was a spectacular sight, especially while having coffee on the screened-in porch every morning. The cottage was very clean & cozy with a small couch & two chairs & also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsay, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed two days in the Motel while on a shopping trip to Watertown. Older Motel with clean rooms and very relaxing. We stayed during a heat wave and the A/C worked hard to keep the room cool, but we would stay here again. Very quiet unlike chain hotels where all you here are doors banging shut and people talking all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lockport, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Cute Cottage Motel on the River with dockspace! Clean and quaint, rustic atmosphere that accommodates a location all about the outdoors! Good place to spend the night and venture to the small villages that make up the 1000 islands. 2 minutes from downtown Clayton, 15 minutes from Alexandria Bay, and 25 minutes from Watertown. Minutes from Cape Vincent and Sackets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Fair Wind Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Wind Motel & Cottages

Address: 38201 NYS Rt. 12E, Clayton, NY 13624
Location: United States > New York > Clayton
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Fair Wind Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fair Wind Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.