We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fair Wind Motel & Cottages

Hotel website
38201 NYS Rt. 12E, Clayton, NY 13624
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Fair Wind Motel & Cottages
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

I liked this motel/cottage. It is a little bit older but very clean, quiet, nice location, the bed was comfortable and the host was very professional and very nice. We would stay again. Close to town. Pleasant. Excellent price.

Helpful?
1 Thank RoadWarrior47
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Previously stayed at Fairwinds and no issues - however can't say the same this trip. Upon arrival noticed the place is for sale and the grounds looked unkept upon pulling in front of the motel. We hesitantly checked in as had reservation and were given room 1. the bathroom is a relic; the mirror you can hardly see yourself in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leanne L
Venice
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

If you like peace and quiet and the St. Lawrence River, you will enjoy staying at the Fair Wind. It is old, but clean and comfortable and has all the necessities. Only two miles from Clayton Village and the price is very reasonable. We truly enjoyed our stay there.

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Olcott
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

just got back from our stay there and all I can say is wonderfull..the view from the porch of the seaway was great..watching the freighter right off shore was rerally cool...the cottage itself was nice...and very clean...and for the price well equipped ...everything you need for that 1000 island getaway...

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
Ohio
Level Contributor
243 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Stayed at this motel on our visit to Clayton. This is not a chain hotel. It seems to be run by a elderly lady who lives on the property. They have really nice cabins down by the water and the motel is by the road. The rooms in the motel are small and still have actual keys to the rooms.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LJ K
Webster, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have stayed in cottage 1 for many years(8or9) for the Boat Show and keep coming back. The view is the best you can and the cottage neat and clean. The owners and staff are more then accommodating and friendly. Would recommend to anyone who wants a quiet peaceful place to stay.

Helpful?
4 Thank Carol C
Kirkwood, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay there. Room was comfortable and had everthing there we needed. Stayed there for a wedding in August in Alex Bay. Price was right and the view was beautiful and restful from the motel. Other customers were also very friendly. Would like to try their cottages next time because I think the view would be better, plus... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy w
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was in Clayton for a wedding and last minute was able to stay at a private residence. I had booked the hotel months in advance. With the chaos of my personal life, it slipped that I had to cancel the reservation. The Fair Wind called me and understood the situation and offered refunded my credit card when they did... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay C
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is definitely a throwback to the motels of the '50's and '60's. Our rooms and bath were small and simply furnished, but very clean, with coffeemaker, microwave, mini-fridge, and ice available. Guests can enjoy a large, tree-shaded yard with grills, picnic table, and a hilltop gazebo overlooking the St. Lawrence. The heated swimming pool was clear and a perfect... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank barbaracarroll
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My room (11) was covered in Pincher bugs (earwings). I checked in and out on the same day. Made a 3 hour trip home at 10pm because it was unsafe for my young children to sleep in these conditions. When office was contacted, they refused any kind of credit. Unacceptable!

Helpful?
3 Thank Christina S
RobertAvery123, Owner at Fair Wind Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

This review is totally untrue. When Christina S complained of bugs and requested a refund we checked the room and found no bugs and therefore refused the refund. No one staying in that room before or since has complained of bugs. I believe she was trying to get a free nights stay when that did not work she wrote a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
2.5 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
13.3 mi away
Bonnie Castle Resort
Bonnie Castle Resort
#8 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
18.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Watertown/Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
7.6 mi away
Angel Rock Waterfront Cottages
Angel Rock Waterfront Cottages
#1 of 4 in Cape Vincent
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities