We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fair Wind Motel & Cottages

Hotel website
38201 NYS Rt. 12E, Clayton, NY 13624
Special Offer
Rooms $50 Cottages $450/w
Fair Wind Motel & Cottages
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    11
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Olcott
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

just got back from our stay there and all I can say is wonderfull..the view from the porch of the seaway was great..watching the freighter right off shore was rerally cool...the cottage itself was nice...and very clean...and for the price well equipped ...everything you need for that 1000 island getaway...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ohio
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Stayed at this motel on our visit to Clayton. This is not a chain hotel. It seems to be run by a elderly lady who lives on the property. They have really nice cabins down by the water and the motel is by the road. The rooms in the motel are small and still have actual keys to the rooms.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed in one of the rooms across from the main office Memorial day weekend. OMG, what a dump, beds were awful, all I wanted was a good nights sleep and a shower, not too much to ask. I wouldn't even walk on the floor with my socks on. The room smelled when we first walked in, I must have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Webster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have stayed in cottage 1 for many years(8or9) for the Boat Show and keep coming back. The view is the best you can and the cottage neat and clean. The owners and staff are more then accommodating and friendly. Would recommend to anyone who wants a quiet peaceful place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kirkwood, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay there. Room was comfortable and had everthing there we needed. Stayed there for a wedding in August in Alex Bay. Price was right and the view was beautiful and restful from the motel. Other customers were also very friendly. Would like to try their cottages next time because I think the view would be better, plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was in Clayton for a wedding and last minute was able to stay at a private residence. I had booked the hotel months in advance. With the chaos of my personal life, it slipped that I had to cancel the reservation. The Fair Wind called me and understood the situation and offered refunded my credit card when they did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is definitely a throwback to the motels of the '50's and '60's. Our rooms and bath were small and simply furnished, but very clean, with coffeemaker, microwave, mini-fridge, and ice available. Guests can enjoy a large, tree-shaded yard with grills, picnic table, and a hilltop gazebo overlooking the St. Lawrence. The heated swimming pool was clear and a perfect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My room (11) was covered in Pincher bugs (earwings). I checked in and out on the same day. Made a 3 hour trip home at 10pm because it was unsafe for my young children to sleep in these conditions. When office was contacted, they refused any kind of credit. Unacceptable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RobertAvery123, Owner at Fair Wind Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

This review is totally untrue. When Christina S complained of bugs and requested a refund we checked the room and found no bugs and therefore refused the refund. No one staying in that room before or since has complained of bugs. I believe she was trying to get a free nights stay when that did not work she wrote a... More 

Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Recently stayed here and rented one of the smaller cabins = price is excellent for the view - We found the cabin to be clean enough - brand new micro, fridge, and coffee maker. Bathroom was decent - my only complaints are the AC was not working the best however the owners did check each day with me to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in a cottage at The Fair Wind, the end of August beginning of September this year, for eight days. Our cottage was overlooking the St. Lawrence & it was a spectacular sight, especially while having coffee on the screened-in porch every morning. The cottage was very clean & cozy with a small couch & two chairs & also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
2.5 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
8.2 mi away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
18.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities